We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total dissapointment”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #78 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed September 25, 2012

having driven by this hotel many times wanted to treat family visiting from Australia...the hotel is noisy...old needs up grading....the breakfast was OK but the man serving was very rude at 10 am and shut the doors...the afternoon tea was a great dissapointment cups dirty sitting on the tables and not cleared away no cookies or anything else frankly not worth the money try someother hotel in Montreal...

Room Tip: after the first day your coffee is not re filled and asked to pay extra parking takes about 10 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with constructive feed back. I am very concerned that we did not meet your expectations during your visit to Montreal. All of our associates are very well trained in service, I was disappointed that you were not treated appropriately for which I have brought this to the attention of the Banquet Manager to be addressed. As no excuse for the Tea Service, we do indicate that it is provided as a “Self Serve”, as our banquet department closes after breakfast has been served. Looks like we will have to provide a service to make sure that the cookies are replaced. It was a slow start, when we started offering it, but now our clients look for it. Enjoying this little extra. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that you can re-evaluate our performance.

Best Regards,
S.Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having travelled to Montreal for 40 years, I was looking forward to a one night stay at the Chateau Versailles. The exterior is and has always been classically beautiful. The room was a disappointment, starting with the old tan blanket that had exceeded its useful life ten years ago to the black mold in the shower grout in the bathroom shower and the dirty white caulk elsewhere in the shower and bathroom. The bedroom furnishings were 1950s attic, old but not vintage. The location is excellent, and the ownership of this hotel should invest some money in the rooms so that this hotel becomes a true boutique hotel that it presents from the magnificent exterior. The free breakfast is adequate, but nothing special though all the ingredients are there for it to be. It can be a gem without glitz, but unfortunately it is in tired and in need of update. Park at the university lot for $9 instead of the valet for three times a much - the university lot is 3 blocks east on Sherbrooke. Much of all that is offered in central Montreal is within a one km radius.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertZ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for voicing your concerns about the hotel. We are always looking for ways of improving our services. Concerning the bathrooms in particular! We have been verify all rooms, the color of the grout is grey, so I can see where your concerns could be. Never the less we are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. The Chateau Versailles has undergone many changes in the past year including all new bedding, tv’s as well as many other amenities. This will be on going for at least another year. We are keeping the authenticity of the era for which the Chateau Versailles began. I do hope that you will give us another try.
Best Regards,

S. Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I am so glad that I stayed here. It was near most of the things I wanted to see and the few things that were further away were easily accessed by the subway, which was only 3 blocks away.
The room was a perfect size for one person, and I loved that my window opened. Was facing the street but room was quiet.
Breakfast was small but a nice start to the morning.
Would definately stay here again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank charbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the CV more than 30 years ago. We have stayed a half dozen times since and have never been disappointed. With two kids studying at McGill and Concordia we were there for a night at the Labour Day weekend.

We were offered the McGill/Concordia parents discount and got an absolutely delightful room on the ground floor. The window overlooked a courtyard providing nice light but no traffic noises. The room was spacious - but not huge, but had soaring ceilings (14 feet) with very elaborate plaster mouldings and ceiling treatments that appeared to be origonal. There was a gas fireplace which was lovely,but too warm to need it on September 2nd. A king bed, large flat screen TV and 2 good armchairs completed the room. Great coffee maker and a safe in the room too.The bathroom was marble with good water pressure etc. Crabtree and Evelyn products were provided. Wine glasses, drinking glasses and ice bucket were provided.
There is also a simple room service provided.

When we checked in there was complimentary tea and cookies being served in the lounge.

The hotel offers free wifi as well as a computer and printer for guiests use in a quiet nook. I understand there is a fitness room, we did not check it out. Breakfast was included in the room rate. Admitedly it is a cold buffet but lovely. Four kinds of juice, granola, trail mix, cereal, yoghurt, cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, toast, croissants, strudel and pain au chocolat. Good coffee and a selection of teas. The morning papers were there too.

The location of the Chateau Versailles at Sherebrooke and Cote de Neiges is great. You can walk to endless we great places. Parking by vallet is $27 per night and as we were driving and moving 2 kids, we opted for finding street spots. If it was a pure vacation we would simply have done the vallet parking and then walked and used the Metro.

I have been discouraged by comments here about the hotel not being new. THATS WHY WE LOVE IT. If you want new with elevators and underground parking the Chateau Versailles is not for you. There are plenty of new places but this old gem is unique.

Room Tip: If stairs are a prtoblem, mention it when reserving as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaS194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guests,

On behalf of all my associates at the Chateau Versailles Montreal, we want to thank you for your thoughful review. We were delighted to see that our guests appreciate the beauty of the hotel as much as we do!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

S. Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We we really happy with the size of our room and the Sherbrooke Street location.

The staff was impressive. One nice touch was that while their valet parking was expensive, they suggested a more reasonable parking option without trying to upsell us on the valet service.

The downside was that the room was filled had this Louis XIV kitsch chair that had seen better days, the decorative plaster on the ceiling and above the fireplace (which was very large by the way) was excessive to the point of tackiness, and there was a hole in the drywall in the bathroom.

That said, the building itself was lovely, and it was hard not to like the staff there.

I would come back for sure but armed with decorating tips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eemilleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having visited Paris a few years back, we had a good feel for CV from the start. The two stories of narrow stairs and small rooms are very European. Don't expect to be pampered like the big fancy hotels. The complementary breakfasts are great... just love those croissants and apple turnovers. The air conditioning system was a bit noisy at night, and the view was... wasn't.
Would I come back to CV again? Definitely! Clean rooms (except for a few ants in the bathroom) and the location is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful in giving us tips on where to go around Montreal. Our room was nice, very clean, a bit on the smaller side, but we had no problems with that, and we had a nice big window looking out onto the street.

The location was pretty decent, just on the outskirts of downtown, and 2 blocks from a metro station.

The continental breakfast was great, there was lots of variety, and was set up in the quaint tea room with tables and couches to eat at.

Overall, exceptional service, and we were very happy with this hotel (especially since we managed to get an incredible rate by booking through priceline).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 166 in Montreal
286 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#71 of 166 in Montreal
675 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 166 in Montreal
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 166 in Montreal
329 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#91 of 166 in Montreal
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $98 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing