We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for smart budget traveller”
Review of Hotel Y Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Y Montreal
Ranked #54 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Stayed here for the weekend. Was much nicer place then I thought it would be considering price I paid /$45 per night/ Had to share the bathroom but wasn't too bad at all. I was the only one using it. Receptionists were helpful and freindly. Very clean, spacious room. Was able to sleep through the night on their bed. Location was the best. Right on the Crescent street /going out area/. It is close to St Cathrine's shopping area. Also walking distance to the Fine Art Museum. The bus station is 15 minutes drive away. Would definitely recommend if you are on the budget but want to be in the right location. The only thing, bring your own hair dryer. They kept running out of them.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NY_Recommends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed there for 4 nights in august and they charged us for a double bed room with shared bathroom and toilets for about 330 $ CAD (taxes included) : 82$ CAD / night.

It's a cheap place because it's very near from the center of Montreal by the subway or within a 20 min walk and also the MontRoyal Hills. Our room was nice and clean, a little small (but for sleeping is enough) but not at all the showers and the toilets for the men were look clean (a lot of hairs).

We stayed a the 7th floor wich seems to be less good than the 6th or 8th which have private bathrooms.

You could store your own food in a fridge in the shared kitchen where there is some foods and beverages distributors, an internet point (wich don't work very well - i can't connect but i've payed 2£ instead !) wich is nioce for have your breakfast in the morning.

Another point is it's very though to park your car in the streets near the hotel. We get 2 statements... so you should park your car in a carpark for all the day...

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KaRbOuiLLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed at the YWCA during the last weekend of the Jazz Festival in July 2006. We'll most likely stay here again, the next time we visit Montreal - here's why:
- although we had a corner room (at Rene-Levesque and Crescent) there was not a lot of street noise
- the room was made up everyday
- towels and soap are provided
- the area is very safe and great for students and women travelling alone
- there's a coffee shop on the main level where you can buy food in the morning, and drink machines with pop/juice/water with reasonable prices
- there's a TV in every room (which shouldn't matter because you're in Montreal to see the city!)
- there's a common eating area, with a fridge

Here's some things that would have made our stay Excellent, instead of Just Average:
- there's NO overnight parking, we had to park 1 block away and it was $20 to leave our car there overnight (they raised the price for the jazz festival)
- our room was by the elevators, and the doors are very thin so we could hear everytime someone called the elevator or got ice from the ice machine. Didn't make for a great sleep, but I used earplugs the next night, and it was fine.
- our shower was a hand-held nozzle, which was fine, except the hook holding it to the wall was broken so it was hung on the wall using a hair elastic, which is fine, except the nozzle didn't face the middle of the shower.

All in all, I would say this hotel is a great place for students, families, single travellers, and anyone on a budget - it's a great price compared to hostels, hotels and bed and breakfasts in Montreal. It's location is great, right near the metro, and St. Cathrines. I wouldn't reccommend this place if you are expecting the same service as a Fairmont Hotel or anything fancy.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lil_starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Me, my bf and two girl friends went up for New Year's weekend. We wanted a place

1. cheap

2. clean

3. great location

4. safe

This place has it. BETTER THAN A HOTEL. we would have been charged up the --- at a hotel, this place was great. We got one room with own bathroom for 75 a night, can't beat it. The other room for the two girls had three beds but they only paid 60 a night, had a shared bathroom shower like a college dorm, but every place was clean. Staff was nice. It is literally right in the best location for the bars on Crescent (St Laurent is too stuck up and French anyway). Went to Thursdays for New Years because they only charged 20 for a ticket and we had a great time..and wide range of ages which was fine for us. We are all 20-22.

close to everything and exactly what you want in a tourist city...

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

We stayed at the YWCA hotel between September 8 thru 11, 2005.
The hotel was centrally located. (Rene Levesque, the section
where the hotel is, is in a business district with office buildings)
The hotel is only two blocks away from the train station,
and metro; Lucien L'allier is also just two minutes walk
across the street.

You can walk to Old Montreal and China town within 15 to
20 minutes and St. Catherine- the heart of Montreal is
just around the corner. Bell Centre, also just minutes away
if you walk.

It is a safe location if you are female travelling alone.

We stayed in a room with private bath and the room was cleaned
and spacious than expected. However, if you are a light sleeper,
I suggest you pick a room facing the side street, since the
main street; Rene Levesque can be very noise even in the middle
of the night. However, the hotel itself was pretty quiet. We
hardly could hear noise from our next door neighbour.

During our stay, I noticed that the site right next to the hotel was
vacant on the side street and construstion can be started any time.
I suggest you ask the receptionist if you are concern about
the noise and the dust.

The hotel does not have shampoo and hair dryer equipped
in the hotel room, you must ask the receptionist when you
check in. There is also laundry and other facilities in the
hotel, ask the receptionist if you require.

We will definitely choose the YWCA again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sltcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
boston, ma
Reviewed July 20, 2005

We stayed at the Montreal YWCA for two nights. The YWCA is centrally located on the corner of Rene Levesque and Crescent. Only the 6th and 7th floor are rented as hotel rooms, rest of the building is a normal YWCA facility. I agree with what the other reviewer said - reserve judgment until you see your the room because the elevator is pretty small and dingy. However, our room was quite big, especially for a buget place to stay. There was a double bed (slightly lumpy but okay and neither of us had back probs the next morning), a desk/chair and even a couch, albeit worn out. We were surprised to find a small tv w/ remote in the room since there was no mention of it in the ywca hotel website. Our room had air conditioning, which we utilized since it was in the upper 80s during our visit. Our room had a private bath, which was off to the side of the bed behind a slide door.

Our room was much nicer/bigger than either of us expected, at a rate of $85 CAD (ended up around $101 CAD after taxes - so about $80 USD or so per night.) -- a very good deal. It was a no frills place, but clean, spacious and conveniently located in downtown. Best thing about the place was the location - a block away is Cresent and St. Catherine and there's plenty of shops and nightlife in the area. Ville Montreal is within walking distance. The closest Metro stop is Lucien L'allier Metro, on the orange line, about a block away.

The reception people were nice and helpful. If you're out past midnight, you have to press a buzzer and they have to buzz you in (for security reasons) but that was not a big deal.

You don't have to be a female to stay at the YWCA hotel. I went with my bf. Parking - there are many daily parking lots in the area. They recommend the one on Crescent Street and we ended up parking our car there for two nights. It was $15 for overnight parking, out by noon the next day. There were also meter parking available but most were only 2 hour parking. There's an ATM machine in the building across the Y, as well as some banks and ATMS available on Rue Cresecent. I got cash from the Esso gas station about a block away. (It didn't charge me a service fee so there's a chance that Montreal banks don't charge you for withdrawing from ATM)

There is a Montreal YWCA but it's very basic and doesn't tell you much information aside from the very basics and the price

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay at the YWCA and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2004

We decided to stay at the Montreal Y Hotel during the Montreal Molson Indy and were pleased with our experience.

While the lobby and elevator lack in cleanliness and could use a little up-grading, the actual hotel room we had on the 7th floor (with private bath - make sure you ask for this as there are cheaper rooms available that have a common bathroom) was excellent. Very clean, modern and spacious - better than some of the bigger name chain hotels we've recently stayed in. We were impressed.

One disappointment would be the pool. Though it is not advertised in most hotel listings, the pool is accessible to females only as part of the YWCA. We did not see the pool, but my husband and I would have very much liked to have had the option to use it.

This hotel is in a great central location on the corner of Rene Levesque and Crescent and is close (within walking distance) to many attractions, tourist areas and the underground.

Though this hotel doesn't have its own parking, there is ample parking in the vacinity, including a public underground parking area for a reasonable rate.

If you're looking for a good no-frills, great rate place to lay your head this is the ticket.

We'd definately consider staying here again if our travels took us back to Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#70 of 166 in Montreal
596 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#58 of 166 in Montreal
711 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#61 of 166 in Montreal
287 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 166 in Montreal
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Y Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Y Montreal

Address: 1355, Rene-Levesque Blvd. West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $61 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just the two of you or with family and friends, the Montreal Y Hotel offers comfortable rooms accommodating 1 to 4 people. Situated on the 7th floor, our hotel's 30 rooms provide an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of downtown, just steps from the museum district, Bell Centre, shops, Sainte-Catherine and Crescent streets, restaurants and other tourist attractions. What's more, by staying with us, you'll be helping to build a better future for women and girls living in the Greater Montreal area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Y Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Ywca
Ywca Montreal
Ywca Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing