We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The renovations were so loud the floor vibrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Appartement Hotel
Ranked #37 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The renovations were so loud the floor vibrated”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days in the apartment suites. The staff was not friendly, breakfast was good. Simple continental. The location was amazing.

Then the work began....before 9 am renovation was so loud that and significant that the floors vibrated. I understand the importance of construction but we would not have stayed here if we had been warned. Itwent on all day. We were not given another room, offered at apology, or compensation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pompompom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    406
    96
    20
    10
See reviews for
283
208
36
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights from 12th Feb 14. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a suite (1 bedroom and a living room plus small kitchenette). The rooms are not ultra modern but clean, tidy and a decent size. Both rooms had flat screen cable TV. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a side view looking along Sherbrooke east. Road noise at that level was not a problem. Buffet breakfast was pretty good with a reasonable choice of food. There is a rooftop pool and small gym on the 17th penthouse floor. There is also a sauna and laundry room on 16th floor. There is no bar but the Holiday Inn just over the road has a nice pub bar if you want a local drink. Everything is close at hand from this hotel, it's walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants. Getting here from airport is also quite easy. Take the airport shuttle 747 bus and get off at bus stop 6. It's around 6 or 7 minutes walk north (2 blocks) from there. All in all a good value hotel in a good location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Veno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
850 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

we have come a few times, thanks to the location being so close to McGill and the value being quite good. So far the hotel has not disappointed with plenty of space and rooms reasonably quiet.

a basic breakfast is included, but it is forgettable.

limited/no parking space onsite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Adele
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Although our latest stay was this February 2014, my husband and I have stayed at l'Appartement Hotel countless times over the years; we bring guests there too, and I stayed there for two months straight in 2005, while waiting for a condo. I have at last realized that it might be a good idea to write this hotel the great review it deserves. Coming here is like visiting old friends - and it actually is... we've known much of the staff for years, and the occasional new person is just as charming as the others. Here we can count on: windows that open (a great plus); clean and welcoming rooms; extra blankets; friendly greetings at lobby counter and in the elevators; extremely reasonable prices; a complete kitchen in the apartment (another great plus); a perfectly acceptable cold breakfast included in the price (with better than average coffee); a varied, international, very interesting clientele (as seen in the breakfast room); superb downtown location - walking distance from the heart of Montreal. Three cheers for this wonderful hotel, we love it and recommend it always. Now that we live outside of the city, it`s our home away from home.

Room Tip: We always ask for a high floor - the lower floors have city and A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great hotel. Stayed here twice and we never feel disappointed. The suite was perfect for our family since we love cooking for our food instead of dining out whenever we travel with our kids. The kitchen was completely ready to use and the room was always clean. The location was perfectly located downtown to all the beautiful landmarks Montreal has to offer.

The complimentary breakfast was good but could use a little more variety.

The only thing that I didn't like about this hotel was their underground parking. There was not much room to park our family van. The space was really small.

Overall experience was great. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neza_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimes
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times--this last time was over New Years. The location of this hotel absolutely perfect, close to the Plateau and all the fun there but also close to the MFA, McGill University, Redpath Museum and McCord Museum, and also really near to the shopping on Saint Catherine Street. They have coin operated laundry and a basic indoor pool and a good breakfast each morning. The breakfast is cold (cereal, yogurt, muffins, bagels and I think waffles that could go in a toaster) but with a lot of good options and pretty decent coffee. The kiwis were a nice addition to the usual apples and bananas.

The only cons for this hotel was the quality of the sheets ( super scratchy and cheap) the poor quality of the mattress on the pull out sofa-bed, okay for kids but not for adults. The only other thing was that the elevator is slow and frequently in use by the staff, We sometimes had to wait 5-6 minutes for an elevator.

The rooms are basic but clean and well suited to families with children. It's not perfect but we love the option of an extra room and always recommend this place to families visiting the city. We paid about $140 a night for a one bedroom suite and they had a deal where we had the third night for half price and also a coupon book to some of the city's attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Apartment/hotel turned out to be a very suitable place to stay. The apartment we had was a bachelor, but it had everything you could possibly need. The kitchen was small, but efficient with a full-sized refrigerator and stove.
The bathroom could perhaps use an update, but it served its purpose. The living area was roomy enough with a very comfortable, relaxing chair.
It seemed very quiet. We did not use the pool, but did go up to look at it and the view from there is very nice.
The hotel has a very good location and I was able to walk to museums, dinner and shopping easily. I would recommend this hotel. Sure, it could use some updating, but it was very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable..and that is probably the most important thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilBWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
547 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
#61 of 165 in Montreal
878 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Appartement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Appartement Hotel

Property: L'Appartement Hotel
Address: 455 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#40 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Appartement Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Montreal on prestigious Sherbrooke Street, within walking distance from McGill University, Place des Arts and bustling St-Catherine Street, L'Appartement Hôtel welcomes you in its 126 studios and suites all we fully equipped kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Appartement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Appartement Hotel Montreal
l Apartment Montreal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing