We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great location located right downtown Montreal, lots of restaurants nearby. Close to Metro and Bell Centre. Poor maid service, she never swept the floor even though it clearly required it. Dated rooms with newer furniture.

Room Tip: If you have a government job use your rate...almost 50% off even over the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalhousiedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa. I greatly appreciate you taking the time in bringing the floor & housekeeping issue of your room and I apologise for any inconvenience you may have experience because of it.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we look forward in accommodating your future travel needs.


Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in January when we were in town for an event at the Bell Center. Location is probably the best thing about this hotel, but we also had a great room with a King Sized bed that was very comfortable. The person at the front desk who checked us in wasn't overly friendly or helpful, but that didn't matter much once we were in and settled. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will probably stay here again the next time we are in town.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

I'm sorry to read that your front desk associate did not meet your expectations, feedback like this enables us to correct and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Your candid feedback will be shared and use as reinforcement to continue our efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.


Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family two separate nights. First time we were given a renovated room and it was very nice. When we got back into Montreal after visiting Quebec City we had a choice of an older room or the "penthouse" room. We picked the penthouse. Honestly we thought the first room we had was much cleaner and nicer than the penthouse.So try to get a renovated room and you will definitely love it. The location was great and the staff was very accommodating and nice. I would stay here again if I'm back in Montreal.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh3237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of you delightful experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature, your comments

will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.


Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times now as this is very conveniently located near the Bell Center for our occasional concert trips. Also close to one of our favourite Montreal pubs, the Irish Embassy, and a half block from the madness of Ste. Catherine street. Rooms are comfortable and clean and recently they have added a restaurant that we've yet to check out but looks nice. Excellent staff too. Can get a little noisy from partying concert fans or hockey fans in for the NHL games, but that's usually why we are there too...so it's all good!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your pasted experience at the Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

Your comments are very important to us and will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue our efforts to make the Best Western Plus Hotel Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.


Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this hotel with my Mother. It is convenient, the rooms are very well appointed and the staff could not be more helpful. The rates are reasonable. There is a lovely restaurant which is owned independently and the food was good. There is a parking lot across the street and the cost is a max of $25 per day. For the city of Montreal that is reasonable. I will definately stay there again should I need to overnight in the city.

Room Tip: 502 is high enough that you do not hear a lot and close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of you delightful experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature, your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.

Happy New Year 2014!
Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. The rooms are VERY small. You can't even sit on the toilet without hitting your knees on the tub. The service was pathetic. It claims to be a non-smoking hotel, but it stinks of smoke! Parking is ridiculous! It's across the street and is overpriced! $20 for a car - $40 for a truck, which they don't tell you anywhere on their website. I had to fight with this hotel to get a refund for over a month after my stay.

Room Tip: do not stay near an elevator or ice machine, the walls are super thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tandarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel Best Western Hotel Europa. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself.

You are a valued patron and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having stayed at several other hotels in Montreal over the past 10 years, we finally decided to give Hotel Europa a try. It's clean, affordable, and just a block and half from the Bell Centre, with several good brew pubs within walking distance for a quick burger and beer before a Habs game. Paid parking is available in a lot right across the street. On-premises restaurant convenient for a full breakfast with local (French language) newspapers. Free Wi-fi available. On the negative side, the room was small, the hallways reeked with an overpowering smell of disinfectant, and we never did figure out how to adjust the temperature in the minifridge. It was plugged it but remained at room temperature, with no temperature control visible on the front, sides, back, or bottom of the unit. Big mystery, but no big deal.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request an inside room, away from the street. Like any city location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLover57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor community regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Hotel Europa.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you sharing your comments with us, and look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#69 of 165 in Montreal
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#39 of 165 in Montreal
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing