We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Zero 1(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,973)
Filter reviews
2,973 results
Traveler rating
833
1,051
664
301
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
1,051
664
301
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsregency clubplace des artscomplexe desjardinsjeanne mancejazz festivalunderground mallself parkindoor poolrenovated roomper dayst catherine streetbit datedhotel barvalet parkinghotel is in a great locationmini fridgeold port
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,686 - 1,691 of 2,973 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is great, staff are really nice and localization is perfect. I`ve spent two nights in this hotel, including 12/31. Montreal is a party city and lots of adolescents travel to the city by this time. No problem at all but they've partied and yelled the whole two nights I was there in hotel corridors. In the last day we even heard fights between some of them who were really drunk. They've also broken lots of hotel objects (lamps, etc....) as we saw by crossing them in our check out. I don't think that this is a hotel's fault but we were concerned about our security once those guys seemed really agressive. I advise all tourists to keep in toutch with hotel staff before going to the hotel to try to keep rooms in quiet floors. If you want to party and know young people (18 - 22 years) the

Room Tip: Specificaly in new years eve. If you want to party and meet young people (18 - 22 years) the standard rooms are OK. If you want something more quiet and a better sleep quality I advise you to try superior rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cirogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are a lot of negative comments here regarding the hotel, I'd like to set a few things straight, having stayed there from 11 to 13 January 2013.

1. The rooms have not been renovated in many years - that being said they are CLEAN and feel very welcoming. The beds are amazing. But yes, they do need some obvious renovations such as wallpaper beginning to peel and a bit of water damage to the ceilings, things that are hardly noticeable and I only noticed because of the amount of complains on here about it.
2. The hotel's location is outstanding, right in the heart of the city, and there aren't many more places that offer the value for money of this place.
3. The lobby of the hotel was recently renovated, yes it's a bit weird looking (almost too posh/modern), but again it looks very professional. The staff were also very professional and friendly the few times I spoke to them, very bilingual as well.
4. The elevators are a bit oddly situated, but after the first orientation you are totally fine.
5. The pool is AMAZING, very warm and relaxing, I went in it every day and also in the saunas.

If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of Montreal, close to everything, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments and for being our Guest recently. As you mentioned, the hotel has recently undergone a multi-million renovation to our public areas (upper & lower lobbies, lounge, restaurant & a new state-of-the-art self service international wine bar). I am pleased to advise that we will be commencing upgrades to our room corridors with new carpets and wallpaper shortly. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Candice Laflamme
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Since we rented a suite we had acces to the club lounge; the guy who was helping out (putting everything on the table etc.) was just genius, superfriendly and everything (honestly, he was the best, nicest guy in the whole hotel, and I don't even think this was his regular job).

The rooms were not ok (Hyatt Standard) and most staff was not rude but not real helpfull either.

The swimming pool was closed (8 days!); in order to give a compensation we received a "free" breakfast, but that was already included in our suite-price anyway!

Furthermore, the rooms are old, and not just a bit, it is sub-standard for a Hyatt. What they call a suite is just two rooms connected by the way.

No real wellcome when we arrived, a bar which was either closed, or fully booked for a private party.

For car rentals, we had to find it out ourselves and room service was "temporarely" (8 days!) unavailable.

We felt really "aggressed" at certain moments since some staff was on strike at that time. When we requested more info on that matter, they told us that we "shouldn't worry" and "it's every so many years" and "it'll take 3 months or so" and "no worries, the hotel is full with security agents so nothing will happen to you". Especially the last remark, as if we have to have fear for physical attacks of the strikers did not put us at ease at all. They should have told us that this was the case so we could go to another hotel with less risk of violence.

In total, they have been lying to us. And that is what they shouldn't have done.
Shame on you.

An otherwise very faithful hyatt customer

Room Tip: Unfortunately, it's just not possible. Ask wheter they have refurbished the rooms, otherwise, don't ever consider the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abrahamth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. During your stay with us last August, unfortunately all union employees were out on strike for 8 weeks, and the hotel contined to operate with Managers only. Some non-essential services were closed during the strike such as the pool and room-service. However we did receive so many positive comments from our Guests who were staying with us on the Customer Service delivered by our dedicated team of Managers. We truly apologize if this was not the case during your stay. We hope you will give the hotel another chance so that you may experience the Service Excellence for which we are renowned. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for New years. We found it to be a very convenient location and just minutes away from the connected underground malls. The interior of this hotel is very impressive and they recently renovated the whole place! They have a elegant stretch bar, and great variety of drinks to chose from. The only down side is we paid $12 plus tax for internet that kept cutting out every 5 minutes. We didn't really care because we were hardly at the hotel since it was new years but I suppose it's just the principle. Overall, it was a great hotel, with a great vibe, steps to many stores and restaurants with a trendy and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maziarOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again on a future visit!
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

By the far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

1. Noise -- wee heard every step the people above us took and there were many. On NYE, management had minimal security and kids ran all over the hotel screaming, knocking on doors, and hanging out in the halls. Despite several noise complaints, no one ever addressed the problem and we literally slept 3 hours the entire night resultantly.

2. Front Desk Staff -- They had one concierge working on peak times and he was on the phone 95% of the time. Hope you don't need recommendations for anything. Upon checking out, there were huge lines and staff seemed uninterested. There was no inquiry into the quality of our stay.

3. Room -- The hotel itself is tired. The rooms are old and amenities are just meh.

Overall, it was not a good stay. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BVL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews