We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly in desperate need of a renovation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #100 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sadly in desperate need of a renovation...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've stayed here a few years ago. It was somewhat in need of a renovation then, but it's gotten significantly worse since our visit.

There's some good things about this hotel. The location is central. Yes, there's panhandlers and probably not a good idea to send this kids out to play in the park at night. but that's part of staying in a major city. It's right over a major Metro hub so easy access to all parts of the city.

The staff are really great from check in to check out. The grounds are clean and housekeeping does a good job taking care of the room.

The bad part is everything is just really, run down. We stayed on the 19th floor. The room was clean but the chips in the desks and nightstands and old stains in the carpet are a bit off putting. The television was old but worked fairly well, the remote took a some effort but usually got the job done. The bed was fine and sheets were clean but well past their best before date.

The big drawback was in the washroom. The sink took some work to get it to fully shut off. Towels were very thin and threadbare. The shower pressure was super weak and could barely maintain a full stream. Showers could be accomplished but were a challenge. We reported this and someone was sent up to check it and we were told it was old pipes.

We thought about asking to change rooms, but considering things were just old and worn out, rather than broken, decided it was a lost cause. The pool was also a bit depressing. Many of the lights were out in the room, it was chilly in and out of the water, and there were dark discolored patches in the tiles on the bottom. Didn't stay too long.

We found the staff we encountered to be helpful, friendly and they were definitely doing the best with what resources they had. Of all the issues, the shower is probably the deal breaker for me. There's lots of solid options in Montreal, I wouldn't stay here again unless there was a major renovation.

Room Tip: The free wifi routers are located near the elevator. So if this is important to you ask for a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    361
    344
    143
    123
See reviews for
182
333
123
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our third time staying at the Gouverneur Place Dupuis. We loved this latest experience. We got a hold of a really good deals a few months ago and booked early for this trip. We had a King size bed in a very clean and spacious room with amazing city views. I can honestly not fault the hotel on any point. When we go to Montreal, we look for a hotel with decent, clean rooms and a convenient location to our mostly downtown destinations. This hotel has everything we are looking for. The room was always impeccably cleaned and towels and toiletries (which smell amazing, btw) were always replaced. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the location cannot be beat as it is close to everything. In the past, we’ve had issues with being on Smoking floors whereas we specifically requested Non-smoking, but since then, the entire hotel has gone the Non-smoking route and it is great! We also tried their buffet breakfast at the hotel’s restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the choices and the quality. Overall great stay and we can’t wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: City View rooms have wonderful views although the others aren't bad either
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabestag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

i stayed at the gouverneur hotel mtl.for one night.
feb,8/14, the hotel is very old i bad need of renovation,
my room was on the 25 th floor ,it was clean,bed clean also.
my tv was from 1980 on its last leg. the converter didnt work
the numbers where all erase on the converter.
it took 30 min, for check in in line up.
and the female asian girl that check me in had very bad attitude.
i will very much never stay their again
jacques a

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quebecfrog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed there for three nights - great bargain through Priceline.

I'm not sure I understand the many negative reviews here. Yes, the place looks a bit dated, but the rooms are perfectly clean and functional. Service was excellent and the location is great too - right across the Berri-UQAM metro station.

Apparently the hotel is located in the same building as government offices, so it has a captive clientele of government officials coming down from Quebec City to visit these offices - hence the lack of a refurbishment!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintnectaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis for a weekend escape. We enjoyed the location very much, walking to the Latin Quarters (2 blocks) and Chinatown (10 blocks). But it's a bit of a trek into the downtown core (20 blocks) full of big buildings and shops, which we were good with this trip.

The hotel breakfast buffet was average at $15.95/person and we found it sort of limited. Had the price been dropped to about $13.95, I think the restaurant would be full and the buffet would become a good deal.

Swimming pool and gym was on the smaller side but was clean and worked so no complaints. The hotel's direct connection to underground parking ($20/night) and shopping mall is always handy for travelers. Restaurants also surround the hotel so no one's going hungry staying here!

Rooms are definitely dated but surprisingly quiet during my stay. Washroom was falling apart but worked. Tube TV's are on their last legs and the remote was difficult to use.

Overall, this place is a great cheap weekend away with plenty of restaurants and amenities to meet your needs. There is no luxury, no wow factor, nothing to write home about. But if you can get good price, have good company, it's a good stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khoazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I booked a room online for 2 nights (30 and 31 January, 2014) at this hotel - we have one more night to spend here. It was clearly indicated when we booked online that we had a choice of either a queen or king size bed. We were sent a confirmation email from Sylvain A. that stated, "We were able to get a room with a queen-size bed but regrettably we are sold out for rooms with king-sized beds". When we arrived last evening, we were surprised to see that our room had 2 double beds - room 1518. We are not big people and we ordinarily would be fine with a double bed, however these beds are both sagging in the centre and sleep was nearly impossible as we were constantly rolling to the middle! We were told that the hotel is fully booked and they could not move us. If we had known, we would have never come to this hotel; in fact we had considered several others before choosing this one. One would think that a room with two beds would have one double and one queen? Regardless, we are disappointed. And sadly there are no offers of compensation.
And to add to our negative feelings about this room - I stepped out of bed and onto a toenail this morning!
We will not be back.

Room Tip: We have no tips, as they did not honour their agreement with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alainpothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantale D, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

After some investigation, I was happy to find out that a change of room with a King size bed was offered to you during your stay for the second night. I understand that your comment was written on your first night stay.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you experience on your first night.

Warm regards,
C. Dubé
Director of operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal in January 2014. We were lucky enough to receive a room on the upper floor. The view was great. The hotel was a pleasant experience overall, although with that said, there is some room for cosmetic improvements. The hotel feels dated in design, including the gym and pool.

The service is great, people are nice, and the location is convenient, especially if you're conducting business on the east side of Montreal. I would come back here purely based on value.

Room Tip: Upper rooms seem nicer and more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#73 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#118 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Property: Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing