We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have every stayed at”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have every stayed at”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked a 'deluxe king room', the room was in the basement of the hotel, next to the washing machine for the hotel which was constantly running. The room smelled. There were dirty stains all over the floor. The bed was dirty. We could clearly hear conversations in the other rooms. The room was directly underneath the lobby with an old creaky floor - as a result, sleeping well wasn't an option. The bathroom was tiny and also smelled. The toilet did not flush properly. The hotel 'supervisor' refused to change our room even with the clearly low overall occupancy and refused to offer a room near our travel party.
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in - anywhere. Considering the cost of the room, I would rather have stayed at a motel 6.

Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Specifically request not to stay in the basement room upon booking and be prepared to deal with rude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

In reading your remarks concerning the accommodations you recently received at the hotel, I regret to inform you that we do not have basement rooms nor a washing machine. All Deluxe King Rooms are located on the same level as the lobby. Perhaps the hotel was not up to your standards of travel. The Chateau Versailles is a small quant historical hotel that offers our guests a unique experience of old world charm.

If you were not satisfied with you room and we were unable to accommodate your request, we do apologize. As much as possible we ask that you make special room requests prior to your arrival, all could have been arranged prior to your arrival.

I do apologize that we did not meet your needs. Hoping your travels will bring you again to Montreal.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    239
    101
    30
    15
See reviews for
68
253
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lenox, ma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We prefer boutique hotels and inns to chain hotels, which is why we chose this one. I had booked a "deluxe" room, and while the room was fine, it was definitely not deluxe. The paint was peeling, the furniture old and weary. It is nice that they have a Kuerig machine in the room, but a note stating that additional cups will be charged at $2 each - is a put-off. Breakfast was okay if you don't mind hard boiled eggs and canned fruit. The second morning we went out for breakfast.
The staff is wonderful, professional and friendly. $27 for parking is a bit steep. Wifi was good. Frankly I was expecting more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your stay with us and help us become a better hotel. I apologize for the room not being up to par; all of your concerns have been given to the Director of Maintenance so they can be rectified immediately. you kind messages towards the staff will be passed on .

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future, we will ensure your experience is very enjoyable.

Best regards,
Sandie Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ste agathe de lotbiniere
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

originally from montreal, I grew up in awe of this old building... a two night stay years later have me further in AWE!! .. a great stay, wonderful staff all with a smile, a bedroom with REAL old white tiles in the bathroom portion, lots of space, and great choice in the comfy breakfast knook... the only negative was the noisy outside traffic as we were in a front-room, but got used to the noise by night two... a real treat... very well positioned in montreal to do everything on foot, and an AWESOME SPOT!!! bravo to all of the staff!!

Room Tip: try to get a room at rear of building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely enjoyed reading your cheerful review. We are all so glad to hear that you enjoyed the historical charm of the Chateau Versailles. I will be passing on your delightful comments about our staff and property. Upon your next stay with us, just contact us before your stay and we will ensure you get a quiet room facing the garden. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A bit out of central downtown (a 10 minute walk) this hotel is very nicely furnished and comfortable. Breakfasts are of the usual buffet eat what you like type while the staff are competent and helpful. All said a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bub_s869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure reading your review about your great day with us. I will definitely pass on your gratitude to my staff, they will be thankful. We hope that you will return in the near future!

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Chateau Versailles was an excellent choice for us on our first time to Montreal. The staff was
very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and had a fireplace and king size bed which was very comfortable. Bathroom was also very nice. Breakfast was included and
we enjoyed that buffet too. The hotel is not near Old Montreal but it is near a metro station and also a bus runs by the hotel. A taxi cab to Old Montreal cost $15.00.
We would not hesitate to choose this hotel again. Only problem- If you are elderly or with
problems climbing stairs or going down them, the front steps of the hotel are somewhat daunting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver22526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Montreal and also your stay with us at the Chateau Versailles. We hope that you will return in the near future and stay with us once again. If you have any special request, please feel free to contact us! Have a lovely day.

Sincerely,
Nina Toia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

First time at this hotel and we will most definitely return. Warm and welcoming staff, eager to please. Elegant hotel, comfortable bed, spacious and magnificent room with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub and lovely view of Sherbrooke St. Elegant breakfast room. Breakfast features the best coffee, and simple but very adequate breakfast. Although the chocolate croissants are a must have! Valet parking is an added luxury. There is nothing like charm and warmth of a boutique hotel,and the Chateau Versailles does not disappoint!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure reading your review today, on behalf of our whole staff at the Chateau Versailles, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay from start to finish, especially the chocolate croissants; they are addictive! We truly look forward to having you stay with us in the near future, if there is anything you need upon your next stay, please feel free to let us know!

Have a lovely day!

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel receptionists & bell boys very welcoming & helpful. Lovely old historical building with good sized bedroom & comfortable bed, bathroom with bath & shower. Buffet breakfast is served in the charming dining room. Plenty of food & choice. Well located downtown for all amenities, shops, restaurants, attractions & Mont Royal. Close to McGill University, many museums & Churches. Valet parking. Free Wifi is a bonus. There are some steep steps from the street - but worth the climb!

Room Tip: There is no lift so ask for a ground or first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure reading this lovely review! I would like to say thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us we truly appreciate it. I will be passaging on your kind message to my great team, they will pleased to here it! We are glad you got to enjoy the historical charm the Chateau Versailles has to offer along with our great city of Montreal. We all look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. We hope you have a great day!

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#64 of 164 in Montreal
620 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#66 of 164 in Montreal
880 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 164 in Montreal
646 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#70 of 164 in Montreal
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Property: Chateau Versailles
Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing