We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressive”
Review of Le Saint Malo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Saint Malo
Ranked #151 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Caribbean
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not very impressive”
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Although the location is good, we were not very impressed with the rooms.
The lack of closet space, and the fact that the meagre breakfast needs to be taken up into the rooms, is quite clumsy.

If you do not hang up the sign "please make up room" the room remains unkept.

Due to airline problems, we were delayed and called, but were still charged for the rooms, although we strongly believe that the rooms were rented out for the night.

Staff is not familiar with the tourist attractions in the area.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — unbusinesslike attitude
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanExperienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    9
    11
    38
See reviews for
14
20
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I slept in my bed only 3 hours only to wake up with over a dozen burning itchy red welts all over my body - both our beds were infested with bedbugs. Even with all the lights on, they were crawling over the pillows, duvets, dust ruffle etc.... Although this is more modestly priced hotel in the McGill U area, no hotel should have bedbug infestation of this magnitude.

This is on top of moldy shower curtains, stained carpets, chair upholstery and facing a pigeon infested and droppings crudded balcony next door to boot.

Unacceptable at any cost.

  • Liked — After being covered with bedbug bite welts, Nothing.
  • Disliked — Bedbugs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Chicago , Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

One word summarizing about my experience: Bedbugs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedbugs and not very nice compensation from hotel--nor did they believe me at first!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This hotel is a great deal. A lot of people say this hotel wasn't good or such, but, honestly, for Montreal, the price is right. I booked a room from travelcuts.com and paid $65/night for two double beds, their premier room.

The room was quite small and the amenities were few, but I stayed in downtown Montreal for cheap in a rather modern and definitely clean hotel. I had to climb three flights of stairs to get to my room, but it was quiet, and every morning there were fresh croissants and juice/coffee for free. Also, I found a parking spot up the road for FREE. This is something that you'll never find in most downtown Canadian hotels--especially Montreal!

We were only a few minutes' walk from the Metro, so we easily hopped on there to get to Vieux Montreal and Le Plateau area.

This hotel is a definite must for those of you who want to explore the "real" area of the city and also the tourist areas and stay in a nice hotel at half the cost.

  • Liked — Location and free parking
  • Disliked — Rooms were a tad small, but that's normal in Montreal
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Suruien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2007

This is hotel is really good to a short stay as we did. The room was small, but comfortable and clean. A very important thing!!! The bathroom was brandnew and very clean too. The breakfast is not too much, believe me... But those days we eat everything they had. Good Choice, Good Price...

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StoDgo_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My ex-wife booked this hotel for two rooms as we gathered to help our son start university nearby. I arrived on a Friday. 1.) The phone in my room didn't work and the staff couldn't fix it or replace it, saying the phone company would come on Monday to fix this most basic of services. They were gracious enough to allow me to use their wireless phone if I walked down to the lobby to fetch and return it; 2.) I returned to the hotel on my first day to hear the front desk say "we couldn't clean your room because you locked the bathroom door from inside and we can't open it". In 4 decades of internat'l travel I've never locked myself out of a bathroom!*#! More interesting was that it took them about 5 hours to open the door despite the existence of a little hole in the knob designed to pop the lock; 3.) My room's front door comes with a deadbolt lock to lock out crims at night, but it didn't work, nor was there a chain. There was just one flimsy easy-to-pick door-handle type lock; 4.) I had to reset the digital clock at least once a day because the housekeeper kept unplugging it to make the bed. 5.) The staff doesn't speak English OR French very clearly .. but you can get by in Mandarin; 6.) poor sound-proofing between rooms; 7.) the complementary breakfasts are a joke .. the first morning there weren't any hot beverage cups even though the coffee was brewed. So this hotel is a BYO hotel re: bring your own door lock and lock pick, bring your own landline phone, bring your own complimentary breakfast, bring your own Chinese-English-French translator. They staff were very pleasant.

  • Liked — The staff was pleasant; cooperative
  • Disliked — Lot's of equipment malfunctions with no one capable enough to fix them.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2007. Rooms are extremely small but very clean, new looking and modern deco. Bathroom is very clean and also new looking. Free breakfast of croissants, muffins, orange juice provided so you can take your food up to your room and eat (no room to eat in the shoe box lobby area). Front desk staff seem to only speak either French or Chinese which proved a little difficult when I asked about internet cafes. But no big problem, I walked a couple of minutes and found an internet café down the road a little. Turn left out the door then first right there is a good noodle house. Also there is a supermarket and a pizza place immediately across the road from the hotel. We did the Grayline open top double decker bus tour around the city which was very nice. The hotel itself is in a good location, nice rooms but very small. If you are travelling light then you will find this a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Clean and nice looking
  • Disliked — Very small
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah2007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#89 of 164 in Montreal
115 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 164 in Montreal
180 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 164 in Montreal
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#72 of 164 in Montreal
257 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#138 of 164 in Montreal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Malo

Property: Le Saint Malo
Address: 1455 Rue Du Fort, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Saint Malo 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Saint Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Malo Montreal
Le Saint Malo Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing