We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet yet convenient location.”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #22 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Quiet yet convenient location. Subway entrance is right around the corner, less than 100m. yet very quiet neighborhood.
Room is clean. Love the balcony!
Also, the in room nestle coffee machine is a surprise!! and wait until you hit the breakfast, quality food!
Don't miss this hidden gem in Montreal, and enjoy!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanillaLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear VanillaLemon,
Than you so much for your review... it is a pleasure to read.
We trully hope to welcome you again!
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 489 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

When I travel to Montreal, I always stayed at this hotel. It think it is nice and it help trained the sutdents since it is a school. This stay was very disapointing. Usually, I always have a room with a balcony and a nice view. This time, they stuck me in a tiny room with 3 windows. All the windows were facing walls at about 20 inches!!! Then, they have no real soap anymore.... You have a liquid soap dispenser where you have to push 10 times to get a drop... It took me 20 minutes to take my shower :-) And finally, they only have buffet for the breakfast! They usually had a menu where you can choose from on top of the buffet. I don t think I will stay at this hotel anymore.

Room Tip: Avoid room 710!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear EricMToronto,
Thank you for your review. We are trully sorry that you were disapointed of your last stay. We do have 2 rooms without a blacony in a quiet corner of the hotel. It is configurated differentely, but has the same size as our other rooms. Further to your comment upon departure, I have put a note in your profile and we garantee avoiding giving you that room again.
As for the soap and shampoo dispensers, we have decided to go green, in an effort to reduce our ecological footprint and respond to the needs of guests who are aware of sustainable tourism.
As mentionned on our website, a la carte menu for breakfast is only offered when students are in training in the dining room. Otherwise a complete buffet breakfast is offered to our guests.
Again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again at Hôtel de l'Institut.
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel de l'Institut is a training hotel, but don't let that put you off. Okay, so you won't get a swimming pool or spa here, but...

our room was very comfortable and included a refrigerator, tea/coffeemaker, iron and hairdryer, free Wi-Fi, and a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table so that you can enjoy the view (bring your own wine though.)

Standard breakfast (eggs, sausage, ham, pastries/croissants, fresh fruit) is included in the price.

Parking (they do charge for this) is available in the underground lot below the hotel, and the nearest metro entrance is right outside.

Reception and breakfast room staff were all friendly, helpful, and spoke English very well.

Compared with what we might have paid for a major chain hotel, Hotel de l'Institut is a bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrethynDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear BrethynDa,
Thank you so much for your great review! It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel!
Warmest regards,
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We extend some advice to the Faculty. You absolutely must convey to the staff that it is OK to think on their own. While friendly and very courteous, it felt all the while that the staff were following a set of rules for every situation. Example -- just prior to check-in, my wife had fallen while cycling and had cut her head. Bleeding through her make-shift bandage, she approached the concierge for a fresh bandage while I was at the registration desk. She was informed that her room number was needed before a band-aid was provided. Whaaat!? Make no mistake -- this person was extremely friendly. But she did not employ a normal judgement of the situation. Did it even matter if we were guests?

We found this lack of judgement to be the case in a number of instances -- no major things, but enough for two couples to have observed the same. You must teach the student employees to assess & respond to each situation with logic and reasonableness. Never say "NO, it can't be done", even if the rulebook instructs them to the contrary. This is a critical part of the hospitality curriculum.

That said, we had a very positive experience and would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterHOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear PeterHOntario,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel that way about the service provided by the students who work at the Hotel. We do have a particular standing because of our hotel-school status. We have approximately 15 new students to train at the front desk and concierge desk every year and we do need to train them with some clear procedures. They are in a learning process and usually put all their heart to give the best service they can.
I do take in consideration your remark and will try to ease the impact it has on costumer service.
We trully hope to welcome you again soon!
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location and the room rates are well priced. Located in a neighbourhood where the strolling and people watching is great fun. The hotel is located near the Metro and very handy for getting around. The rooms are well appointed with a balcony and bistro set outside. Beds have great mattresses and pillows.
Our one complaint involved trying to find a bottle cap opener. We arrived on a hot June day and my husband wanted to treat himself to a beer on the balcony. We asked the concierge and he phoned our room 10 minutes later to let us know that he couldn 't locate one and we'd have to wait a couple of hours before the restaurant opened. This from a teaching institution! The woman who checked us out said that if bottle openers were placed in the room, people would steal them. We then suggested the kind that screw into the wall and her reply was that it was far too complicated. Nevertheless there is a great coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and robes in every room. Is it really so difficult to find a bottle cap opener in the entire hotel?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear MLF 1955,
Thank you for writing your review.
You are right, it should not be difficult to find a basic bottle opener for our guests. We usually keep a stack at the front desk and it seems like none were left when you have requested one. I am sorry you have to wait an hour to finally get one.
We have just received new bottle openers yesterday, and will take your suggestion to the word! It will much more easier to our guests to have their own bottle opener in the room.
Thank you again for your suggestions and we look forward to welcome you again!

Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while at a conference. For the price you can't ask for more. Room was clean and a good size. Bed very comfortable. Wifi fast. And the breakfast buffet, although somewhat limited in options, was much higher quality than the the standard Hampton Inn type breakfasts. My only minor complaint is that there was an annoying humming sound coming from somewhere which kept me awake one evening. I am guessing it was the air conditioning unit on the roof of the hotel, but I did not inquire. Regardless, I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Montreal.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank mikalwaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Mikalwaterloo,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Although, I am very curious to know the room you were staying in. There might be something to be fixed that could stopped the humming.
We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
514-282-5120 x 4249

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our recent three-night stay at Montreal's Hotel de L'Institut renewed our passion for the city and left us with a remarkable feeling of hope in the aftermath. This powerful emotion comes because of the hotel's unique recipe for success; pairing enthusiastic students of the hotel and tourism industries with travellers looking for the best possible accommodations, food, and prices while on the road.

Renewing our passion for the city may sound strange, once you know that we also live in Montreal. Because of major renovations to our apartment, we had to book into a hotel for the duration of repairs. Since we live only a few blocks from the Institute of Hotel & Tourism of Quebec, we thought it would be a good opportunity to experience their hospitality.

I would recommend this location to anyone travelling through Montreal, and for a variety of reasons. Location is paramount when travelling, and this spot is literally located on top of a main subway (Metro) station, so you are able to explore the entire city without a car. The building itself has been recently updated, so all the amenities are modern and beautiful.

The closer for us though was the dining experience, as it gives guests an opportunity to interact with the student body, an experience not possible at regular accommodations, and not to be missed. The drive to serve guests at the best level possible is as obvious as the struggle to be professional, timely, and polite. This is a golden opportunity to forge those traveller's memories which inspire all of us to explore new places and meet different people.

The food is divine, the wine list very respectable, and the prices quite surprising. For example; starting May 28th, the hotel's restaurant is beginning a new "Three-Course Meals For $25 and $35" menu.

This amazing offer includes such items as: glazed mackerel wit Espelette pepper, smoked potatoes and horseradish tofu as an appetizer, pan-fried halibut steak, tart apricot sauce, zucchini flower tempura and mascarpone quenelle with basil as one of the main dish offerings, and dessert possibilities such as chocolate lava cake with maple dulce de leche filling.

Perhaps one of the most delightful dining room settings in the city overlooks Carré Saint-Louis in the popular Le Plateau quarter, and surprise, surprise, the sift background music is actually tastefully selected and kept at a comfortable volume level. Mille mercies!

If you choose not to stay in the hotel (super great location for summer fireworks watching), then treat yourselves to breakfast, lunch or dinner at one of the city's best-kept secrets. You could even take a workshop session to be a better chef, like Prince William and his wife Kate Middleton did when they visited.

Feel like royalty and spend like a pauper at Hotel de l"institut.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Mr. Gallagher,
Thank you so much for your amazing review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel! You will always be most welcome.
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,773 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $140 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing