We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Universel Montreal
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$362
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$258
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
78
196
151
53
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
196
151
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic stadiumbotanical gardensbio domele toitfree shuttlerecommend this hotelmetro stationsliding doorshuttle servicewalking distancestay there againhotel is greathotel restaurantthe room was niceconvenient locationbiodomeplanetarium
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 506 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

spent one night late august 2012. no complaints. had the uppergrade room which has recently been redone. very modern and stylish but not much counterspace in the bathroo a bus stops nearby, and there is a subway station 1/2 to 1 mile away.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Mr. Ken Y,
Thanks for the comments that you made and we are that we were able to satisfy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was an awesome stay-we would stay here again when we come back to Montreal.
It's centrally located-we drove our car but a couple of times we used the hotel shuttle to the subway (to get to La Ronde) and they also shuttled us back and forth to Biodome. They drivers were friendly and prompt.
We had a prestige room which was perfect for the 3 of us (2 adults, 1 child). The room was modern, clean, bright. The washroom was very clean and modern too.
We got a mini fridge and microwave in our room too which was a bonus for drinks and food.
Free parking and free Wifi-really great bonuses!!
Parking at a downtown hotel ranged from $20+/night.
The front desk staff (thanx to Perry) was very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was great!
This hotel was located in a safe & central area. Definitely recommend this hotel to all!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

IRK123
I would like to thank you for the comments that you posted on your stay with us. We are glad that we made your stay perfect and our objective is to make many others as you just as happy.We will also forward the comments to the front desk clerk whom was able to help .
Once again thanks for the comments.

Regards
Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked our room for one night 8/31and asked specifically for the renovated room, we were given a confirmation number and assured all was fine. When we checked in, we were told that "no your room hasn't been paid for, and we need to charge your card and a $150 for non-smoking, if there is no smoking in the room, you will get the deposit back" We agreed and they charged us the double amount. When we got to our room on the 7th floor, it was not one of the renovated rooms, but we were tired and decided to just keep it. It did appear to have the new linens described in the reviews here. However, the carpet was matted down and visibly stained, the area up hear the air conditioner, had black mold around it, as if there had been a leak at some time and repaired. The shower liner was also visibly moldy. I double checked the linens as I feared they weren't clean either, but they seemed fine. Towels were not the fluffy, soft variety you usually see in a 3 star hotel, but again, were clean. Since we were basically just there to sleep and shower, and only one night it was fine. The restaurant offered a very good breakfast with attentive service for a reasonable cost. The front desk staff were not very helpful, and the hotel didn't provide a map of the city for us to use. On Saturday, we were able to purchase a map in their gift shop. We did utilize the free shuttle over to the Biodome and the driver was quick, polite and very informative. The problem we are still having a week later is that we were charged when we booked the room, charged again at check in with the $150 deposit and have only been refunded the deposit. I called last weekend upon arriving home and was told accounting wasn't in, they would check the records and refund us on Tuesday, because Monday was a Holiday for them as well. We called again today, (9/9) and were told the same thing, so we are still out the double room charge at this point. We would stay there again, IF they eventually refund our double payment and we were given the newer room we actually reserved.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms and make sure you get one!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Allen S
I am sorry to here that what you reserved is not what you rreceived, but after verifiaction the rate that you were offered was for this room on the 7th floor as for the carpet unfortunately it is the color and quality that make it seem dirty but it is not and I totally understand that you would think so because others before you have made the same comment. As for the rest of your comments in reference to towels I am sorry that they did not meet your standard and as for the shower curtain I am sorry about this. I am glad to hear that we were able to serve you well in the restaurant and the shuttle. As for no one getting back to you unfortunately on weekends our accounting department is closed and as well as holidays. The amount that you are claiming is not in reference to the non smoking policy but rather that you had 2 reservations for different dates and the refund has been applied and you should see it in your next statement. I hope that is satisfactory and I am sorry for the inconvenience we hope to see you back in the mere future.


Regards,

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel that i found a very nice place at the rate that is not easily available anywhere in Montreal. I had read bad reviews about the older rooms and floor at this hotel so made sure that i get the renovated room which i did. Renovated rooms are really nice, especially the bathroom.
Two minor suggestions to the management - 1. add higher power light bulbs. some people like brighter rooms 2. towels should be replaced, they look misfit in that bathroom and room. Bring in new good quality towels.
There was some confusion regarding the package deal that i got deprived of by the front desk clerk. but no big deal.

Finally kudos to the restaurant and the owner for providing good food, drinks and taking care of me even after the kitchen was closed.

P.S. looking for the lady from QC, i met and talked for 3 hours on the deck of the restaurant on Saturday (8/25/12) night. we were so engrossed in conversation, forgot to take her name and contact info. drop a line at manoj9532@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Select the renoveated rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Manoj T
Thanks for the review and we look into the suggestions that you made.


Regards,

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Remember that this is a 3-star hotel and you'll be happy. At $108 per night you can't expect the Ritz.

The location is very convenient as it's right next to the Olympic Stadium. The parking was free. The room was clean. Kids loved the swimming pool. (At the time we were there, the indoor pool was closed but the outdoor pool was open.) Close to subway (metro).

The free Wifi was not working but after a call to the technical support it started working again.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

eproux,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the positive comments, I will pass them on to the rest of my staff .

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews