We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here recently and had a wonderful experience. We did not understand the context of this hotel from other reviews, however it is important to know that by staying here you are part of a student learning experience. The hotel is the 'living classroom' of Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie and so everything is done by students (under professional supervision of course), including housekeeping, reception, concierge, etc. What does this mean for the traveller? It means that there is no 'usual' hotel foyer but a reception area, there is no bar, nor a gym, laundry, etc. So if these are important to you, you may be disappointed. Having put this in context, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Once we found reception, all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was large, with a balcony over Montreal. It was spotlessly clean with coffee maker (no mini bar if that is important to you). The restaurant served free breakfast daily and we particularly enjoyed the 'student specials' each day. We ate in the restaurant each night as we experienced five-star cuisine at very reasonable prices prepared by student chefs (probably employed next year in top restaurants). There was something nice about supporting the student waiters as they worked under their professor's supervision.

Room Tip: There are only two floors for hotel guests (7 and 8) and all have a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 494 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked this after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor since we had never been to Montreal and we are so glad that we did. We had a beautiful room on the 8th floor (very quiet with a view and balcony). The room was immaculate and very modernly stylish and the king bed was extremely comfortable (with great pillows).This is a training hotel and overall, we found the front desk personnel and the dining staff to be very earnest and helpful (particularly Jennifer at the front desk). The breakfast everyday was delicious - very European and upscale (fabulous coffee, small portions but beautifully presented) and there were many choices from both a buffet and the menu including some delicious specials. Also I loved that they served the breakfast early (starting at 7) so early risers did not have to wait around like in many inns. As has been mentioned, both the subway and bus stations are right there if you are not renting a car. There were also a lot of good restaurants and bars walkable so it is a fun area to explore especially at happy hour (and if you can eat lunch at Robin du Bois, a small restaurant that we just ran across, you will not regret it). When we come back to Montreal, it will be to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank dazse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room looks very good and it is a very comfortable room. In the room you have a coffe machien which you can use for free once. The Hotel is located above a subway station so it is really easy to travel with the subway but walking to downtown is a little bit far, about 20 min walk. The service was pretty good. There is no fitness center in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yotlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who stayed here a couple of years ago. Perfect location, perfect size room, fantastic bed, fabulous service and spectacular food. Would not think of staying any place else.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcleary1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are not luxury travelers since we cannot really afford it, but we like nice boutique hotels or clean and special B&Bs. We were *very* happy that we took a Canadian friend's recommendation to stay here. The breakfast was a plentiful and lovely continental and hot breakfast bar with amazing coffee and pastries. The beds were the most comfortable I have every stayed in. We also found the location to be great. The hotel is basically on top of a metro stop, so you can hop on the train, but it is also only a 30 minute walk down to the Old Town and port and 30 minutes in the other direction to the Park Mont Real. A lot of dining areas and shops are even closer by.

The rooms have a balcony, quite a novelty. We were there during the fireworks festival and had a nice view one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jml41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is an excellent place to stay. The reception and the entire staff was very helpful and accomdating. Great location, close to everything. Metro station is literally next door. I would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAHULSHETH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this hotel well in advance so got a terrific deal on a double room with a breakfast buffet included. The hotel was modern and attractive. Our room had everything we might need, including a 'pod' coffee maker. A nice touch - a couple of vases in the room. We especially loved that we had access to our own balcony. It was really nice to be able to sit outside, given there is no pool or other outdoor area at the hotel. The location can't be beat. We mostly walked everywhere, but did rent Bixi bikes from the stand right outside the hotel. And the subway is right underneath, if we'd chosen to take it. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your review! We trully hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,542 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,414 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 166 in Montreal
2,799 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $172 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing