We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #99 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Checked into the hotel prior to my wife, found the check-in to be very efficient and quick. Got into the room, and found no immediate issues upon a very quick look into the room. My initial thought was that the hotel was in DIRE need of a renovation. It looked like something I had seen in a movie from the 70's.

My wife caught up to me, and was immediately hit on by a supposed member of the staff who requested to bring her bags up to her room in an extremely questionable manner. After waiting for someone to help her for a few minutes to find where the elevators were, she eventually found the location to the elevators, and then she started to check out the room.

What she found was the following:
1) Lamp without a light bulb in it.
2) Still water in the ice bucket.
3) Leg broken in the hotel room
4) Ripped sheet on the bed.
5) Hair in the bathtub.

Aside from this, the room really wasn't all that bad, but it was all the small things that accumulated in order to make it a less than desirable location. I am extremely glad I got the hotel at a discounted price, and am absolutely shocked that they advertise themselves as a 4-star hotel. Choose another hotel room if you have the option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seibzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantale D, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Good Day,

It is with great care that I have read your comment and you have brought to our attention a number of things that displeased you.

We thank you for sharing with us your experience further to your stay and we're very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations. Please, feel free to call me directly to discuss the matter further, I will be glad to assist you.

Regards,
Chantale Dubé
Director of operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    360
    341
    143
    119
See reviews for
180
330
122
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and was reasonable as we had to get 3 rooms. However, the pool was closed for maintenance. The rooms are old and dreary. We were gone for more than 5 hours on Saturday and when we came back, the room had still not been cleaned. So we had to call down, and she only halfway cleaned it, leaving us the dirty wash towels and not resupplying any bathroom products. On a positive note, the gentleman (certainly not the woman) at the front desk is wonderful and could not be more accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAV0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The many comments about this hotel needing a renovation are spot on. It is tired, very tired. The furniture is dinged, the armchairs threadbare, some of the hallway carpeting has holes. The bed comes with one of those shiny polyester bedspreads that have long disappeared even in most mid-range hotels. The television is an old 20" CRT, no flat screen to be found. I had a voicemail message that I had a call; it was my wife who had called while I was sitting next to the phone but it never rang. There's a connector door with the room next door (how often are these ever used?) and it only serves as a conduit for noise from the next room.

The bed was OK, had just one blanket on it though there was another in the armoire to put on the bed. The pillows were good.

Bathroom lighting was fine, no complaints at all. The cups were all plastic-wrapped plastic cups (somehow one always gets this kind of wrapped cup with the polyester bedspread). The bath towels here huge and were thicker than the hand towels.

You could set the thermostat, but you either got heat or air conditioning. There was no "off" switch. What I mean is, when the (electric baseboard under the window) heat went off (you could hear it switch off), the a/c immediately came on. Hot or cold.

The front desk people who checked me in were delightful, but don't know where they went afterwards because the front desk people were expressionless for the rest of my stay.

Free wi-fi!

And great views of the Montreal skyline... And across the street from the Berri-UQAM Metro station, also accessible through the inside via the Place Dupuis shopping center. The rest of the neighborhood, especially east and south, isn't great, though compared to most cities, it is not at all "dangerous." Bibliothèque et archives nationales du Québec a block away: THIS IS NOT TO BE MISSED, a great library, and I'm told the most frequented in North America. Université du Québec à Montréal is right there, too.

The best part of the hotel is the restaurant. Given that the room was so tired, I was really wary of the restaurant, but it was cold and snowy and I didn't want to go out. You know what? Someone in the kitchen knows how to cook: I had an excellently prepared piece of beef with a wonderful array of 3 or 4 vegetables, worthy of a much, much better restaurant. And the waitress was exceptionally helpful and friendly; she spoke very good English as well as French, as you would expect. I went back for a second night. The wines aren't great, but the atmosphere is OK and really worth a visit.

So a great location, a nice restaurant, adequate rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city (west view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voyageur_americain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel is in a good area, close to the subway system and St. Denis street but it is greatly in need of renovations. We checked in on a Friday and were disappointed to find the pool closed from noon till 5pm. Indoor parking was a plus as the surrounding streets were full of snow due to a recent storm. We were pleased with check-in & check-out, quick & efficient!
I am not sure we would go back and would prefer something more up-dated.

Room Tip: Try & get a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've stayed here a few years ago. It was somewhat in need of a renovation then, but it's gotten significantly worse since our visit.

There's some good things about this hotel. The location is central. Yes, there's panhandlers and probably not a good idea to send this kids out to play in the park at night. but that's part of staying in a major city. It's right over a major Metro hub so easy access to all parts of the city.

The staff are really great from check in to check out. The grounds are clean and housekeeping does a good job taking care of the room.

The bad part is everything is just really, run down. We stayed on the 19th floor. The room was clean but the chips in the desks and nightstands and old stains in the carpet are a bit off putting. The television was old but worked fairly well, the remote took a some effort but usually got the job done. The bed was fine and sheets were clean but well past their best before date.

The big drawback was in the washroom. The sink took some work to get it to fully shut off. Towels were very thin and threadbare. The shower pressure was super weak and could barely maintain a full stream. Showers could be accomplished but were a challenge. We reported this and someone was sent up to check it and we were told it was old pipes.

We thought about asking to change rooms, but considering things were just old and worn out, rather than broken, decided it was a lost cause. The pool was also a bit depressing. Many of the lights were out in the room, it was chilly in and out of the water, and there were dark discolored patches in the tiles on the bottom. Didn't stay too long.

We found the staff we encountered to be helpful, friendly and they were definitely doing the best with what resources they had. Of all the issues, the shower is probably the deal breaker for me. There's lots of solid options in Montreal, I wouldn't stay here again unless there was a major renovation.

Room Tip: The free wifi routers are located near the elevator. So if this is important to you ask for a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our third time staying at the Gouverneur Place Dupuis. We loved this latest experience. We got a hold of a really good deals a few months ago and booked early for this trip. We had a King size bed in a very clean and spacious room with amazing city views. I can honestly not fault the hotel on any point. When we go to Montreal, we look for a hotel with decent, clean rooms and a convenient location to our mostly downtown destinations. This hotel has everything we are looking for. The room was always impeccably cleaned and towels and toiletries (which smell amazing, btw) were always replaced. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the location cannot be beat as it is close to everything. In the past, we’ve had issues with being on Smoking floors whereas we specifically requested Non-smoking, but since then, the entire hotel has gone the Non-smoking route and it is great! We also tried their buffet breakfast at the hotel’s restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the choices and the quality. Overall great stay and we can’t wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: City View rooms have wonderful views although the others aren't bad either
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabestag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

i stayed at the gouverneur hotel mtl.for one night.
feb,8/14, the hotel is very old i bad need of renovation,
my room was on the 25 th floor ,it was clean,bed clean also.
my tv was from 1980 on its last leg. the converter didnt work
the numbers where all erase on the converter.
it took 30 min, for check in in line up.
and the female asian girl that check me in had very bad attitude.
i will very much never stay their again
jacques a

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quebecfrog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#50 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#42 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#116 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Property: Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing