We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
63
109
39
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
109
39
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomcommunal kitchenairport bus stopbell centrelay your headsmall showerdouble bedcoffee makerbudget hotelmain floorlaundry roomwalking distanceten minute walkcentral locationexcellent locationrestaurant downstairsrue st catherine
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 220 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Montreal for 3 nights. We found this hotel through a lengthy search for "budget" hotels in Montreal. This was the cheapest option we found for a decent quality, no frills.

Positives: Location! Metro less than a 2 minute walk, resturants, clubs and bars in every direction - always people around.
Friendly staff - both in French and English.
Clean but simple rooms - perfect for those who are interested more in being out and about in Montreal rather than in the hotel room.

Negatives:
On a busy, loud street...BUT! if you shut the windows, you can barely hear anything!
Simple - but clean and friendly - not a negative unless this is what you're looking for
Hot room - but had air and windows to open

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascade18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 4, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Modern hightrise building on Renee Levesque - one of the main streets of Montreal , next to Sheraton- is YWCA center, the hotel occupies upper floors, i think i stayed on 7th.
24 hour reception, friendly and efficient, payment at check-inn.
I had a ladge room with a/c, noiseless windows, comfortable bed, working desk, tea maker, tv, small shower. Very clean and modern.
I moved there from one of the many shabby, smelly and noisy establishments on St Denis street and could not be happier.
2 subway stations a stone's throw away, walking distance from many of Montreal sights, in the modern business district of the city (except a somewhat dirty street round the corner, Renee Levesque and St Catherine are a pleasant part of Montreal.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zazix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I would not recommend this for the traveler looking all the amenities of a hotel, or anyone wanting some of the socializing available at some smaller hostels, but for a clean room, secure location, friendly staff, and very affordable rates, this place is a great spot. They have kitchens and dining areas on every floor if you want to bring or buy some food from the store to save some money. It was only my wife and I, but it also seemed like a quiet location for families.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

I have stayed at this Auberge many times over the last several years, alone,with family, or with friends and have been pleased each time...The staff always without fail have been friendly and seem to go further than they need to to accommodate any needs or questions I may have!
Every room I have booked has been spotless...as is the huge shared kitchen on the 6th floor for visitors to use! The shared bathroom facilities and the laundry for all to use is super clean...although you can book a room with a private bathroom for a minimal extra charge.
The resto on the main floor is one you will want to visit many times...the staff there are so nice and the food is always far above average!
This place is an undiscovered gem and as I write this I am actually hoping for my own sake that not too many people read this,as I want to keep it a secret so that I never have a problem getting a booking!!!ha ha!

This Y is child friendly and is VERY safe for women, you have to ring a doorbell to have access after 10:00 PM. The location could not be better to shop or take a stroll down St. Catherine Street...Old Montreal and ChinaTown are "walkable" too.

I can honestly say that I have never had a negative experience here and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when in Montreal! I have stayed at various hotels in Montreal but NONE beats this one!

Thanks Auberge "Y"......from a 100% always happy guest!
C. Wilkins

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Luvdogs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews