We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD BAD BAD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residence Du Voyageur
Ranked #148 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BAD BAD BAD”
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel is very well located but is always full of TEENAGERS
BUS TOURS. My wife and I are over 50 years old and they put us in a room on a floor between one of those tour.We were the only ones out of the GANG.We COULD NOT SLEEP A SINGLE SECOND
that night due to the constant visit and door knock of our neighbors.
They visited each other all night and we are sure they were doing d..
I called the reception twice about the situation but without any results.We checked out early in the morning my wife being furious but the direction could not care less.NEVER NEVER AGAIN.
What an awful night.
Denysd2.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — NO PEACE
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denysd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    16
    11
    43
See reviews for
10
25
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I would say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and I am extremely fussy!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mikeadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This place was terrible. Not only were the rooms dark and musty smelling, they also had bed bugs in the bed and and bathroom. We saw at least 2 or 3 crawling across our pillows when we settled down to watch TV and in the few hours that we had been there, two of them had found their way into our bags. We had only been there for 2 hours and decided to leave promptly after that. Unfortunately, we could not get our deposit back and they were not even going to refund us the money we had put down for the second night, but we brought front desk attendant up to the room and showed the boy all the bugs.

Despite the fact we had to dish out another $100 for another room, we were very lucky that we did not bring a critter home with us.

I would highly recommend AVOIDING this place. It's definitely not worth staying here to save a couple of dollars.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — +++Bed bugs; rooms dark and musty; elevators old and small - not accessible
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ludavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Most of the time, reviews concern the room, amenities, etc. I'd like to give David the innkeeper kudos for being attentive to our needs...turned us on to some nice walking areas and even arranged for a car rental during Thanksgiving Weekend. The room was basic (we liked the openable door to get fresh air from outside) but clean, a block from Metro, and 20 minute walk from Vieux Montreal. Nice lounge for reading the paper and enjoying a croissant & coffee in the mornings. For under $90/day including tax, this is a good value and we'll be back.

  • Liked — Location, Value, Host
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 97707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone! The room was incredibly small, as soon as the worker had my money he was unbelieveably rude. In the hotel room there was a box of rotting egg salad sandwiches left on top of the air conditioner unit on the window. When the worker (owner?) was told about this, he became very rude and thought I was trying to scam him, until he came back to the room with me and saw I was telling the truth. HE DID NOT REMOVE THEM, instead he slammed the door shut and locked it. He told me he would give me another hotel room and refund my first night only. I advised him I would like a full refund and would find another hotel, he became angry and extermely rude and told me not to write a bad review of the hotel.

The hotel was a dump. Even the sign outside the front was broken! I truly do not recommend this hotel! There is a much better hotel and not expensive just up the street!

  • Liked — They gave me the refund
  • Disliked — The people that worked there, the room and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lmmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennywatcher
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Very cramped, double bed up against outer wall, accessible only from one side. Air Conditioner set in window at foot of bed, not properly sealed in window result an uncrontrollable cold blast of air over the bed all night through the gaps.
Toilet and shower in one unit so cramped that a slightly obese person could not possibly get in or manouvre around. Not soundproof, every move overhead audible.
We had just come from the Econolodge in Plattsburgh which was, by comparison, a paradise !
There must be better places than this in Montreal !
Couldn't take any photos for you, didn't have a close-up lens.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — icy blast through unsealed window
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

On a recent visit to Montreal...I picked this small boutique hotel especially for the rate...I would not under any circumstances give this hotel any kind of a rating. Very small...and we had the largest room...walls paper thin...bedbugs...1/2 bathtub...dirty mattresses...windows that don't open and no air conditioning. Behind the bed it looked as though it has not been vacuumed ever. We were prepared to stay as it was just a place to put our heads down after being out most of the day...but...when the bedbugs appeared that did it!!. Not even worth the $117.00 we paid for it. We immediately left the next morning...6:30 am and went up to the Doubletree Hilton only a block and a 1/2 away. They were very accommodating and they gave us a great room for just a little more than at the Residence Du Voyageur. I would not under any circumstances recommend this hotel until they have cleaned up their act.

Helpful?
4 Thank disappointedandupset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#116 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#81 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#113 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#107 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#124 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Du Voyageur

Property: La Residence Du Voyageur
Address: 847 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Residence Du Voyageur 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Residence Du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Du Voyageur Hotel Montreal
La Residence Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing