We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in an amazing location!”
Review of Loews Hotel Vogue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Hotel Vogue
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in an amazing location!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Loews Hotel Vogue for 5 nights and don't regret chosing this hotel one bit. At check-in we were able to get in right away even though we were early. The staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful. If we called to get anything delivered to room (Iike coffee etc.) it arrived promptly. We ordered room service once - the food was decent and arrived quickly and was still warm. My boyfriend has his shoes polished & shined before the wedding we were attending and the turnaround was impressive, about 15 minutes! The service was complimentary as well (but we tipped of course).

The minibar was stocked and prices were in the usual hotel range, but not as expensive as say the W (which we also stayed at for one night on our Montreal trip). I was glad we left the W and moved here for the rest of the trip. It's a far better location and much larger/brighter rooms.

The rooms had been recently renovated and the decor was nice - clean and classic. Although it seems that they did cut corners in some areas, the fictures & hardware still looked old and dated - the shower had the same showerhead and knob as it probably did 15 years ago, and the shower was super small and had a space at the bottom of the door where water leaked out onto the floor. The showerhead was not able to be angled away from the door and the stall was so small that unfortunately there was really nothing to be done about it. And the closet doors didn't line up to close smoothly, and had obviously just been repainted with an odd matte paint.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom iteself was very large and has a TV in it, which would appeal to male guests I'm sure!

The hotel was still doing renovations on the outside of the building, so this got a bit noisy in the morning. They did call our room to apologize for this inconvenience and gave us advance notice this would be going on. We got a decent rate however; I'm not sure if that's why. Other than the construction outside, we weren't bothered by any city/street noise. The construction impeded the sidewalk outside and the front entrance, but not in a way that bothered or inconvenienced us at all.

Don't expect a view from this hotel. We were on the 8th floor over looking the main street and you basically look into the Ogilvy. But we didn't mind, we spent little time in the room, as we were busy exploring Montreal.

The location of this hotel can't be beat! You're in the middle of downtown, half a block to St Catherines and right across from the Ogilvy. It's one block away from Crescent Street, and a short cab ride to Old Port (you can walk there if the weather is nice and you're up for it, I think it's approx. 15-20 min). There are tons of restuarants within walking distance, and the shopping is great.

The one thing that actually bothered my the most was the hotels apparent lack of environmental responsibility. They had no recycling in the rooms. It pained me to throw out paper and plastic/cans from the minibar. This was something I noticed throughout Montreal. They don't seem to be the "greenest" city I've visited. It's a shame that this isn't seen as important.

The best thing about this hotel would have to be the location. It was great stepping out the front door and being minutes/seconds to anything you wanted.

The negative was the construction. It was annoying & bit of an inconvenience a couple of mornings. But it wouldn't prevent us from going back and we didn't complain to the hotel about it (not that they could do anything about it anyways, I imagine they're not going to stop construction for us or change their schedule). And lack of "green initiatives" like recycling, water conservation etc.

We ate at several restaurants while in Montreal which I've reviews separately, but I would highly recommend eating at Joe Beef. It was the gastronimical highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbean_Zingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Caribbean_Zingara,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, recognizing our courteous and helpful staff, as well as mentioning our prime location (which I agree cannot be beat!)

I'm delighted to read you were able to check-in early, received great service and that your requests were always met promptly, as this is definitely our priority.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience from our renovations and thank you for your understanding. Please note final touches are still on the way for the rooms and bathrooms. We cannot wait to have you back to experience the great outcome of it and have a taste of our new French Bistro's menu.

Warmly,

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    297
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
261
574
76
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Loved Loews Hotel Vogue. When we got there, the front entrance was under renovations so it wasn't appealing but that's only temporary. Once we were inside, the front desk person was friendly and helpful and we got into our room quickly. We were tired after the long drive. Our room was quiet and away from the main street that the hotel is on. The contemporary mixed with vintage decor makes for a romantic room. The bathroom was massive. The bed was very comfortable to sleep on and I really have no complaints about our experience at Loews. If you want an intimate but cool vibe, you need to stay here. We didn't dine here, have room service or use the amenities so I can't review those things.

Room Tip: We stayed in 716 and it was away from the main street and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkpowerofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Bonjour Pkpowerofone,

Thank you for your kind words! I'm delighted to read you've experienced the high quality of service we continuously strive to provide and that you enjoyed a quiet stay in our intimate and cool boutique hotel (which I think describes it well!)

We hope to host you again in the near future,

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband & I booked this hotel based on a recommendation of a friend and positive reviews. While we enjoyed our weekend & agree with other reviewers on some positive notes; we we left feeling disappointed in some ways. We had called to ensure that we were staying in a renovated room as we had heard that renovations were underway. On the phone the staff member acted surprised & stated that all the rooms had been renovated. There was no mention of the entire front of the building being a complete mess & having to walk through a plywood tunnel that was dripping all over us from the rain. The heat in our room would not go below 75F. We called the front desk & were told to open a window. We explained that solution would not work due to the noise level from the street. We were told that due to the renovations the heating system was not working and everyone was complaining that the rooms were too warm. We found this irritating on top of the charge for wifi in the rooms & spotty connection in the lobby. While we did not watch a lot of tv, my husband would have appreciated a better selection of channels to choose from while I was getting ready. I agree with other reviewers that the location is great. The staff was friendly & helpful. Upon check out we were notified that one night of parking was waived due to the heat issue. This was nice, especially because parking at $35/night is too pricey. I thought the rooms were clean and well decorated. I enjoyed the the overall atmosphere of this boutique hotel, but will be looking at other options in the area for my next stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Bonjour Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for mentioning our friendly staff, great location, cleanliness and enjoyable atmosphere.

With our rooms renovation now completed, we are currently working on our façade and while we use all reasonable efforts to provide a quality environment for our travellers, I understand you disappointment and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. It is disconcerting to hear of the lack of assistance regarding heating and I would like to have the opportunity to discuss with you in further details. Please feel free to reach out to me directly.

I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to experience the great outcome of our renovations and the personalized service we are renowned for.

Warmly,

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived late at night and left early the next morning, but after driving all day it was great to be greeted by a wonderful staff. Appreciably, from arrival to room only took a few minutes. Free Wifi in the lobby. Very comfortable room and bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnlaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Bonjour Rnlaro,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words on our wonderful staff and comfortable rooms!

We hope to welcome you and your family again soon,

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Loews Hotel Vogue in September for the second time and found it just as great as the first time. Service is great and we were able to check in early and the location is perfect for getting around the city. The room itself is amazing and had recently been remodeled. Even though you are in the city you can't hear any noise. The minute you walk out the door there are great shops and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed a drink in the lobby bar and people were very friendly and gave us great tips. If we ever come back to Montreal we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stillcrazy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It is great to hear you chose to come back after a great experience and had another one just as good.

We are always delighted to accommodate with early check-in whenever possible and our team is certainly committed to making you feel welcomed and help you discover Montreal to its best.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Loews Vogue for two nights. The room was one of the nicest that we have ever stayed in. Every detail was perfect. Beautiful spacious room. The bathroom was huge with a big tub and a tv! There is a nice place to sit and put on your makeup and do your hair. This is a perfect location. Ogilivy's is right across the street! I went there for lunch and shopping while my husband had meetings. St Catherines street is just steps away. I enjoyed a nice breakfast in the bar area both mornings, so nice! Friendly staff. Our stay there was perfect! Other reviews have mentioned the street noise, I don't know what the hotel can do about that. When you stay in the heart of a city there is going to be street noise. Wear earplugs if you a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154974Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Bonjour Janet,

Thank you for sharing your experience! It is always very rewarding to read such nice comments about our amazing newly renovated rooms, perfect location and friendly staff. We are happy you enjoyed the make-up space in the room, breakfast in the bar and shopping across the street.

Hope business brings your husband back to Montreal soon, so we have the pleasure to welcome you both again!

Warmly,

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is unsurpassed; right amidst everything, close to the art museum, Mont Royale, shopping and restaurants, and maybe a 20-30 minute walk to old Montreal. The rooms are very spacious with a terrific jacuzzi tub and a TV by the tub! We made our reservations directly with the hotel and got $25 a day credit to use towards food (good but expensive breakfast) and drinks.
Parking and wi-fi are very expensive, but this seems to be the norm at nice hotels.
We had a few glitches in the service (asking for coffee pods and ice, on separate occasions, which were delivered hours later) but when we mentioned it at checkout they removed the charges for the wi-fi.
The hotel is undergoing renovations, and the noise starts at about 8 AM.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie L, General Manager at Loews Hotel Vogue, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour MayasI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm delighted you enjoyed our amazing location, spacious room with jacuzzi tub and that you were able to take advantage of a daily $25 food & beverage credit. You will always find the best deals by booking directly with us! I apologise for the inconvenience regarding coffee and Ice and am reassured reading our team took care of this before your departure.

We hope to host you again soon!

Nathalie Lalonde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,544 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,534 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hotel Vogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hotel Vogue

Property: Loews Hotel Vogue
Address: 1425 rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Hotel Vogue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loews Hotel Vogue is situated in the heart of Montreal's historic Golden Square Mile, making it the ideal pied-à-terre for discerning travelers seeking a true 5-star experience. Steps away from the financial district, luxury shopping, culinary pleasures and many more amenities to satisfy business travelers and fashionistas, the Vogue's elegant accommodations exude charming European flair. All guest rooms offer a spacious bathroom complete with jetted tub, separate glass shower and luxurious amenities. Recognized internationally for its impeccable and attentive service, the hotel features access to a 24-hour fitness room and an exquisite full-service bar. The signature restaurant, La Société Bistro, provides a vibrant and inviting atmosphere allowing the senses to be flooded with the sights, scents and flavours of which Parisian dreams are made of. Discover approachable luxury and upscale hospitality at its finest - welcome to Loews Hotel Vogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Hotel Vogue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel Montreal
Loews Montreal
Montreal Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing