We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt Regency Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hyatt Regency Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

A good upscale hotel well located across from Place des Art.
It is aging but well maintained with an accomodating, friendly staff.
The bathroom was a bit cramped but all other facilities were fine.
Access is a bit difficult due to street construction, but this is temporary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and for having been our Guest. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    886
    582
    246
    92
See reviews for
458
591
125
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. This hotel is located right on the less glamourous part St-Catherine Street. It gives you easy access to the nicer part of St-Catherine and all the shopping within a 10 minute walk. The hotel is right next to China Town. It is located above a small mall, which is convenient for it's restaurants, pharmacy and bank machine. My work meetings were at the Palais des Congres (Congress Hall) which was about a 7 minute walk away. My colleagues who stayed at the Inter Continental and the Daulphin were much closer to the congress hall than I was.
There is a weird 2 elevator system to get to your room that proves to be a little bit annoying if you are coming and going a few times a day. The lobby and restaurant/bar are nice and modern.
The gym and the indoor pool are great. The TV in my room did not have a signal 2 mornings out of 4. There is a mini fridge in every room, I put mine to the coldest option and it barely kept anything cold (I was afraid to eat the yogourt I put in there cause it was so close to room temperature).
The bed was not very comfortable, felt the springs in my back. The shower was one of the weirdest configurations ever: The shower head is not in the centre of the shower wall, very close to the shower curtain which made it hard to be under the shower head without having to touch the old shower curtain.
The heating system made a sound every few minutes that drove me crazy and made me think someone was coming into my room every time. It would also keep me from falling asleep at times.
The doormen downstairs were nice and helpful. I ran into the person cleaning my room one day and she was very kind and. The staff at the front desk all looked bitter.
All in all, I am glad work paid for me to stay here. I would not stay here again if I need to come back to Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for being our Guest. During your stay, the local cable company was effecting repair work in the downtown sector and all cable was out for 1 1/2 days. We truly apologize for this inconvenience. Unfortunately this was not in our control. In order for the minifridge to function on it's coldest setting, the control dial must be placed on Low (not high), and subsequently the temperature dial on coldest. Since our hotel is located above a Mall, our Guests usually appreciate that the elevators to the rooms are separate from the elevator to the Mall & parking. This provides security for our Guests.We do hope that you will give our hotel another chance in order to experience the Quality & Service Excellence that Hyatt hotels are known for.
Sincerely,
C. Laflamme, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I had a great stay here. I loved the bar by the lobby. Check - in was a breeze. All staff were very friendly and were willing to help. Our room was wonderful and very clean. Location is great. Across the street from shopping. Also the hotel is attached to the mall so you can shop til you droo and grab the elevator to the hotel. The subway station is right down the street. Hotel is within walking distance to old town montreal. Oh and by the way. Great breakfast for room service.

Would I stay here again??? I don't see why not. You got everything at your doorstep :))

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opasna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel! Thank you for your positive comments. Our goal is to always provide the Quality & Service Excellence that Hyatt Hotels are known for. You mentioned enjoying the lobby bar "Six"....I hope you also had the opportunity of experiencing our international wines in our state-of-the-art self-serve wine bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Candice Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia Antipolis, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hyatt Regency in Montreal is well located, within walking distance of convention center, shopping mall and street, university, etc. But I must say that I expected more from a Hyatt. the Check in staff was friendly and helpful, but check in line was a bit long. More staff should have been on duty at the end of the day. The concierge was nowhere to be seen during my three day-stay. The room has nothing particular. Confortable but average. The bathroom was small and disapointing. Shower and sink faucets were 1980's models. It may be time for a make-over . . .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundayNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for being our Guest. Although our Concierge service is provided daily from May to September, we do have our Bellmen, Doorman, Valets and Front Desk Agents who are pleased to assist with any information our Guests require. We hope to host you once again whenever your travels bring you back to Montreal.
C.Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Location, Mall was convinient, reasonably prices since the other hotels were more expensive...it's close to Old Montreal, China Town and all the shopping and museum attractions... walking distance...there were 7 of us and stayed at adjoining rooms... breakfast per person at $20 was expensive when we stayed at Embassy Suites 2 years ago, it was included in our room rate... so we ate at the mall food court every morning while staying at the Hyatt
I've been to Montreal serveral times staying at the Sheraton, Holiday Inn, and Embassy Suites, what disappointed us was the lack of elavators to our second floor room...we could not access the stairway - you needed a passcode to get to each floor...so it took 30 minutes to get on an elavator and got dirty looks from guests when we got off our floor... layout is confusing, you have to take different elavators to go to your room, to the mall or outside... Guest Services doesn't exist (fend for yourself if you have an Iphone) and calling for room service took forever...the phone ran 10 times before anyone picked up... plus they charge you .05 when you call another room while you're in the hotel??....
I would stay here again if the other hotels don't offer a competative rate because of location only.... and the mall has access to the metro so you have to step outside....parking was reasonable but they charge you $10 each time you take the car out...this is a busy hotel, cruise lines, tour buses and airline employees stay here...

Room Tip: ask for a window view not facing the "ugly construction "
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for being our Guest. We appreciate your comments which assist us in improving both our product & service. As in my response to the Guest below, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences experienced or delays in service due to an extremely busy weekend. Although our goal is to provide Service Excellence at which we are usually quite successful, at times providing service to all our Guests at the same time can be challenging. I truly thank you for your patience and understanding. I do hope you will visit us again in order to experience our usual Service Excellence. ..Candice Laflamme, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosup, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Three female friends age 34 traveling to Montreal for the weekend. We got to the hotel mid afternoon and checked in quickly. Staff was always polite and when asked Parlez vous anglais? (Yes people its a french-speaking province so be courteous and learn how to say that) we always got "But of course!" Free breakfast was included for all three of us but I must say that if I had to pay I wouldnt have: $75 for three people on mediocre food is ridiculous. So if you dont have coupons or free breakfast walk across the street to Starbucks. The Hotel is beautiful and modern with a nice pool and wrap around terrace that overlooks the busy Centre Des Spectacles. We walked easily to many restaurants, bars, China Town, Old Montreal and Old Port. My only gripe would be the fact that cruise ships were unloading hundreds of travelers into Montreal this weekend and the hotel lobby was always packed and four elevators never seemed to make it to the lobby causing large lines! But otherwise perfectly good centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the Museum of Contemporary Art
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback & having been our Guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and apologize for the wait for elevators at times. Our hotel is extremely popular with Cruise ships, tours and leisure and Corporate Guests due to our location & service. This was a particularly busy weekend with many guests arriving at the same time. With 607 rooms, at times there is congestion. We do thank you for your patience and understanding. The cost for the full hot & cold breakfast buffet is actually very competitive with major downtown hotels. Given the quantity of food offered, it is more of a "brunch". We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Candice Laflamme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

On Friday, Sept. 21, 2012 Holland American cruise line booked my family of 5 into the Hyatt Regency Montreal for one night prior to board its ship the Maasdam for a 7 night cruise up the St. Lawrence Seaway. Two of my family members were booked into a double occupancy of one room with 2 double beds (adequate). I was booked into a triple occupancy with my older sister and a good friend (3 grown women). We had told our travel agent and the cruiseline that each of us would require our own bed.(that is 3 beds or 2 double beds with a roll-a-way). The room we three were to occupy was the same as the other room, only two double beds, and no room for any roll-a-way, or anything else). When I inquired, the hotel staff were uncooperative and did nothing. So that night, I put a lounge chair and the desk chair with rollers together and tried to sleep sitting up. Not good for the back, and not restful.

The next morning we asked about a breakfast buffet, and we told to eat in the food court that opened up at 7 a.m. We were not pleased with any of the services or lack there of that we received. We told Holland America representative about it, and she just shrugged her shoulders. So much for service!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for having been our Guests. We are truly sorry that you were not informed that there are 2 double beds in a double room and that there is not enough space for a cot at the time you made your reservations. The only way to have 3 separate beds is to reserve a suite with a pull out sofa.Unfortunately your travel agent was misinformed. Although we do have a food court with many restaurants in the mall below, our hotel restaurant is open for breakfast from 6:30 AM until 10:30 weekdays and until 11:30 on weekends. I am not clear on why you did not have access to the buffet breakfast if you arrived during these hours. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#36 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on the 6th level offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing