We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great stay”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #20 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely, modern hotel in a greal location.

Parking and check-in were easy. Student staff members were uniformly attentive. Room was spacious and clean, bed was very comfortable, desk area was ample, bathroom was highly functional, coffee maker was a trip.

Breakfast buffet on a Monday morning was excellent - nice setting, strong coffee, a variety of choices. Everything tasted fresh and real.

Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinnesotaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 486 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent a long weekend in Montreal and found this hotel - recommended by both Fodor's and a Quebecois friend living in Montreal. Located just outside of downtown immediately above the Sherbrooke metro station (and one station from the Berri-UQAM metro/bus terminal). Perfect location for seeing all the sights of Montreal, and less expensive than the old city & downtown hotels. The hotel is part of a hotel school, so the students run the show. The hotel portion is recently renovated with attractive/contemporary decor. Big, comfortable rooms with balconies overlooking the city and Mont Royal. The best part of our stay was the breakfast, which is included in the price. Big buffet every morning - great assortment of delicious food, with a very attentive wait staff (all students I think). Definitely the place to stay when visiting Montreal! We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony room - a few don't have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I booked 3 nights at the Hotel de L’Institut based on Tripadvisor reviews, a DK Top 10 book, and some other internet resources. This hotel is great. I cannot say enough good things about it.

The room is very spacious, quiet, and comfortable, as well as it has a patio. The bed is great and the desk area was more than enough. It was very nicely decorated as well. Having a glass of wine watching the sunset is great. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice, as it was included in the rate. The buffet was nice. The concierges were helpful. We did not eat dinner or lunch here as there are so many choices within a 1km radius. Keep in mind, this is a school for tourism, so a lot of the workers are in training. For the most part everything is fine. English is not a problem for anyone here. To give a comparison, we stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier in Ottawa prior to taking a train to Montreal, and the hotel room was just as comfortable and spacious as my room in Ottawa.

The building is attached to the Sherbrooke Metro / Subway station and a taxi stand is right outside the hotel, so getting around is very convenient. You are about a 15 – 20 minute walk from Old Montreal, and the Rue St. Denis is a very fun and interesting street. Turning right out of the hotel the street is packed with boutique shops and restaurants. Turn left out of the hotel on Rue St. Denis and you are in the Latin Quarter, then Old Montreal.

At the end of the day, I have no complaints about this hotel and only positive reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our stay at L'Institue couldn't have been easier. We drove into Montreal- was quite easy to find, we parked underneath. Check-in was quick. the lobby is impeccable. Our room was unique and spotless. Terrace was a treat and the view was spectacular. The bed was remarkably comfortable. Breakfast was filling and a nice selection, excellent service from entire hotel staff- not one staff person did not greet me with bon-jour. I have no worries about where to stay when I visit Montreal in the future. Highly recommend L'Institue.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Hotel de l'Institut is in a great location for exploring the Plateau and Old Montreal on foot and for exploring the rest of Montreal by public transport. The breakfasts are delicious. The beds are very comfortable. It was great to have a balcony and we were lucky enough to be on the side of the building facing towards Sherbrooke, so we had a beautiful view too. We also enjoyed a delicious supper at the restaurant. We would highly recommend the Hotel de l'Institut!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MES34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We hadn't been to Montreal in awhile and just returned from a 3 night stay at this hidden gem. I was having trouble finding accommodations and came across a listing for this hotel. The rate was incredible ($163/night including taxes and breakfast for 2). The hotel itself is well run, clean, modern and in a location that made exploring easy. The metro is just a few steps away, taxis were always available at the front door and the nearby restaurants (including those on Prince Arthur) made this a perfect spot to stay. We've previously stayed on Sherbrooke, St. Catherine, and Vieux Montreal but loved this area! The hotel was quiet, food was excellent, access was easy and the garage offered unlimited in & outs for the $19 daily rate. The buffet breakfast was wonderful with both hot and cold choice and pastries that melt in your mouth. Lovely balcony where we could watch the sun set over Mont Royal. Small refrigerator was perfect for wines and snacks. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwammy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stay at the Hotel de l'Institut for two nights in July and had a really enjoyable stay. Apparently a few weeks prior to our stay, Prince William and Kate took a cooking class there. http://omg.yahoo.com/news/pics-prince-william-kate-don-chef-jackets-to-take-cooking-class/66415. I guess it's a very famous cooking school as well as a hotel school.

We enjoyed it because it was so quiet and intimate. They only have 40 rooms, so there's never any hustle & bustle. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly.

The rooms were very well appointed -- even had an iPhone/iPod charging station. They are decorated in a modern/tech look but not over the top. The beds were extremely comfortable -- probably the best of the 5 or 7 hotels we've stayed at in the past six months. Our room (#707), like most, had a small balcony (from which we saw some of the International fireworks competition). While not cramped, it was a smaller room than most American hotel rooms.

The hot & cold buffet breakfast was excellent. A good selection of pastries, cereals and fruits and juices. The croissants were really tasty and they had crepes one day and french toast another. The dining room was light & airy and the service very attentive.

A couple knocks would be... a) the heavy curtains didn't block out all the light, so the sun came in from the sides, etc., in the morning. b) the flat panel TV did not carry HD channels (or none that I noticed). c) the hotel only had one elevator for guests, but since it only serviced 40 rooms on only 2 floors, it never was a problem. d) price was good but not a bargain ($225/night)

In our last visit to Montreal we had stayed in the old town, which was in close walking distance to the tourist sites. This visit we did fewer tourist attractions, so the location of Hotel de l'Institut worked out well for us. It's in the heart of the so many fantastic restaurants up and down rue St Denis. It's just a few block away from a park (Étangs du Parc La Fontaine) with playgrounds, ball fields and tennis courts and pretty close to Park Mont Royal. The hotel is also right on top of a metro stop. Parking was in a garage underneath the hotel and reasonably priced ($19/day).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChooChoo4427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#23 of 165 in Montreal
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,754 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $146 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing