We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #58 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed at the Hyatt over Easter. Location was great and bed comfortable. Dining terrace which was under snow looked like it would be very nice in the summer. Only complaint was that the room only had a series of very dim table and floor lamps, no overhead light, so at night it was dim in the room. Otherwise, was fine. I prefer the Hilton and Sheraton for this level of hotel, nicer toiletries, nicer pillows, etc. but it was fine for what it was and we got a great deal on the price so can't complain.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank kkonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    872
    571
    242
    91
See reviews for
452
585
126
820
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Staff were friendly and attentitive, and upgraded our room for free as they had the space available. We had a great view, and I loved that there was a mall underneath the hotel!!! We were on the 11th floor and there were two things I didn't enjoy. First, was that the bathroom fan didnt work leaving undesireable odor in the hotel room whenever someone used it, and second, which I understand was not the hotel's fault... our room was right beside the staircase and someone in high heel shoes on the 12th floor was walking back and forth on the staircase all night long from 10 pm untill 3am... we called the front desk at 11 pm but that didnt solve the problem. When we checked out the next day, we complained and the hotel didnt charge us for room service amounting to 50 bucks and gave us a free breakfeast... thanx but I would have rather had a good nite sleep considering I had to drive 6 hours home.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cykickspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

I stayed at the hotel in the beginning of Feb. for my friends birthday.

Experience at hotel:
The hotel staff was nice enough but didn't get the room I had requested. Front desk told me the rooms were unavailable, manager said they were under construction and the maid staff told me they were just empty but available. Inconsistency was their policy. At first it angered me they couldn't accommodate my request but for the price I paid, couldn't complain too much longer. Other than that the experience was OK.

Hotel:
It's a nice and modern hotel. It has great potential in the summer with a large patio and pool. Rather inconvenient to take 2 elevators to get to the room. But in fairness, the elevators were quick.

Rooms:
Rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. Probably one of the best features of the hotel. The design is very appealing. The view is nothing special from the 4th floor.

The Location:
Not the best location but it was good. Located above a mall with a good food court for quick meals. Close to St.Laurent and St. Denis where you can find some good bars. I think the West side of downtown is a much better location in terms of atmosphere.

Overall:
It's a decent hotel and if you can get it at a good price then it's definitely worth it. I personally would have spent a little more for a better hotel elsewhere. Maybe the Delta Montreal or Hotel du Fort.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Inconsistencey amongst the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Liko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

We recently stayed in Montreal, and during that visit we stayed at both the Hyatt Regency for one night and the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown for two nights. The Hyatt staff was very helpful with our early check-in, providing maps, baggage storage and hailing taxi cabs. Our room was located on the 11th floor, so we had no street noise to keep us up at night, and the room was very clean. The hotel also has convenient access to the Place d' Armes and Place des Arts Metro stations through the Complex Desjardins underground shopping area.

However, the location was not as appealing as I wished it would be. From our room window, the views included buildings with colorful graffiti. There also did not seem to be too many restaurants or shops in the neighborhood, other than the Complex Desjardins. We actually liked the neighborhood surrounding the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown much better. However, just as a reminder, we were only at the Hyatt for one night, so if we had stayed longer, we may have encountered some hidden treasures, if there are any.

  • Liked — Staff Service
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 888Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

This hotel doesn't offer any more or any less than you should expect from a 4 star. It is functional, good sized room, very comfortable beds and neutrally decorated. Bathroom could do with some refurbishing but it was ok.
The only thing that I found a bit petty was the business center, which charged for the use of the internet. I stayed in four other hotels during this trip, and Hyatt was the first place that didn't offer complimentary use of this service. When you pay the full price for your stay, it is annoying to see they still want more.

  • Liked — Quiet room
  • Disliked — Internet not complimentary
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EsteeLauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at the Hyatt for a few days over New Years Eve - just returned yesterday. Wow was it disappointing for a Hyatt. The only positive thing we have to say about the Hyatt in Montreal is it's location. The front desk is terribly rude, snobby, and condescending. The rooms are in need of rennovation. The sink in the bathroom didn't drain well. The bathtub water would change from hot to cold to hot on a whim. If you want a mini-refrigerator in your room, you have to pre-reserve it. Apparently it's not standard at this Hyatt...at least that's what the front desk manager told us. It's more a 2.5/3 star than 4 star hotel...and honestly, mostly because of the poor front desk. I will not be staying here again...ever.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Yataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

Booked the hotel through hotwire. Went during the xmas holidays and the room came to $99.00US w/ taxes. Definitely a great price for the room.

Only stayed for one night as I was just in Montreal for a party. The hotel is in the Complexe Desjardins and situated really close to St. Laurent & St. Catherines. Less than a 10 minute walk to great shopping, restaurants, bars & clubs!

Didn't get a chance to really use any of the amenities but the rooms were nice and clean and washroom was spacious.

The hotel was easy to find and had public and valet parking for somewhat a reasonable rate.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street | PO Box 130, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Montreal hotels offer direct underground access to the Montreal Convention Centre, the Metro and the Contemporary Museum of Art. Our Montreal hotel is also within walking distance of Old Montreal, Chinatown and the trendiest restaurants. Our hotel features 605 handsomely appointed guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of our dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing