We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Centrally Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Three female friends age 34 traveling to Montreal for the weekend. We got to the hotel mid afternoon and checked in quickly. Staff was always polite and when asked Parlez vous anglais? (Yes people its a french-speaking province so be courteous and learn how to say that) we always got "But of course!" Free breakfast was included for all three of us but I must say that if I had to pay I wouldnt have: $75 for three people on mediocre food is ridiculous. So if you dont have coupons or free breakfast walk across the street to Starbucks. The Hotel is beautiful and modern with a nice pool and wrap around terrace that overlooks the busy Centre Des Spectacles. We walked easily to many restaurants, bars, China Town, Old Montreal and Old Port. My only gripe would be the fact that cruise ships were unloading hundreds of travelers into Montreal this weekend and the hotel lobby was always packed and four elevators never seemed to make it to the lobby causing large lines! But otherwise perfectly good centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the Museum of Contemporary Art
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback & having been our Guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and apologize for the wait for elevators at times. Our hotel is extremely popular with Cruise ships, tours and leisure and Corporate Guests due to our location & service. This was a particularly busy weekend with many guests arriving at the same time. With 607 rooms, at times there is congestion. We do thank you for your patience and understanding. The cost for the full hot & cold breakfast buffet is actually very competitive with major downtown hotels. Given the quantity of food offered, it is more of a "brunch". We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Candice Laflamme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

On Friday, Sept. 21, 2012 Holland American cruise line booked my family of 5 into the Hyatt Regency Montreal for one night prior to board its ship the Maasdam for a 7 night cruise up the St. Lawrence Seaway. Two of my family members were booked into a double occupancy of one room with 2 double beds (adequate). I was booked into a triple occupancy with my older sister and a good friend (3 grown women). We had told our travel agent and the cruiseline that each of us would require our own bed.(that is 3 beds or 2 double beds with a roll-a-way). The room we three were to occupy was the same as the other room, only two double beds, and no room for any roll-a-way, or anything else). When I inquired, the hotel staff were uncooperative and did nothing. So that night, I put a lounge chair and the desk chair with rollers together and tried to sleep sitting up. Not good for the back, and not restful.

The next morning we asked about a breakfast buffet, and we told to eat in the food court that opened up at 7 a.m. We were not pleased with any of the services or lack there of that we received. We told Holland America representative about it, and she just shrugged her shoulders. So much for service!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments and for having been our Guests. We are truly sorry that you were not informed that there are 2 double beds in a double room and that there is not enough space for a cot at the time you made your reservations. The only way to have 3 separate beds is to reserve a suite with a pull out sofa.Unfortunately your travel agent was misinformed. Although we do have a food court with many restaurants in the mall below, our hotel restaurant is open for breakfast from 6:30 AM until 10:30 weekdays and until 11:30 on weekends. I am not clear on why you did not have access to the buffet breakfast if you arrived during these hours. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights. The location was excellent. Just opposite Place des Arts. It is a short walk to Old Montreal and the complex is connected to the underground "city" and is very convenient especially if the weather is poor for walking. The hotel is located in the Desjardins Complex. We parked our car in the Desjardin Complex underground parking and left it there for 4 days. Some construction near the garage entrance so go slow. A bit confusing with entrances and elevators the first time. Once you understand that the lobby is on the 6th floor and the rooms above, it is simpler. There is a connection to the lobby from the Mall and P1 level below via elevator. If you stay more than a day or two it is worthwhile figuring this out.

The staff were all very professional and courteous. The lobby has been nicely done in a very contemporary style. The room was o.k. The bed was comfortable except the sheets were not fitted properly and so the bottom sheet was loose. A note to housekeeping and they did a good job making the bed, but the sheet still did not fit properly. The bed was otherwise comfortable and my wife especially likes the Hyatt pillows. The ventilation was very good and the room was very quiet. The bathroom was clean but could have used a coat of paint on the ceiling. The chair in the room was not particularly comfortable and the ottoman was mismatched and too high for comfort.

Overall I have had better rooms in hotels in the 4 star category in Montreal. However the price we paid likely reflected the quality. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and quiet, the staff were professional. These are the most important things to me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Located near old montreal. Nice and clean. Some construction on side road but overall a great experience. Staff was very helpful. There is a mall underneath the hotel which is very convenient. We will love to come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I attended a conference held at the Hyatt Regency Montreal, so I did not personally research and select this hotel. It served the purpose of providing a one-stop site for the conference, so I never had to leave the hotel for anything. It also was a perfect location for sightseeing in a limited time frame, and guests can easily access a large indoor retail mall adjacent to the hotel. However, I found the hotel's layout very confusing & got lost several times, arriving late to a few of the sessions I planned to attend. The guest/customer service was ambivalent - I never saw a human being at the concierge desk, and the Hyatt needed two calls before they showed up, much delayed, to troubleshoot the mini-fridge. Although the food was excellent, the food servers were impersonal and brusque. The room was comfortable but the lighting was terrible for getting any work or reading done.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venividi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback which assists us in correcting any deficiencies in our Service or Product. The Concierge desk is manned in the high season from May to September. Our Bellmen, Valet, Front Desk Agents are pleased to provide any assistance Guests require regarding the city as an option. Please accept my apology for the less than service excellent in the restaurant. I have forwarded your comments to both the Restaurant Manager & Food & Beverage Director for immediate follow up with the wait staff. Thank you for being our Guest and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

For the price we paid through an online booking system the hotel was overpriced. Very outdated, no free wifi, parking expensive. Room was very average and well worn for a four star hotel. Location is very good but lots of construction around hotel and would not stay there again and would not recommend it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First of all, I have to say this is the best location for a hotel when I've stayed in Montreal. It is steps from St. Catherine Street, right near Place Des Arts. Perfect location. The room was spacious and clean, albeit a little on the dim side in terms of natural and unnatural light. The parking is easy - don't park with the valet, park at the Complex Desjardins - a shopping mall attached to the hotel - it was $10/24hrs on weekends to park, and if you park near the Jeanne Mance elevators, you'll be in an elevator that will take you directly to the lobby of the hotel.

Positives:

- Location
- Cheap parking
- Mall attached to hotel (some great restaurants such as Baton Rouge for dinner and Eggspectations for breakfast - no need to hit the hotel for food)
- Staff were typically very helpful and friendly - especially the valet who lent us an umbrella in the rain.
- Attractive lobby
- Spacious room
- Steps to St. Catherine and old Montreal.

Negatives:

- The bathroom is very dark and the layout is weird with the toilet immediately behind the door.
- The elevators are slow and busy during check-in and check-out times.
- The pool doesn't have a hot tub (nor does it advertise one, but it's always something I look for in a hotel)
- There was one staff member, Mustafa I believe his name was, who was surly and unhelpful - the rest were awesome.
- We left out bags in their lockup after check-out while we shopped. When we returned, the bags had been moved to the valet parking area - a little creepy for me, really. Also, they temporarily lost a bag (it was left upstairs in the lockup) during the move - since we didn't use valet, this was an inconvenience.
- No free wi-fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Room closer to the ground is better because of slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for being our Guest & for such positive comments. I apologize that the Bellman did not inform you that your bags would be sent downstairs behind the Valet station, because since it is on street level, all bags left at the front desk are moved downstairs for departing Guests for their convenience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
956 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#37 of 165 in Montreal
2,019 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $145 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Entertainment District of Montreal. Its 595 newly renovated guestrooms, spacious and well-appointed, have been updated for truly refined-living and a memorable Montreal experience. The Hotel provides also to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on level 6 offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to experience the best Montreal has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing