We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Y Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Y Montreal
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Th hotel is located in down town montreal . Rooms are small , but clean . Hotel service is great . One surprise I had when I got there , ( shared bathroom ) but for the price I paid for down town location , it was worth it .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
47
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

3 of our family stayed one night at the "Y" and found it to be a fine place to sleep. It is centrally located, our room was spacious and clean while plain and the 3 single beds were comfortable. There was a sink and fridge in the room, but a shared bathroom and shower facilities were in the hallway. We did not find this to be a problem. Towels were provided and there was a 20 inch tube TV in the room. There was a kitchen and dining area on our floor that anyone may use, as well as a lounge room and vending machines. WiFi was provided free of charge. Curb parking in front is limited, but there are nearby public parking lots where you can leave your car for $20 per night. All in all it was perfect for our needs on this trip to Montreal and the low cost was attractive and far below anything else in the area. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleoldmeHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

If one spends little time in the hotel and would rather spend $ on great meals and attractions, this is definitely the place to stay: low prices, even a single room price, very clean, private bathroom, convenient location, coffee shop for breakfast downstairs. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

i stayd at this hotel for 1 night and it was great, clean and very central hotel. i was satisfied with what i had paid. definitely recomend this hotel. it is 3min walking distance from sainte catherine (principal shopping road)
no bed bugds!! it was very clean

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose the Montreal Y Hotel with some nervousness, having never stayed in a hostel type hotel before. We stayed when the F1 was in town and prices across Montreal were inflated. The Y Hotel however offered a reasonable rate. The room was fine, slightly smaller than what you come to expect in Canada, but clean with all of the in room facilities you would expect; TV, fridge, air con, iron and ironing board. The location was perfect, the airport shuttle bus stop and Metro station are both only a block away. When we return to Montreal for the next Grand Prix we will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank UKF1Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was a excellent value for money in such a large and generally expensive city. For not much more than what I would have paid to stay in a hostel I had a private room with a single bed, desk, bar fridge and wardrobe. I chose to pay a little less and use shared bathroom facilities. The location was perfect for exploring Old Montreal, Mont Royal, Atwater market, the museum/gallery district, etc. I found these areas were all within what I would call easy-moderate walking distance (20-40mins). The hotel was neat, tidy and orderly with washing and self catering facilities available to those that wished to use them. The first weekend I spent there was Canadian Thanksgiving and the hotel quite heavily booked, reception desk staff were pleasant and efficient at all times. I would definitely recommend this for travelers who are on budget and still would like to be in the thick of things without the inherent inconveniences of hostels and the like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilCCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at a room without private washroom. I was a bit worried with shared washrooms. They turned out to be very clean and quite empty most of the time. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave up a new room upon our request. The location was good. We didn't have to drive. However, finding parking was a headache and expensive.
Consider the price, I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers who use hotel as a place to sleep only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#72 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Y Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Y Montreal

Property: Hotel Y Montreal
Address: 1355, Rene-Levesque Blvd. West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just the two of you or with family and friends, the Montreal Y Hotel offers comfortable rooms accommodating 1 to 4 people. Situated on the 7th floor, our hotel's 30 rooms provide an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of downtown, just steps from the museum district, Bell Centre, shops, Sainte-Catherine and Crescent streets, restaurants and other tourist attractions. What's more, by staying with us, you'll be helping to build a better future for women and girls living in the Greater Montreal area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Y Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Ywca
Ywca Montreal
Ywca Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing