We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A+ for all the students!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Institut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de l'Institut
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A+ for all the students!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent one night there in November 2012. It's a really modern hotel and it's a short metro ride or walk to allot of Montreal's attractions.

The students working here did a great job with the service, the cleaning of the hotel room and the food at breakfast.

The only thing that disappointed me was that there was no toilet paper in the washroom when I got in the room. I had to find some in the closet.

The thing that I enjoyed the most was the breakfast that was included with the room. The servers were fantastic and the food was so delicious. It was a mix between a hot breakfast and a continental breakfast. Their pastries were great! The only place I remember eating pastries this good was in Nice in France. I was amazed!

I would stay at this place again since it's fairly priced and you get great service while staying there!

A+ for all the students!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mont Royal. It's nice to see one of Montreal's main attractions from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auditor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    151
    33
    4
    4
See reviews for
81
202
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very well situated, just above a subway station. Superb view of Mont-Royal. The drawback is that it can be a bit noisy at night if there are folks partying late on rue St-Denis. Breakfast is very good, but not worth 20$ (the difference between a single-occupancy and double-occupancy room). The elevator (there is only one) can be a bit slow. The students running the hotel are doing it in a very professional way. I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A romantic weekend to a great location turned sour when the lobby and much of the hotel STUNK of sewage. I tried to ask the desk clerks but they denied everything and acted as if they didn't smell anything. During breakfast I went to he restroom and lost my appetite with the horrible smell. I heard other clients complaining of the odor and the management continued to deny and did absolutely nothing. SUCH a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KraterVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
As a hotel-school, our goal is to ensure the highest quality of products and services provided to our guests. We give importance to each comment that we receive. When we have heard that a smell was present during your stay, we did make some investigations to found out where it could have been coming from. Unfortunately, no reasons really occurred to us why it could smell bad. As writing in the e-mails we have sent you further to your stay, we do feel truly sorry that this was a disappointment during your stay with us.

Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed at L'institut with out teenaged daughter. The hotel is ideally located for shopping, sightseeing and several good restaurants are within walking distance. It is very clean and the staff is very friendly and professional. It is a great choice and it is fun to see the staff in training. We were checked in by a student who had 6 other students (and perhaps an instructor) looking over her shoulder. The hotel is on busy saint laurent, but you do not hear the traffic noise in the room. Overall, the experience was fun and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends.

A few small negatives: the staff does not seem really empowered to deal with problematic situations. The door to our bathroom was difficult to close and almost impossible to open without one person pushing on each side. We called reception almost on checking-in to request that the door be repaired, and the clerk, in a professional manner, advised us that no one was available but that she would advise morning staff. We reported the problem, which did bother us, 3 times with no resolution.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and is lovely, however, we were served the exact same buffet for 4 consecutive mornings. A little variety may have been nice.

You should also be aware that at this hotel, a child is only free in parents room until the age of 13. I booked online and expected our daughter to be able to stay with us for the price of the room, however, we were charged 20 $ extra per night. It would have been nice to know!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are happy you have enjoyed our stay with us! We are sorry we could not fix the sliding bathroom door earlier during your stay and could not offer you an alternative room. One of our mission is to give tools to the students so thay can resolve problem themself. Your feedback is important for us and we will put more efforts in training them to give the best experience as possible to our guests.
As for the extra person over 12 years old, we do ask for an aditionnal $20, since breakfast is included for every guest.
We truly hope to welcome you again!
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
514-282-5120 ext. 4249
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really enjoyed the experience at this 'student' hotel. The staff is out-of-their-way helpful. The rooms were very clean & luxurious....only complaint is the way too small sink in bathroom. The breakfast included was exceptional.....ate eggs benedict, crepes, omelets and the pastries were sooo fresh & delicious. The dining room is beautifully designed to make you feel like you are eating outdoors. The location is good, a little edgy, which gives you a good insight to all of Montreal. Excellent location as we walked to Mount Royal & "Old Montreal" both about 20 minutes away. Must mention the wonderful waiter at breakfast who added to the morning enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livewithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice smallish room with double bed. Small annoyances like no guidance on how to enter parking garage with pass, no indicator in elevator that you need to swipe your room key. Otherwise a pleasant experience in a great area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here recently and had a wonderful experience. We did not understand the context of this hotel from other reviews, however it is important to know that by staying here you are part of a student learning experience. The hotel is the 'living classroom' of Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie and so everything is done by students (under professional supervision of course), including housekeeping, reception, concierge, etc. What does this mean for the traveller? It means that there is no 'usual' hotel foyer but a reception area, there is no bar, nor a gym, laundry, etc. So if these are important to you, you may be disappointed. Having put this in context, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Once we found reception, all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was large, with a balcony over Montreal. It was spotlessly clean with coffee maker (no mini bar if that is important to you). The restaurant served free breakfast daily and we particularly enjoyed the 'student specials' each day. We ate in the restaurant each night as we experienced five-star cuisine at very reasonable prices prepared by student chefs (probably employed next year in top restaurants). There was something nice about supporting the student waiters as they worked under their professor's supervision.

Room Tip: There are only two floors for hotel guests (7 and 8) and all have a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#19 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#35 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#29 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#42 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Institut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Institut

Property: Hotel de l'Institut
Address: 3535 Rue St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Institut 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montréal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hôtel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hôtel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hôtellerie du Québec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de l'Institut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing