We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fairly near public transportation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #76 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fairly near public transportation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

spent one night late august 2012. no complaints. had the uppergrade room which has recently been redone. very modern and stylish but not much counterspace in the bathroo a bus stops nearby, and there is a subway station 1/2 to 1 mile away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Mr. Ken Y,
Thanks for the comments that you made and we are that we were able to satisfy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    161
    136
    48
    26
See reviews for
158
125
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was an awesome stay-we would stay here again when we come back to Montreal.
It's centrally located-we drove our car but a couple of times we used the hotel shuttle to the subway (to get to La Ronde) and they also shuttled us back and forth to Biodome. They drivers were friendly and prompt.
We had a prestige room which was perfect for the 3 of us (2 adults, 1 child). The room was modern, clean, bright. The washroom was very clean and modern too.
We got a mini fridge and microwave in our room too which was a bonus for drinks and food.
Free parking and free Wifi-really great bonuses!!
Parking at a downtown hotel ranged from $20+/night.
The front desk staff (thanx to Perry) was very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was great!
This hotel was located in a safe & central area. Definitely recommend this hotel to all!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
IRK123
I would like to thank you for the comments that you posted on your stay with us. We are glad that we made your stay perfect and our objective is to make many others as you just as happy.We will also forward the comments to the front desk clerk whom was able to help .
Once again thanks for the comments.

Regards
Carlo Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked our room for one night 8/31and asked specifically for the renovated room, we were given a confirmation number and assured all was fine. When we checked in, we were told that "no your room hasn't been paid for, and we need to charge your card and a $150 for non-smoking, if there is no smoking in the room, you will get the deposit back" We agreed and they charged us the double amount. When we got to our room on the 7th floor, it was not one of the renovated rooms, but we were tired and decided to just keep it. It did appear to have the new linens described in the reviews here. However, the carpet was matted down and visibly stained, the area up hear the air conditioner, had black mold around it, as if there had been a leak at some time and repaired. The shower liner was also visibly moldy. I double checked the linens as I feared they weren't clean either, but they seemed fine. Towels were not the fluffy, soft variety you usually see in a 3 star hotel, but again, were clean. Since we were basically just there to sleep and shower, and only one night it was fine. The restaurant offered a very good breakfast with attentive service for a reasonable cost. The front desk staff were not very helpful, and the hotel didn't provide a map of the city for us to use. On Saturday, we were able to purchase a map in their gift shop. We did utilize the free shuttle over to the Biodome and the driver was quick, polite and very informative. The problem we are still having a week later is that we were charged when we booked the room, charged again at check in with the $150 deposit and have only been refunded the deposit. I called last weekend upon arriving home and was told accounting wasn't in, they would check the records and refund us on Tuesday, because Monday was a Holiday for them as well. We called again today, (9/9) and were told the same thing, so we are still out the double room charge at this point. We would stay there again, IF they eventually refund our double payment and we were given the newer room we actually reserved.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms and make sure you get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Allen S
I am sorry to here that what you reserved is not what you rreceived, but after verifiaction the rate that you were offered was for this room on the 7th floor as for the carpet unfortunately it is the color and quality that make it seem dirty but it is not and I totally understand that you would think so because others before you have made the same comment. As for the rest of your comments in reference to towels I am sorry that they did not meet your standard and as for the shower curtain I am sorry about this. I am glad to hear that we were able to serve you well in the restaurant and the shuttle. As for no one getting back to you unfortunately on weekends our accounting department is closed and as well as holidays. The amount that you are claiming is not in reference to the non smoking policy but rather that you had 2 reservations for different dates and the refund has been applied and you should see it in your next statement. I hope that is satisfactory and I am sorry for the inconvenience we hope to see you back in the mere future.


Regards,

Carlo Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel that i found a very nice place at the rate that is not easily available anywhere in Montreal. I had read bad reviews about the older rooms and floor at this hotel so made sure that i get the renovated room which i did. Renovated rooms are really nice, especially the bathroom.
Two minor suggestions to the management - 1. add higher power light bulbs. some people like brighter rooms 2. towels should be replaced, they look misfit in that bathroom and room. Bring in new good quality towels.
There was some confusion regarding the package deal that i got deprived of by the front desk clerk. but no big deal.

Finally kudos to the restaurant and the owner for providing good food, drinks and taking care of me even after the kitchen was closed.

P.S. looking for the lady from QC, i met and talked for 3 hours on the deck of the restaurant on Saturday (8/25/12) night. we were so engrossed in conversation, forgot to take her name and contact info. drop a line at manoj9532@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Select the renoveated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manoj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Manoj T
Thanks for the review and we look into the suggestions that you made.


Regards,

Carlo Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Remember that this is a 3-star hotel and you'll be happy. At $108 per night you can't expect the Ritz.

The location is very convenient as it's right next to the Olympic Stadium. The parking was free. The room was clean. Kids loved the swimming pool. (At the time we were there, the indoor pool was closed but the outdoor pool was open.) Close to subway (metro).

The free Wifi was not working but after a call to the technical support it started working again.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
eproux,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the positive comments, I will pass them on to the rest of my staff .

Carlo Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just spent one night at the Hotel Universel on Sherbrooke, (we were there for the soccer game) very convenient to Saputo stadium, it's right accross the street! We booked on line at a good rate, we were on the 6 th floor in a recently renovated room, king size bed, flat screen tv on wall, modern bathroom fixtures, nicely done. The room had everything you needed. My only negative comment would be that they only have 1 elevator and 7 floors and 200 rooms, so you wait a little longer. In general the hotel staff were helpful and polite.
Location is a ways from downtown, but manageable by Metro close by.
Overall good experience.

Room Tip: If you have walking restrictions, get a room near the elevator, because they have long corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindowSeat33A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
WindowSeatat33a
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for the comments made on our renovated room and the staff, I will make sure that the rest of the staff gets to hear about your comments.


Regards

Carlo Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Right across the street from Saputo Stadium and convenient to the Metro as well. The hotel also offers shuttle service to local attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. The trip was basically a weekend visit to Montreal to see the Phila. Union play at Saputo Stadium so the location was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
shipm0m

I am glad that you found our hotel convenient to the locations you needed to go and thank you for the comments you made.


Regards,
Carlo Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#96 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#57 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#30 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
#92 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Property: Hotel Universel Montreal
Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing