We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #63 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A charming hotel in an lovely area of Montreal surrounded by beautiful buildings dated from the 1920s and 1930s. This former mansion was converting into a charming hotel with character you do not find in the newer brick and mortar hotels that seemed to be mass produced. A lovely Euroopean style breakfast was included and a late afternoon tea, coffee and biscuits were welcome. The room was very clean and the hotel was quiet. We will definately return to the Chateau Versailles when visiting Montreal.

Room Tip: Room 203 on the main floor at the end of the hall was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your enchanting words of wealth. We have striving on suppying excellant customer service to our guests, also glad to hear that you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea service. Looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,

S.Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    230
    96
    29
    15
See reviews for
65
243
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is great. It feels almost like a B&B. It is small enough that the staff recognizes you. Staff were friendly and helpful at pointing out some great restaurants and best Metro stops to use. We go to Montreal at least once a year, and this has been our favorite hotel thus far. The location is great for getting to any part of the city. Only a short walk to Metro stations and the beautiful Mount Royale. Utilizing public transport is easy in this city and will definitely cut down on tired feet.
Room was stylish, clean and comfortable. Surprisingly quiet given it was on a busy street (Sherbrooke). Exercise room and sauna were the nicest I have seen. Afternoon tea is served which is nice if returning from a long day and need tea or coffee. Complimentary breakfast was decent/good for Continental style. Nice assortment of granolas, dried fruits, yogurt and cheese to choose from. Excellent coffee. The dining/tea room is tasteful and a great sunny space to start the day. The only real negative was parking. Though this is typically a problem no matter where you go in Montreal. It was pricey and about 2 blocks from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, during your visit to Montreal. I am happy to see that we lived up to your expectations, I will pass along your nice comments to the associates. We all pride ourselfs on the service we deliver. Sorry to hear that you thought the parking was overpriced, we have done our best to secure parking for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

S.Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been staying at Chateau Versailles since 1996 when my mother died. As ex-Montrealers, we return often to visit family and friends. We had not been down to Montreal for a few years, yet we were greeted by the familiar staff as old friends. We love the location as we can walk easily to all our favourite haunts. We are a short car ride to visit friends. Most of all, we love the intimate feeling of being "home". Breakfasts are of the European variety and always nice. This time there was an added feature of afternoon tea. We have never had a problem with the valet parking but know of the problems with other public lots even those associated with larger hotels. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We now prefer the rooms on the main floor in order to avoid stairs and heavy luggage. We have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guests,

Nice to hear that you were back again! We knew that you would enjoy the extra little touch of having refreshments in the afternoon for our humid days, but also the relaxing afternoon Tea Service to help you unwind. Lucky for the hotel, that all of the associates including myself, think of the Chateau Versailles as our home, they are all very engaging.

Glad to hear that we surprised you and look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Best Regards,

S.Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Chateau Versailles met our expectations according to the reviews we had read. Upon arrival we enjoyed an afternoon tea served in their elegant dinning room. This provided the refreshment and relaxation we needed after our long trip. The staff is excellent, hospitable and helpful. The rooms are quaint and have character, as does the rest of the hotel. We were delighted to have one of the best breakfasts we have ever had at hotel. The fresh pastries, fruits, cheeses etc. were excellent. I gave the hotel the best rating because of all of this and will come back. I do however have an issue with the rooms not having a fan in the bathrooms. I think this gives the entire room a musty smell and would suggest opening a window summer or winter. There is one caution. DO NOT park on the street overnight; USE the valet service or some other parking service. We happened to park on the street and our passenger window was smashed along with several out-of-province vehicles. This is no fault of the hotels though, just a poor choice of ours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just spent the last week at the Château Versailles. Great location for exploring downtown Montreal with access to the subway only a 5 min. walk. Very friendly and helpful staff.

We had a small room on the 2nd floor (main floor) that had lots of traffic in the hallway. This is an old building with squeaky floors and paper-thin walls so bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Nobody in the breakfast area seemed to mention anything in their section of the hotel so it just might be a situation with the rooms on our floor.

The main concern with the hotel has nothing to do with the hotel. Valet parking is available at $27/day or $15/day in a public car lot 2 blocks away. Since there was such a difference with the parking rates, I decided to park in the public lot. When I retrieved my car on the second day of our stay, I noticed that 3-4 vehicles had their windows shattered. Overall, I noticed at least 10 vehicles with shattered windows in the public lot or on the street side parking between the hotel and parking lot during the week. The car did not all belong to clients of the hotels but the doormen said that other hotels in the area had had incidents at the same lot. All the cars I noticed had license plates from Ontario, western Canada and the United States.... Coincidence?

I could of done without the stress of seeing if my car had been broken into every morning but the rest of our stay at the Chateau Versailles was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Stay off the main floor (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebla05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Great location for walking around the city or using the metro system. The staff was very helpful and accomodating and the breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
We were traveling as a family with 8 people for the weekend and, due to an error in booking on our part, were originally given two rooms with single queen beds. Dispight the hotel being full they were able to upgrade one of our rooms (at no additional cost) to one with two queens which was very large and they gave us a cot for each room so everyone was comfortable.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFisher744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spend a few days in Montreal nearly every year. We have occasionally tried other hotels, but keep coming back to the Chateau Versailles for its charm and great location at an affordable price. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel consists of two adjoined19th century mansions, typical of Sherbrooke Street, beautifully restored and decorated in period style but with all the modern conveniences. Some of the rooms are pretty but smallish, but this time we had a lovely large room with a bay window overlooking the street.There was a classy coffee maker in the room and the toiletries are from Crabtree & Evelyn. Free wireless internet in the rooms plus a computer for guest use downstairs.
Breakfast is a delight, with a choice of delicious cereals, croissants, 3 cheeses, hard boiled eggs, jams, pastries and more. Hard not to overindulge.
The weather was hot during our stay. A nice touch in the hotel foyer was a large glass urn of iced water with slices of lemon and orange - very welcome refreshment after pounding the hot pavement outside.
The ceilings are high, so the stairs are steep. Anyone who has difficulty with climbing stairs should ask for a ground floor room.

.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99yl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#66 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Property: Chateau Versailles
Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing