We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
421
202
38
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
421
202
38
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews training hotel sherbrooke metro station hotel school culinary school small balconies nice balcony included breakfast saint denis rue st buffet style croissants latin quarter nespresso machine fresh fruit indoor parking excellent hotel room rate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 666 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019

We stayed 4 nights here in early June, 2019, and were pleasantly surprised: its location is very convenient to public transit (next door to a metro station (Sherbrooke) and a bus stop), it's located across the street from a small park, it's near to many restaurants, from cheap eats to fairly expensive, it has on-site indoor parking for $19/night, and the price includes breakfast. In addition, it's about a mile from old Montreal, and a 10-minute walk to a major hub of the Metro (UQAM). Those were all very helpful to us.
The hotel itself is a teaching facility, so the large building in which it is housed has only 2 floors for the 42 rooms. The rooms are on the 7th and 8th floors, so street noise is reduced. And since there are no rooms across the hall from each other, the noise of other guests coming and going is also much less than usual. (There are 2 hallways, one on each side of the building, onto which the rooms open.) The rooms are of average size, and all the ones we saw from outside had small balconies with a table and 2 chairs. Our bed was very comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is buffet style with a relatively small selection of dishes: pre-cooked eggs, meat, cold cuts, bread and bagels, cold cereal, and some fruit, both fresh and cut up. The coffee was pretty good, and the orange juice was also good. Service was friendly and efficient. Some of the desk staff are interns, so their learning sometimes required help, but that was a minor issue. The wifi often did not automatically log us in again after going out, but it was fast enough for most purposes.
I would definitely stay here again, both for the price and the location. We did not eat in the restaurant, but we did enjoy the bar area for early drinks.

Room tip: The south-facing rooms have better views.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VNvet2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasITHQ, Professor at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear VNvet2015,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comprehensive review.

Our location is indeed ideal to get anywhere you need in Montreal and also has many services nearby. The vast majority of our rooms have balconies, making easy to enjoy the nice summer days.

We are indeed a training hotel for more than 300 students every year and we are so grateful towards our guests, like you, who contribute to training and building future hospitality, tourism and restaurant managers. There is no better experience for them than to be able to apply what they learn directly with our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Wow! Incredible place in downtown Montreal. Huge hotel suite with a plenty of space, two bathrooms, a living room, a nice balcony with a crazy view of the city and a small kitchen in a one single room. A top notch service a the entrance. Friendly and kind employes. Go try it now!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
8  Thank Jean-MaximeLabonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasITHQ, Professor at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Bonjour Jean-MaximeLabonte,

Thank you for this great review! We do indeed have very spacious suites with balconies and great views of our beautiful city. We are happy to read your enjoyed your suite. We will begin an overhaul of all rooms in 2019; they will be just comfortable, but feel even more spacious and modern.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

On the positive side, the hotel is just steps from the metro and a few blocks from the Latin Quarter.

On the negative side, well, where do I begin? We arrived a few hours before check in, and went through the check in process but were told no rooms were available at the moment, so they'd take our luggage and put it in our room when it was ready, and call us. We spent a few hours passing the time at a nearby coffee shop, and went back 15 min before check in. We were surprised they were giving rooms to people already but hadn't called us. I guess they forgot about us, which was a bit frustrating since we were just waiting the whole time, and could have been in our room.

The room itself was fairly average. The bathroom faucet sprayed everywhere, but the pillows were decent. However, the mattress was rock hard. Even sitting on it, it felt harder than most chairs.

We called the front desk to figure out our options. The woman from the front desk who came up, one of the students, was one of the rudest hotel staff I've dealt with in any hotel. Usually, hotel staff tries to help the customer as much as they can, but she seemed to enjoy telling me no when I asked about whether they had anything to help (like mattress toppers, for example), and even was smirking and laughing at my obvious distress and attempts to try to creatively find a solution. Apparently, they replaced all the mattresses recently, so if you don't like sleeping on the floor, you probably won't like these either. To deal with such a rude staff member on top of this frustrating situation was the last thing I needed upon arriving for our vacation. Needless to say, I barely slept.

Long story short, I would not recommend staying here unless you're desperate.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLasante, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Dear guests:

We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Indeed the check-in of our rooms is at 15h00. Some days, we are lucky enough to be able to give your rooms earlier than that time when the hotel was not full the night before, which was unfortunately not the case on the day of your arrival.

We have many different room categories in our hotel. It is possible that some rooms were given out before 15h00, but that they were not the same category as the one you had reserved. We do let our housekeeping staff know when our guests arrive before the check-in time and do everything possible to give the rooms as early as possible. As you well know, our guests have until 12:00 to check-out and some guests check out earlier than others. The room you had reserved had a check-out later than some other rooms, so it was not possible to give it to you earlier, although we did respect our check-in time and were able to give you the room at 14:45.

Thank you for mentioning the bathroom faucet of the room we will have maintenance verify this right away. As for our mattresses, they are indeed brand new and have been replaced in all of our hotel rooms. We are very proud to offer high-quality mattresses to our guests as we understand how important a good night's sleep is. Upon your comments about the mattress, another room was shown to you to see if you felt the mattress was more to your liking, but you did decided to stay in your original room where we tried to make your bed as possible as we possible could.

As for our staff, the person who attended you is one of our reception supervisors with the help of our head housekeeping manager. As you mentionned in your comment, we are a teaching hotel and we train many students every year. We certainly do apologize if you believe any of our staff member has treated you unfairly as it is not in our nature to do so, nor is it in our training procedures. Our guests are the most important members of our family and we are eternally grateful to them for helping us offer excellent training to our students. We do share all of our comments with them to analyze them which helps them in their professional future.

Once again we thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We hope that nevertheless, you will come back to visit us upon your next visit to Montreal as we are about to start renovating all of our rooms and we would like for you to experience them once again.

Thank you for visiting Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

We are in Montreal for the ISMRM Congress, the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, and taking the time to visit and enjoy this beautiful city. The hotel belongs to an educational institute on hotel management, and it has a restaurant also connected to the institute. It is located in a good part of the city, the French neighborhood of Outremont.

So far it is a good stay. The restaurant provides a nice breakfast and it is also open for lunch and dinner, with a haute cuisine experience. The room is clean, with a pleasant view of the city of Montreal. The weather is good, we came in the beginning of the Spring, and the hotel surroundings have good restaurants and nice places to eat.

I will write a final review in the end of our stay, I am eagerly waiting for the Congress to start. We also want to visit more places here since the days have become sunny and warm.

Room tip: Try a Queen room with a view.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hannah13517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLasante, Coordonnatrice de l'hébergement at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear guest:

Isn't Montreal a vibrant and magnificient city? We are very proud that you have chosen our hotel for your leasure and business trip! Thank you!

Spring is indeed finally around the corner! We are just as happy as you are that we are finally able to enjoy it!

We appreciate your generous comments about our hotel. We are certainly looking forward to your next review!

We wish you a wonderful stay, a wonderful congress and a wonderful visit!

Thank you very much once again for your comments, we certainly hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Montreal to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

Was on vacation with my husband in Montreal. Decided on this hotel because it appeared to be near the Bus station (Gare d'autocars de Montréal).

The hotel is nice. The rooms are relatively large and clean. The bed is really comfortable (nice and firm). They do provide coffee & tea making facilities, but unfortunately bottled water isn't included as part of the room charge.

The daily breakfast spread is good - smoked salmon, eggs benedict, eggs en cocotte, fruit & yoghurt. The selection doesn't vary too much from day to day, but it provides a satisfying breakfast to start the day. BTW, if you book directly through the hotel website, you can get an expresso at breakfast :-)

Location wise, it's fairly convenient - located right next to the Sherbrooke Metro station. However if you're coming in from the bus station or if you've just dropped off from the airport bus (Bus no. 747), it's not exactly convenient to get to this hotel with luggage. Couple of options : (a) Take the metro 1 station up (from Berri to Sherbrooke), or (b) Walk about 500m, but know that it's a very steep slope up from the bus station, or (c) take a cab - about 3 mins ride.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank D0reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLasante, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear guests:

Thank you for your informative review. It is wonderful to see our hotel services through your eyes and while we were just about to suggest the metro station just one station up from the bus station, you have gone and done it! Your comments are helpful to us and even more to our future guests who are coming in from the airport who simply have to take bus 747 to the bus station.

We are happy and proud that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Whether for business or pleasure, your satisfaction is our main priority and mission! If we may add that we have a concierge service to help you with your vacation planning at the hotel who also offer cell phone service! If you need assistance outside of the hotel, all you need to do is give us a call and we will guide you to where you need to go!

We would like to thank you once again for your super interesting review! We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon for your next trip to Montreal at Hotel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews