We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean, classy, friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great staff, clean, classy, friendly!”
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Fantastic location- literally seconds away from Rue Ste. Catherine and the nearest Metro stop.

Concierge, front desk were amazing- very accommodating, willing to put my luggage in storage for over a day no cost, very knowledgeable about tourist spots, how to get there, best eats, etc. etc.

Much classier than your typical best western. My room was 100% clean and very spacious and had a great view of the downtown district.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    477
    191
    50
    41
See reviews for
277
349
72
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 2, 2006

I stayed at this hotel and found very nice. The price was reasonable and the service was great. The front desk and conceirge staff were extremly helpfull. I would definetly recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 21, 2005

OVERALL:

We stayed here in August 2005, about the same time as the previous reviewers. We booked somewhat in advance and did not have any issues getting a non-smoking room.

Our room was clean and there were no maintenance problems.

The lobby of this hotel is very nice, although it was a little more spread out / strangely configured than most hotel lobbies. The lobby had a very nice chandelier and fountain. There is a valet / concierge when you enter. It is definitely much nicer than your typical Best Western.

--------------------------------

WHAT WE LIKED:

The staff!!! The two staff, Peter and Rami were outstanding!!!! They bent over backwards to discuss sightseeing ideas, restaurants, directions and to make reservations for us. They were INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful. I received the type of service from them that I would expect at a five star hotel like the Ritz Carlton.

The location was great! It is located a couple of blocks from the Metro, it was very close to the top restaurants in the city and to the beginning of the shopping area. Since it was centrally located, a lot of the places we went were walkable to us (e.g., the old city), although some people who don't like walking may think otherwise.

There was a very nice Lebanese restaurant adjoining the hotel as well as a café. The restaurant seemed a lot nicer than restaurants in other hotels of this price range.

For what you received, you couldn't beat the price in Montreal. Just book far enough in advance with the understanding that depending on who/where you book it from, the price will vary dramatically -- you have to bargain hunt for discounts. We paid less than $125 / night.

-----------------------

WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE:

During our stay, we happened to be across the street from the Omni hotel staff strike. Our room/window was facing the Omni Hotel. With that in mind, they were playing loud music and screaming through megaphones. Although they didn't picket late at night or real early in the morning, it was early enough to be our wake-up call.

NOTE: This is not the hotel's fault and there is nothing they could do about this.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2005

This hotel was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. My friends and I had an exciting weekend planned in downtown Montreal. We had originally booked a non-smoking room. I guaranteed it using my credit card. When we arrived at the hotel, which was at about 2:30 am, we found out there were no non-smoking rooms available. The person at the desk told me that I did not reserve a non-smoking room. He then blatantly lied to me that he checked the reservation system. Because when I called Best Western, they checked and it clearly said NON-SMOKING. Anyways we had to settle for a smoking suite. We soon realized that the suite had a leaking ceiling. They told us they would work on the ceiling. In addition, the room was extremely musti and one of my friends had an asthma condition. Because of the smoke, she was not in the best shape. They then promised us another room. They explicitly told us that we could get another non-smoking room as a room had cleared up. But then when we got back to the hotel after a few hours, they said they had fixed the ceiling and that there were still no rooms available. The hotel did absolutely nothing for us. They couldn't move us to another room because the hotel was packed. For our troubles they gave us a $25 credit for the cott we used. In addition they gave us a complimentary suit cover that said Best Western. We were not impressed. We filed a complaint with the Best Western Customer Service. The general manager replied that there was nothing else he could do. The general manager explicitly told me "Sir we had to maximize our revenue that night."
Please do not stay here. This hotel doesn't deserve squat. They do not deserve to be licensed. They do not deserve to be standing on the ground they are on. In the end, Best Western Customer Service, gave us 2 free nights by crediting us Gold Crown Points. The hotel is independently owned so they can do whatever they choose to do to their customers. Best Western Customer service was even surprised at how poorly the hotel handled the situation. The general manager is simply not a nice person and has no feelings towards his customers. These are the plain facts. Email me if you have any questions or concerns about what happened.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank freq_flyer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2005

This hotel is very good located, the rooms are ok, the bathroom is ok. However the price per room is very expensive, I paid 370 $ for 3 nights.

My problems with this hotel, started when I went into my room. I asked for a non smoking room and I found my room terrible smoked. It smelt disgusting. I asked for another room, but they couldn't change my room, because the hotel was completed that weekend.

My first night was terrible. I ask the second night for new sheets and blanket, etc. They told me ok, but they didn't replaces them. On the top of all the street is very noise!

I don't spend too much time in the hotel, The only thing I want is a clean room, a good bed and silent. And I didn't get it from this hotel and I spend lots of money in it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank anonima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
#64 of 165 in Montreal
873 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,600 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#42 of 165 in Montreal
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Address: 3407 Peel St, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1W7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Montreal
#28 Family Hotel in Montreal
#44 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ville Marie Hotel And Suite
Best Western Ville Marie Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing