We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$220
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$290
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$175
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$302
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$241
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
$189
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$415
$404
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$490
$447
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveler rating
164
416
395
180
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
416
395
180
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace dupuisbusiness floordrug storeberri uqammetro linebit datedgreat view of the cityconvenient locationtwo double bedscatherine streetvisiting montrealold citysupermarketdeniscanadachinatown
Filter
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When I got this hotel in a bid on Priceline and came here to read the reviews, I got really, really worried. My previous bids on trips to Montreal were usually Hilton or Hyatt, but that didn't work this time. Actually, this place wasn't as bad as some of the previous reviews.

Location-wise, this hotel is in the Latin Quarter, not the nicest area to be in, but this is just typical of life in a big city and US cities are actually worse. The public bus 747 from the airport stops across from the hotel, and if you're not great with french, the bus driver will inform you if you tell him you need to get to the hotel at Place Dupuis.

The hotel is also a couple of blocks away from the bus station if you need to take the bus to Quebec/Boston/New York, which was a great base for me during this trip. Even while not connected to the major malls at the underground city, the hotel property is very well connected everywhere by the major metro station Berri-UQAM. Even though there didn't seem to be any noteworthy restaurants in the immediate surrounding area, the arts and entertainment centres (jazz club, concert hall, bars, etc) are a short walk away. I wish I'd realized this during the very brief one day I was there and gone to a concert or jazz bar in the evening.

At check-in, I was given an upgrade because the room meant for me was not ready. Now I'm not sure what the original one would have been like since I got a good rate on Priceline, but with the previous reviews I read, I was alright with the room I had, except for one thing. Anyway, there was a nice view of Montreal, including the Olympic Park from my room. Room was a good size, although the bathroom was kind of cramp. Having a bathrobe was also a nice touch. As with other reviewers had mentioned, the decor and furnishings in the room were very dated. It's not a huge deal for me, as long as the room is clean. But generally it was not really clean, made worse by one thing which I felt could not have gone unnoticed was the stain on the bedsheet, and it looked like it had been sticky before. (See picture) I didn't notice it until I lifted the pillow at night, but I'm sure if I were changing those sheets I would most definitely have seen it immediately.

Having said this, I am extremely particular about the cleanliness of linens, and many hotels are pretty careless about this as I have noticed. But still that stain was pretty bad!

Overall, great location, average rooms, nice value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a one day conference to attend at UQAM, and looked for a room on Priceline. By chance, I was given this hotel which is across the street from the university. However, I was worried because of all the negative reviews. Don't worry, I had a good experience. It is a solid 3 star hotel and I had excellent service.

I think it receives negative reviews because it is in an authentic, unmanicured neighbourhood. It is a safe spot, just gritty. It is part of the gay village, next to the university, and the bus station is a few blocks away.

I arrived at the hotel and received excellent service and a room on the 29th floor - non-smoking. It was clean. This is not a new hotel but I did not find it worn, either. Very good breakfast buffet and excellent French onion soup in the bar. All in all, for my purposes that weekend, I felt I received good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belsab, GM's assistant at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear SoloSpirit,

It was most considerate of you to take the time to let us know about your good experience in our Gouverneur Hotel Place Dupuis. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards

Sabrina Belkacem
GM,s assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is in a terrible, poor area with a lot of homeless people. Nothing in our room worked: lights, tv or clock radio. The salt water pool is not well maintained and partially closed. With all the nice hotels in Montreal, I would never stay here again. We couldn't wait to check out!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyBercaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked this hotel over Priceline and did not know about it before booking. Located in a vibrant central area north of old Montreal, walking distance to St. Catherine (Eaton) an St. Lauren; right off the metro station if needed. As you are right in the gay village of Montreal, expect exotic bars/shops nearby, fast food and decent restaurants, non-standard demographics and afterhours traffic.
Hotel check in was quick, we asked for a king size bed and were given a room on the 8th floor. The room was small but to the point, 80th decour with a tired looking bathroom. Best points for me where wifi and the quietness of the room, I was very surprised that I did not hear other people and outside noise. Had a problem with a heater, which was quickly fixed by hotel staff while we were away. Overall, great value for the price paid. Stay here if you get a good deal. Underground parking is $18/ night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SneakyTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's a pretty nice building let down by rude, inefficient staff who couldnt care less.

The female manager on reception also excudes this attitude and I can only think this is the reason. Complaints and observations at are met with a sarcastic smile and "sorry", no real acknowledgement or understanding just apologies.

Worryingly they have Pay Movies with no PIN code protection including adult movies! Whilst in the shower my 7yo daughter ordered a movie - luckily not pornographic! The expense is not a problem but when I highlighted the problem the couldnt careless attitude showed itself again.

Worrying the female manager on reception also refused to give me CEO or senior management details, going all mysterious saying she was not allowed to tell.

Another worrying (but external feature) is the amount of homeless people, vagrants and drug addicts in the area where the hotel is situated and my young daughter said she felt very scared (and I did a little too!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belsab, GM's assistant at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear JulianL,

We are most anxious to ensure the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations and rest assured that the matter was discussed with all the people concerned, in order that remedial actions are taken.

Our in-room movie system is a common system used in hotel industry. One should follow and agree to three steps before the movie runs.

Upper management is always available to assist you, we are sorry we gave you the impression that they are unreachable.

Please, feel free to call me directly to discuss the matter further, I will be glad to assist you.

Kind regards,

Sabrina Belkacem
GM's assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews