We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not as advertised but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #58 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were expecting alot more from a Hyatt. The room was a big deception, the bathroom was worse. See the pictures . It was not has advertised.However the reception area is very nice and modern. Their bar is very popular with the resident of Mtl and very noisy. The breakfast buffet is very good however it's $25.00 per person. When informed that the room was not as advertised the Assistant Manage said that she was sorry but they were full house and could not do anything else for me. When I ask her to whom I should talk complaint, she offered me a free movie and an upgrade the next time we go to their hotel but, my spouce does not want to go back.
Note that you need to take two different elevators every time you want to get in or out of the hotel. It was not a problem for us nevertheless, it was for other peoples around us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,771)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

The main selling point of this hotel is its location. it is slightly away from the hustle and bustle of downtown yet still within walking distance to the main shopping district. In addition, the hotel is linked to the metro and a huge food court via underground; which make it very convenient to move around the city.

The hotel lobby and bar was stylishly re-designed. However, i was less than impressed with the room. It is not quite up to the Hyatt standard with its dated fixtures and decor. Some of the wall papers have already started to peel off. The tub also looks worn-out and is in need of retrofitting. Nevertheless, the window view compensated for the negatives. I was greeted with the open green space outside the Museum of Contemporary Art. Nevertheless, it is still a very comfortable hotel room.

If Hyatt were to extend its renovation to all its rooms, it will prove to be a top choice for visitors especially given its strategic location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asher07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hyatt, and were very happy with our visit. It had been a few years since our last stay, having tried other options.

When we arrived to the new renovations, modern look and feel, professional service, it was all we needed to help make up our decision for an upcoming visit back to the city. The common areas provide a modern, fun and appealing option to spend some time (which was not the case before the reno), and when combined with its location downtown, especially during the festival season, it will be hard to beat.

Pleasantly surprised and looking forward our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is great, staff are really nice and localization is perfect. I`ve spent two nights in this hotel, including 12/31. Montreal is a party city and lots of adolescents travel to the city by this time. No problem at all but they've partied and yelled the whole two nights I was there in hotel corridors. In the last day we even heard fights between some of them who were really drunk. They've also broken lots of hotel objects (lamps, etc....) as we saw by crossing them in our check out. I don't think that this is a hotel's fault but we were concerned about our security once those guys seemed really agressive. I advise all tourists to keep in toutch with hotel staff before going to the hotel to try to keep rooms in quiet floors. If you want to party and know young people (18 - 22 years) the

Room Tip: Specificaly in new years eve. If you want to party and meet young people (18 - 22 years) the standar...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cirogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are a lot of negative comments here regarding the hotel, I'd like to set a few things straight, having stayed there from 11 to 13 January 2013.

1. The rooms have not been renovated in many years - that being said they are CLEAN and feel very welcoming. The beds are amazing. But yes, they do need some obvious renovations such as wallpaper beginning to peel and a bit of water damage to the ceilings, things that are hardly noticeable and I only noticed because of the amount of complains on here about it.
2. The hotel's location is outstanding, right in the heart of the city, and there aren't many more places that offer the value for money of this place.
3. The lobby of the hotel was recently renovated, yes it's a bit weird looking (almost too posh/modern), but again it looks very professional. The staff were also very professional and friendly the few times I spoke to them, very bilingual as well.
4. The elevators are a bit oddly situated, but after the first orientation you are totally fine.
5. The pool is AMAZING, very warm and relaxing, I went in it every day and also in the saunas.

If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of Montreal, close to everything, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments and for being our Guest recently. As you mentioned, the hotel has recently undergone a multi-million renovation to our public areas (upper & lower lobbies, lounge, restaurant & a new state-of-the-art self service international wine bar). I am pleased to advise that we will be commencing upgrades to our room corridors with new carpets and wallpaper shortly. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Candice Laflamme
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Since we rented a suite we had acces to the club lounge; the guy who was helping out (putting everything on the table etc.) was just genius, superfriendly and everything (honestly, he was the best, nicest guy in the whole hotel, and I don't even think this was his regular job).

The rooms were not ok (Hyatt Standard) and most staff was not rude but not real helpfull either.

The swimming pool was closed (8 days!); in order to give a compensation we received a "free" breakfast, but that was already included in our suite-price anyway!

Furthermore, the rooms are old, and not just a bit, it is sub-standard for a Hyatt. What they call a suite is just two rooms connected by the way.

No real wellcome when we arrived, a bar which was either closed, or fully booked for a private party.

For car rentals, we had to find it out ourselves and room service was "temporarely" (8 days!) unavailable.

We felt really "aggressed" at certain moments since some staff was on strike at that time. When we requested more info on that matter, they told us that we "shouldn't worry" and "it's every so many years" and "it'll take 3 months or so" and "no worries, the hotel is full with security agents so nothing will happen to you". Especially the last remark, as if we have to have fear for physical attacks of the strikers did not put us at ease at all. They should have told us that this was the case so we could go to another hotel with less risk of violence.

In total, they have been lying to us. And that is what they shouldn't have done.
Shame on you.

An otherwise very faithful hyatt customer

Room Tip: Unfortunately, it's just not possible. Ask wheter they have refurbished the rooms, otherwise, do...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abrahamth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. During your stay with us last August, unfortunately all union employees were out on strike for 8 weeks, and the hotel contined to operate with Managers only. Some non-essential services were closed during the strike such as the pool and room-service. However we did receive so many positive comments from our Guests who were staying with us on the Customer Service delivered by our dedicated team of Managers. We truly apologize if this was not the case during your stay. We hope you will give the hotel another chance so that you may experience the Service Excellence for which we are renowned. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for New years. We found it to be a very convenient location and just minutes away from the connected underground malls. The interior of this hotel is very impressive and they recently renovated the whole place! They have a elegant stretch bar, and great variety of drinks to chose from. The only down side is we paid $12 plus tax for internet that kept cutting out every 5 minutes. We didn't really care because we were hardly at the hotel since it was new years but I suppose it's just the principle. Overall, it was a great hotel, with a great vibe, steps to many stores and restaurants with a trendy and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maziarOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again on a future visit!
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 165 in Montreal
915 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,654 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#50 of 165 in Montreal
2,225 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 165 in Montreal
1,818 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $177 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge and its Wine Bar for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on level 6 offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art and Place des Arts, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal and experience the Montreal way of life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing