We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Ranked #75 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was an awesome stay-we would stay here again when we come back to Montreal.
It's centrally located-we drove our car but a couple of times we used the hotel shuttle to the subway (to get to La Ronde) and they also shuttled us back and forth to Biodome. They drivers were friendly and prompt.
We had a prestige room which was perfect for the 3 of us (2 adults, 1 child). The room was modern, clean, bright. The washroom was very clean and modern too.
We got a mini fridge and microwave in our room too which was a bonus for drinks and food.
Free parking and free Wifi-really great bonuses!!
Parking at a downtown hotel ranged from $20+/night.
The front desk staff (thanx to Perry) was very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was great!
This hotel was located in a safe & central area. Definitely recommend this hotel to all!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

IRK123
I would like to thank you for the comments that you posted on your stay with us. We are glad that we made your stay perfect and our objective is to make many others as you just as happy.We will also forward the comments to the front desk clerk whom was able to help .
Once again thanks for the comments.

Regards
Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 486 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked our room for one night 8/31and asked specifically for the renovated room, we were given a confirmation number and assured all was fine. When we checked in, we were told that "no your room hasn't been paid for, and we need to charge your card and a $150 for non-smoking, if there is no smoking in the room, you will get the deposit back" We agreed and they charged us the double amount. When we got to our room on the 7th floor, it was not one of the renovated rooms, but we were tired and decided to just keep it. It did appear to have the new linens described in the reviews here. However, the carpet was matted down and visibly stained, the area up hear the air conditioner, had black mold around it, as if there had been a leak at some time and repaired. The shower liner was also visibly moldy. I double checked the linens as I feared they weren't clean either, but they seemed fine. Towels were not the fluffy, soft variety you usually see in a 3 star hotel, but again, were clean. Since we were basically just there to sleep and shower, and only one night it was fine. The restaurant offered a very good breakfast with attentive service for a reasonable cost. The front desk staff were not very helpful, and the hotel didn't provide a map of the city for us to use. On Saturday, we were able to purchase a map in their gift shop. We did utilize the free shuttle over to the Biodome and the driver was quick, polite and very informative. The problem we are still having a week later is that we were charged when we booked the room, charged again at check in with the $150 deposit and have only been refunded the deposit. I called last weekend upon arriving home and was told accounting wasn't in, they would check the records and refund us on Tuesday, because Monday was a Holiday for them as well. We called again today, (9/9) and were told the same thing, so we are still out the double room charge at this point. We would stay there again, IF they eventually refund our double payment and we were given the newer room we actually reserved.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms and make sure you get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Allen S
I am sorry to here that what you reserved is not what you rreceived, but after verifiaction the rate that you were offered was for this room on the 7th floor as for the carpet unfortunately it is the color and quality that make it seem dirty but it is not and I totally understand that you would think so because others before you have made the same comment. As for the rest of your comments in reference to towels I am sorry that they did not meet your standard and as for the shower curtain I am sorry about this. I am glad to hear that we were able to serve you well in the restaurant and the shuttle. As for no one getting back to you unfortunately on weekends our accounting department is closed and as well as holidays. The amount that you are claiming is not in reference to the non smoking policy but rather that you had 2 reservations for different dates and the refund has been applied and you should see it in your next statement. I hope that is satisfactory and I am sorry for the inconvenience we hope to see you back in the mere future.


Regards,

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel that i found a very nice place at the rate that is not easily available anywhere in Montreal. I had read bad reviews about the older rooms and floor at this hotel so made sure that i get the renovated room which i did. Renovated rooms are really nice, especially the bathroom.
Two minor suggestions to the management - 1. add higher power light bulbs. some people like brighter rooms 2. towels should be replaced, they look misfit in that bathroom and room. Bring in new good quality towels.
There was some confusion regarding the package deal that i got deprived of by the front desk clerk. but no big deal.

Finally kudos to the restaurant and the owner for providing good food, drinks and taking care of me even after the kitchen was closed.

P.S. looking for the lady from QC, i met and talked for 3 hours on the deck of the restaurant on Saturday (8/25/12) night. we were so engrossed in conversation, forgot to take her name and contact info. drop a line at manoj9532@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Select the renoveated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Manoj T
Thanks for the review and we look into the suggestions that you made.


Regards,

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Remember that this is a 3-star hotel and you'll be happy. At $108 per night you can't expect the Ritz.

The location is very convenient as it's right next to the Olympic Stadium. The parking was free. The room was clean. Kids loved the swimming pool. (At the time we were there, the indoor pool was closed but the outdoor pool was open.) Close to subway (metro).

The free Wifi was not working but after a call to the technical support it started working again.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

eproux,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the positive comments, I will pass them on to the rest of my staff .

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just spent one night at the Hotel Universel on Sherbrooke, (we were there for the soccer game) very convenient to Saputo stadium, it's right accross the street! We booked on line at a good rate, we were on the 6 th floor in a recently renovated room, king size bed, flat screen tv on wall, modern bathroom fixtures, nicely done. The room had everything you needed. My only negative comment would be that they only have 1 elevator and 7 floors and 200 rooms, so you wait a little longer. In general the hotel staff were helpful and polite.
Location is a ways from downtown, but manageable by Metro close by.
Overall good experience.

Room Tip: If you have walking restrictions, get a room near the elevator, because they have long corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindowSeat33A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

WindowSeatat33a
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for the comments made on our renovated room and the staff, I will make sure that the rest of the staff gets to hear about your comments.


Regards

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Right across the street from Saputo Stadium and convenient to the Metro as well. The hotel also offers shuttle service to local attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. The trip was basically a weekend visit to Montreal to see the Phila. Union play at Saputo Stadium so the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

shipm0m

I am glad that you found our hotel convenient to the locations you needed to go and thank you for the comments you made.


Regards,
Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is close (walking distance) to the Biodome, Olympic Park, Insectarium and Botanical Gardens. Family friendly restaurants are also within walking distance (Scores and Madison Bar and Eatery). The restaurant at the hotel is also good and reasonably priced. We ate there for a dinner and a breakfast and were very pleased with the service and the food. My kids loved the outdoor pool. We had a standard room but we upgraded because it was just not a nice room (dark, arcrylic bedspreads, hard beds, scratchy blankets) and we were going to be there for three nights. See pics on their website. Our upgraded room was on the seventh floor. It had beautiful white duvets, sheets and pillows. The beds were way more comfy. It was still a small room with older furniture but it was nicer. The bathroom was clean but had no fan so everything would get kind of slippery after a shower. The carpet needed to be replaced and I found a pill (not mine) on the floor. We have a baby who is just starting to crawl so this was a concern. We requested more towels and more were brought up within 15 minutes. The front desk staff were also very helpful and friendly. We had a good stay at the Hotel Universel and a great trip to Montreal. We had a good deal on the rooms even with the upgrade so I wasn't to displeased with it's shortcomings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obererfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo085, General Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Oberefamily,
I have taken note of the comments of your stay with us and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced and we will defently correct ourselves in ensuring that it does not happen again .

Regards,

Carlo Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#96 of 165 in Montreal
209 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#55 of 165 in Montreal
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#67 of 165 in Montreal
918 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 165 in Montreal
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Montreal

Address: 5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $112 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Universel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Universel Montreal, rated 3 diamonds (AAA/CAA) located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Universel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Universel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing