We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #32 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with my extended family. Although it is not in the Old City, we actually found it to be a more convenient location. It's right at a subway stop (with signs marking the hotel exit), plus a taxi stand right outside the restaurant & a BIXI bike rental stand across the street in the park. Rue St. Denis is also filled with a great assortment of reasonably priced restaurants & shops/boutiques. I kept on wanting to try so many that I passed.

Room was extremely comfortable. It appears to be recently renovated & done very nicely. I will second another reviewer's comment that the water pressure (only noticeable at the sink) was a little weak, but nothing horrible. The balcony was a nice little perk, mine had a perfect view of the city & a church dome. Another family member's had the perfect view of the fireworks competition. The included breakfast was fabulous: great variety, quality accompanied by good service. Also had several lunches there as well.

Very happy with the L'Institut & glad that we had a chance to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    158
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
83
207
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

excellent location - the food was fantastic, we had breakfast included.
The location is wonderful. Right on the subway line, a lovely walk along St Denis with the trendy and fun shops everywhere that cater to the people who live there and not the tourists.
The rooms were new and so quiet. The beds comfy and new. We were impressed and very pleased with our choice.
The only complaint was the water pressure was a little weak in the washroom.
But everything else was excellent including the helpful staff. We will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellosaraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a gorgeous, modern hotel. The hotel part is small of the building which is part of a tourism institute and cooking school. Our room looked brand new. The beds were ultra comfortable, the bedding was plush, and our room had a balcony wint a spectacular view of Montreal. The hotel was also designed to be "green" with natural bath products and watersaving bath fixtures.

The lobby was sparse but modern, and the concierge was incredibly helpful. One of the best parts, the breakfast - included with our room - was absolutely delicious. On Sunday there is a compelte breakfast buffet, and during the week we ordered off the menu. The waitstaff were wonderful.

We loved the location, right across from a park with a wonderful creperie across the street, as well as close to Plateau and the pedestrian walkway near Rue St. Laurant. There were always cabs out front, but we used the metro as the Sherwood stop is right under the hotel and could not be more convenient.

Parking is 19$ per day in lot under the hotel.

Only drawback is that though wifi is free, the signal in our room was poor.

We loved our stay there and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1212rose1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Hotel de l'Institut. The location is ideal in the heart of the St. Denis neighborhood with a metro stop in the building. The onsite restaurant offers an excellent breakfast buffet that is included with the price of your room. The dinner is also impressive ... great presentation and above average on taste. The rooms offer very comfortable beds and a balcony with tremendous views of the city.
The hotel is run by the students from the connected Institut de tourisme. All the students were off during our summer stay, but the staff they had were all excellent. I also enjoyed the sleek/modern look of the building. Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cckbp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty1234
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel lives up to the excellent reviews at Tripadvisor.com and we love it. It is conveniently located just above the Metro Sherbooke station, one station away from the major hub of Berri-UQAM. It was so easy to get to the Convention Center as it is only 3 stations away. It is modern, clean, friendly and well equipped hotel. The staff at the reception were very professional and helpful. Only 2 floors are occupied by hotel rooms. The rest of the building is the hospitality school. Thus, it never felt crowded in any way. The hotel room was chic and modern and equipped with all the modern facilities including a refrigerator, Nespresso coffee machine, iron, hair dryer, flat screen TV, iPod charger and a nice office chair. Every room has a balcony with a great view of the city. The bed was really comfortable. WiFi is free of charge. We were most impressed by the breakfast which is free with the stay. We had a choice of egg Benedict, egg Florentine or egg with Salmon, crepes, pancake, fruits, cereals, croissant and other pastries, yogurt, salad, etc. Unlike previous reviews, we found the staff very responsive and the service was excellent during our stay. We wish we had a chance to try their $19 Express lunch but it was so popular and was booked out on the day when we wanted to try. Hotel guests also get 20% off for dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday but we did not have a chance to try it. Overall, we are very happy with this hotel and we will certainly return if we visit Montreal again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Booked directly through the hotel. Rate contains breakfast. Breakfast was delicious. Ordered the Salmon Egg Benedict on both mornings I was there. There is a mini buffet breakfast table containing yogurt, cereal (which was really yummy) and fine pastries for you to help yourself on top of the menu order.

They gave me a 20% off dinner voucher for their restaurants to be used only on Tues and Wednesdays. I didn't try it as there were average reviews about dinner and menu wasn't too attractive. But breakfast i must mention again was delicious.

Hotel entrance was a bit confusing. Not clearly marked at all. Hotel didn't feel very warm or welcoming at all. Just felt like people running in and out, wouldn't even know it was a hotel if i wasn't told.

Front desk gave me an early check in which was great. My room was big and spacious. Air cond was a bit weird and noisy. Room had a balcony. Looks like recently renovated and very modern. Even had a mini sofa.

Shower pressure was low, even the tap at the basin was low pressured. Room had electronic safe.

Bed I felt was rather soft, and the quilt was rather dense and heavy which made me wake up a couple of times during the night. Other than that, room was clean.

Front desk mixed up my morning call, i set at 4:30, and they wrote down 7:30. Since breakfast was included and i was leaving so early, they told me that can prepare a small breakfast box which they do everyday for people leaving early. The box contained a fruit, a croisant, a fruit drink and a piece of cheese. Apparently this is ready and sent to the front desk at midnight ready for customer pick up in the morning.

Hotel is right next to Sherbrooke metro which was convenient. Berri station is about a 15 min walk and no elevators or escalators down to metro (that i could find from the bus terminal). This is where I caught the 747 shuttle to the airport.

Had free wifi in room - need to ask for password. Network a bit congested though.

The concierge in front of the restaurant was not very helpful, almost got the impression she wanted to waive me off quickly so she could get back to browsing the net.

Also nearby hotel are restaurants... also very close to the seedy latin quarter (also full of restaurants and very weird people :)).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giraffez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in May, and absolutely loved the look and feel of the place. Cool, modern, edgy, minimalist but still welcoming. The reception staff (like all the staff here - it's a training institute) are young and perhaps a bit inexperienced, but their willingness to help and to provide advice more than made up for this. The room was outstanding - huge bed, excellent bathroom, a balcony looking over trendy rue St-Denis and a lovely park, with distant views of church spires and Mont-Royal. Great sunset.

There were a couple of odd things: the lights over the bed simply didn't respond to any attempts to make them work. They were expensive and really very attractive - but I never did work out how to turn them on. Similarly, just call me old-fashioned, but a coffee machine that has FOUR PAGES of instructions seems to be over the top! The Nespresso thing seems to be complicated just for the sake of appearing sophisticated.

Breakfast is included in the price and is served by yet more trainees. The first morning we had lovely service and excellent food but the second morning really let the side down. We arrived in the dining room and stood about waiting for someone to even acknowledge our presence. There was a great deal of bustling about, people clearing tables, laying new places, taking orders, entering stuff into the computer - but no-one even made eye contact with us. Eventually after about 7 minutes, we were taken to a table by a young woman - who then proceeded to completely ignore us again. I noticed that by now there were perhaps 5 or 6 people queueing at the entrance, being similarly ignored. I managed to grab the attention of one young man and asked if we could please have some service as we had been waiting for well over 5 minutes just to be acknowledged. He mockingly asked me, 'What? Not 6 minutes? Not 7 minutes?' I wasn't impressed frankly. He then arrived with coffee, took our order and bustled off to the kitchen - or somewhere. All up, it took over half an hour from the time we arrived at the restaurant to the time when our food arrived. Something wrong with the curriculum here - it's not a good idea to teach people to completely ignore the guests and then to mock them!

But this long whinge aside, this is a great little hotel, really well situated above a metro station and very close to a vast range of restaurants (although beware - a lot of them I would classify as 'strictly tourist': lovely setting, outside tables, poor service and indifferent and expensive food). I would recommend the hotel, with the proviso that the service may be patchy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#38 of 164 in Montreal
327 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#37 of 164 in Montreal
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
405 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 164 in Montreal
536 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 164 in Montreal
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing