We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #76 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a last minute decision I decided to take the family out for Easter Brunch. We reserved for the second seating with a chap named Sam who was extremely accommodating as I had seniors in our party. When we arrived we could not believe the traffic coming and going and were worried we would have to wait. Sam was at the entrance and went out of his way to get us our table within 10 minutes. The Buffet was exceptional for $29.95 all you can eat! It compared to any Easter brunch I have seen advertised in the area priced at $45.00 per person. I would highly recommend this restaurant be sure to ask for Sam.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flyer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 495 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The service was average level, some things good, such as free parking (that can make you save much money), subway and shops very close, good wifi and also some attractions ( botanical garden and bio dome); others, as the dirty pool, the malfunctioning sauna and no dressing room disprove the fancy appearance of the hotel. We didn't try breakfast so I cannot tell about that. Personnel very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarasary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Excellent Hotel. we were in the newly renovated section 5th floor. very nice rooms. Very clean property overall. Nice friendly check-in staff. Food at "Le Toit Rouge" restaurant was excellent. Nice bar with very friendly staff for an enjoyable relaxing evening. We were very well served by the maître D's. Close proximity to many great restaurants (Madison's New York steak walking distance 4 minutes) . Lots of free parking. Easy access to nearby freeways. next door to the Olympic Stadium.

Thx for a great stay...we shall return for sure. Recommended.

Room Tip: newly renovated section 5th floor is really worth it for a few extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Alcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Would come back back need renovations great location the restaurant was great good food the renovated rooms where great and hotel staff was good I would recommend this hotel to freinds and familly free parking is a plus near metro station and nice attractions around the hotel for family's also had 15 banquet halls available for meetings and weddings.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123aqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A very pleasant stay! This venue worked out very well for our family's visit to Montreal. They accommodated our needs with a smile and facilitated for us at every opportunity since we were travelling as a family group with an active toddler. We booked a package which included the Biodome and Insectarium, parking is free and a shuttle runs to the activities in the package. Although the dining room was under renovation, the evening meal was terrific and in the morning, we were able to bring our breakfast up to our room on a cart, so that we could watch the Gold medal hockey game on our TV. The staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My fiance and I had a wonderful time at hotel Universel. The hotel staff were simply magnificent, super knowledgeable and very friendly. They gave us great advice on where to go. The hotel room was very nice and clean. The restaurant/bar was very chic. Over all i'd recommend this hotel to everyone. We can't wait to go back this summer!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordan2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we went down for 2 nights for the Scotties, curling tournament. Forget the restaurant. We could not get lunch because there was only one server and she was busy, after half an hour no sign of her,we left to go to the game. Came back at 5:15 for a place for dinner. We got dinner at 6pm, our friends never got their dinners.( but they did not forget to charge us $8.00 for their 2 small cokes.)..We could not believe it. No excuse, no explanation. We left at 6:30 pm for the next game. It was like they could not handle a big group. Food was very expansive for what you get. Chicken sandwich for 2 $18.00 with frozen style fries, no cole slaw, no pickles, As for breakfast, we drove somewhere else...
The experience was bad enough I do not wish to go back.
Location was good for the arena where we were going. Not in a tourist location. No restaurant within walking distance.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normie243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#98 of 165 in Montreal
213 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#47 of 165 in Montreal
431 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#53 of 165 in Montreal
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#23 of 165 in Montreal
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $95 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing