We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay, close to Old Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #94 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay, close to Old Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked the hotel via priceline and expectedly the room was near the elevator. However, it was not only quiet but provided a very nice view of the city. There is a metro station right across, and the restaurants on St Catherine Street are within walking distance, as is the Old Port and the Notre Dame Basilica (about 1 mile from the hotel). The staff was very courteous and helpful. I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, facing the rue Saint-Hubert. Very sunny and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    360
    341
    143
    119
See reviews for
180
330
122
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

In addition the price was right, close to subway and easy walking to a lot of attractions. Neighborhood is quite colorful and very mixed. A major street was closed for pedestrians only. Infrastructure looked like it could be updated. Staff friendly and helpful. Underground parking added $19.00 per night, not bad for a downtown location with in and out privileges. It had to the tightest I have experienced both in the clearance and the spaces themselves. Also had fitness facilities and pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Not the best hotel in Montreal... infrastructure is quite old (we even got stuck in the elevator) and the room design and furniture is not the latest trend. But the price is very reasonable for a prime location hotel downtown with good service. They also have a indoor parking (note that not all hotels have a parking in downtown Montreal), and you can also reach the metro from inside. So, if you have a small travel budget or if I was with a group of friends to explore the city, this is a hotel I would pick. But for a romantic week-end: pass.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocotte86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel looks a bit old and could use a renovation, compared to other hotels,the bathrooms especially, or get a flat screen TV instead of the old cathodic ones.
Other than that, the beds are new and very comfortable, the rooms have an average size, and the hotel is well located, close to Berri-UQAM, the main subway hub downtown.
Breakfast is not included though, and you can get continental breakfast for 10$. The full english breakfast is 15$ approx.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel has mixed qualities. I stayed for 3 nights on the 22nd floor. POSITIVES: The view is great (mountain, downtown, AND river from my window). The beds are excellent: comfortable mattress, nice duvet and good pillows. Very quiet heat/ac. Best sleep I've had in weeks. The public areas are also very nice (lobby, 4th floor, business center). And the meals which the hotel served were truly excellent. I was there for a conference which included hotel breakfasts and a banquet lunch, and everyone exclaimed about the delicious food. Much better than standard hotel fare. Also the hotel is convenient in terms of transit access to bus and metro, and walking distance to both downtown and the Vieux Port area (about a 10-15 minute walk to either area).
NEGATIVES: The hotel is in real need of renovations and it shows here and there. Behind the desk's electrical outlet in our room was a gaping hole with crumbling plaster, and (thankfully, I guess) the socket did not work. Happily there was another outlet within nearish reach of the desk that did. Also as another reviewer noted, the elevators are slow and small, and when the hotel is full, the elevators can take a very long time to respond: there aren't enough and they are too small to handle all the rooms. Lastly, the neighborhood is sketchy. We saw a drug deal take place right on the corner next to the hotel's front door in broad daylight!

Room Tip: Pay the tiny surcharge for a high room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here for four nights, got a nice room on the 21st floor.
The rooms are large and comfortable, the bed is excellent and I slept very well.
Elevators are a slight problem, with longish waits, but nothing major.
The wifi is free but EXTREMELY iffy, it is slow in general, and sometimes works and sometimes it doesn't (at least in my room).
Bathroom needs updating, but everything works well.
The location is excellent and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view, but the elevators are sometimes slow to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwistax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel was chosen for us as part of a vacation package we received. This was our first visit to Quebec and our limited knowledge of French was obvious. Luckily, the front desk was very accommodating and even thanked me for at least trying to talk to her in French. The ability to access the subway and the mall right from the hotel was a huge perk. There was a concert in the square right across from the hotel which lasted into the night, but our room was in view of it so we had a nice show for free. Like others said, I wish we had a refrigerator, but other than that I couldn't complain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#43 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#116 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Property: Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing