We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel - There are better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #56 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel - There are better”
Reviewed February 15, 2008

I stayed at the hotel in the beginning of Feb. for my friends birthday.

Experience at hotel:
The hotel staff was nice enough but didn't get the room I had requested. Front desk told me the rooms were unavailable, manager said they were under construction and the maid staff told me they were just empty but available. Inconsistency was their policy. At first it angered me they couldn't accommodate my request but for the price I paid, couldn't complain too much longer. Other than that the experience was OK.

Hotel:
It's a nice and modern hotel. It has great potential in the summer with a large patio and pool. Rather inconvenient to take 2 elevators to get to the room. But in fairness, the elevators were quick.

Rooms:
Rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. Probably one of the best features of the hotel. The design is very appealing. The view is nothing special from the 4th floor.

The Location:
Not the best location but it was good. Located above a mall with a good food court for quick meals. Close to St.Laurent and St. Denis where you can find some good bars. I think the West side of downtown is a much better location in terms of atmosphere.

Overall:
It's a decent hotel and if you can get it at a good price then it's definitely worth it. I personally would have spent a little more for a better hotel elsewhere. Maybe the Delta Montreal or Hotel du Fort.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Inconsistencey amongst the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Liko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    944
    620
    266
    106
See reviews for
493
621
130
966
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We recently stayed in Montreal, and during that visit we stayed at both the Hyatt Regency for one night and the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown for two nights. The Hyatt staff was very helpful with our early check-in, providing maps, baggage storage and hailing taxi cabs. Our room was located on the 11th floor, so we had no street noise to keep us up at night, and the room was very clean. The hotel also has convenient access to the Place d' Armes and Place des Arts Metro stations through the Complex Desjardins underground shopping area.

However, the location was not as appealing as I wished it would be. From our room window, the views included buildings with colorful graffiti. There also did not seem to be too many restaurants or shops in the neighborhood, other than the Complex Desjardins. We actually liked the neighborhood surrounding the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown much better. However, just as a reminder, we were only at the Hyatt for one night, so if we had stayed longer, we may have encountered some hidden treasures, if there are any.

  • Liked — Staff Service
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 888Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

This hotel doesn't offer any more or any less than you should expect from a 4 star. It is functional, good sized room, very comfortable beds and neutrally decorated. Bathroom could do with some refurbishing but it was ok.
The only thing that I found a bit petty was the business center, which charged for the use of the internet. I stayed in four other hotels during this trip, and Hyatt was the first place that didn't offer complimentary use of this service. When you pay the full price for your stay, it is annoying to see they still want more.

  • Liked — Quiet room
  • Disliked — Internet not complimentary
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EsteeLauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at the Hyatt for a few days over New Years Eve - just returned yesterday. Wow was it disappointing for a Hyatt. The only positive thing we have to say about the Hyatt in Montreal is it's location. The front desk is terribly rude, snobby, and condescending. The rooms are in need of rennovation. The sink in the bathroom didn't drain well. The bathtub water would change from hot to cold to hot on a whim. If you want a mini-refrigerator in your room, you have to pre-reserve it. Apparently it's not standard at this Hyatt...at least that's what the front desk manager told us. It's more a 2.5/3 star than 4 star hotel...and honestly, mostly because of the poor front desk. I will not be staying here again...ever.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Yataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Booked the hotel through hotwire. Went during the xmas holidays and the room came to $99.00US w/ taxes. Definitely a great price for the room.

Only stayed for one night as I was just in Montreal for a party. The hotel is in the Complexe Desjardins and situated really close to St. Laurent & St. Catherines. Less than a 10 minute walk to great shopping, restaurants, bars & clubs!

Didn't get a chance to really use any of the amenities but the rooms were nice and clean and washroom was spacious.

The hotel was easy to find and had public and valet parking for somewhat a reasonable rate.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

I got a steal on this hotel through Hotwire for around $75.00 a night, so I was happy to begin with. Upon arriving, I found the hotel in nice shape, the front desk attendant very friendly and helpful, and the parking (after figuring out the garage situation) was convenient too. The rooms were very nice as well. The beds are loaded with comfy feather pillows, we had a great view of the skyscrapers and a very nice (yet very dark) bathroom, with granite countertops and beautiful Kohler fixtures.
Using the interent was a bit of a hassle, as it took forever to work and had poor connection speed. I also feel that a supposed 4 star hotel should not be charging their customers for service.
(I get free internet at Fairfield Inn, for God's sake)
The location was great for shopping/dining/nightlife on St Catherine, and not too far from the old buildings of Old Montreal.

Overall, I was quite pleased with the hotel, and would have no qualms about returning, although I would probably rate it closer to a 3.5 star rather than a 4 star.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jesslyn848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2007

IM a frequent business traveler and have stayed in many Hyatt's, as I am a Hyatt passport member. Past year or so I began to have bad experiences with the hotels my company booked me in, so I started to use Tripadvisor to nevigate hotes in cities/towns I was going to be in to book a room. The Hyatt in Montreal was depressing. The location is good, the staff is rude and snobby. Rooms are OK, but for $200+ it should be good or great. I was disappointed, this hotel is not a real Hyatt and it damaging to the Hyatt Brand. I expect high standards from Hyatt, that why I shove out the big bucks. I will not be staying here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff and guest rooms and gues services
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jsaby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
865 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,551 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 164 in Montreal
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 164 in Montreal
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge and its Wine Bar for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on level 6 offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art and Place des Arts, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal and experience the Montreal way of life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing