We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great everything!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Appartement Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Appartement Hotel
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here with a few friends in November. I have stayed in this area before, but not at this particular hotel.

The locaiton is great - the rooms are comfortable, and overall we had an amazing time with all of the space we had (in a 2br).

The breakfast is standard fare, bagels, criossants, cereal etc. The only thing I would say is that the blinds don't close all of the way so the sun comes bursting in pretty early. No really good if you want to sleep in.

I would definitley stay again and recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff-Toronto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    362
    83
    16
    10
See reviews for
235
184
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over US Thanksgiving holiday with the whole family. My daughter lives next door at one of the McGill dorm. Of course it is not thanksgiving in Canada, so we brought the turkey and fixings from home, half baked. We arrived Thursday afternoon, checked in, and put the turkey in the oven. That night we had a nice dinner for 8 and it was so memorable.

The one bedroom apartment is perfect for a family of 3 or 4. The kitchen is good, even better if they supplied pots and pans. But we came ready having stayed there once before. The room is not up to date, the elevator is tiny and slow, but it served us just fine. We were there to explore Montreal not to be sequestered in the room. My only complain was the heat, which is too much. Good thing there is a balcony door which can open to provide fresh air.

The location is perfect, close to everything you want to do in Montreal. Parking is across the street at delta hotel, the rate is reasonable and you can go in and out anytime. I don't recommend driving in Montreal though. Parking is not easy and traffic can be bad.

This is a solid 3 star hotel, definitely recommend it and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've been coming to Montreal regularly for the past 4 years for school and I've stayed at many downtown hotels during this process (Holiday Inn, Marriot Suites, Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Hilton Garden) but I always come back to my favorite, the Apartment Hotel on Sherbrooke Street West. I can't say enough good things about this hotel!
It is the cleanest hotel you will find; I dare you to find a trace of dust in your entire room! You can actually SMELL the clean sheets when you walk in, there are always lots of extra towels and blankets, and the staff is very courteous and professional. It is centrally located a short walk to Crescent Street and McGill, and a grocery store and pharmacy are at your fingertips. The kitchens in every room are a big bonus for individuals such as myself that are travelling alone and like the safety and convenience of not having to go out at night to restaurants to forage for food. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, and you never hear your neighbours. The wireless internet and comfortable work stations in each room are a big plus for students and business people alike. Oh, and the prices are ridiculously reasonable for all of this too. So if you're looking for spacious, clean, affordable accommodation in the heart of downtown Montreal, look no further. The Apartment Hotel is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you need quiet as it is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I needed a place to stay near McGill's Faculty of Music on Sherbrooke Street, and L'Appartement seemed to fit the bill.

I was very pleased with my stay. The location was perfect for me, the staff was very welcoming, professional and helpful, the room, while a bit dated, was large and comfortable. The room includes a small kitchen with stove, microwave and fridge/sink - perfect for longer stays. They have a great continental breakfast buffet included in the price of the room -- probably the most extensive one I've ever seen. The room was very good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

nice big rooms. comfortable. nothing fancy

like a small one bedroom. has a nice balcony. i stayed 3 nights. better than a small hotel.

pretty old. dated. not that it was bad or anything.

no parking.

kinda pricey for montreal

ohhh yaaa.. the kitchen sink did this really weird thing where bubbles went several feet above the sink. didnt think anything of it... but it was kinda ridiculous. never seen that before

Room Tip: try to get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excelent place to stay.
The location in Montreal is very good, near the metro.
They have good breakfast, confortable rooms and a good price for all that.
The only problem is that sometimes the elevators get a bit crowded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baumericbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent three nights in a comfortable one bedroom suite. Breakfast was more than adequate and the front desk staff extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is downtown and convenient to the airport bus and city buses. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#16 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#49 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Appartement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Appartement Hotel

Property: L'Appartement Hotel
Address: 455 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#40 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Appartement Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Montreal on prestigious Sherbrooke Street, within walking distance from McGill University, Place des Arts and bustling St-Catherine Street, L'Appartement Hôtel welcomes you in its 126 studios and suites all we fully equipped kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your L'Appartement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Appartement Hotel Montreal
l Apartment Montreal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing