We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this hotel with my Mother. It is convenient, the rooms are very well appointed and the staff could not be more helpful. The rates are reasonable. There is a lovely restaurant which is owned independently and the food was good. There is a parking lot across the street and the cost is a max of $25 per day. For the city of Montreal that is reasonable. I will definately stay there again should I need to overnight in the city.

Room Tip: 502 is high enough that you do not hear a lot and close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of you delightful experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature, your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.

Happy New Year 2014!
Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. The rooms are VERY small. You can't even sit on the toilet without hitting your knees on the tub. The service was pathetic. It claims to be a non-smoking hotel, but it stinks of smoke! Parking is ridiculous! It's across the street and is overpriced! $20 for a car - $40 for a truck, which they don't tell you anywhere on their website. I had to fight with this hotel to get a refund for over a month after my stay.

Room Tip: do not stay near an elevator or ice machine, the walls are super thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tandarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel Best Western Hotel Europa. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself.

You are a valued patron and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having stayed at several other hotels in Montreal over the past 10 years, we finally decided to give Hotel Europa a try. It's clean, affordable, and just a block and half from the Bell Centre, with several good brew pubs within walking distance for a quick burger and beer before a Habs game. Paid parking is available in a lot right across the street. On-premises restaurant convenient for a full breakfast with local (French language) newspapers. Free Wi-fi available. On the negative side, the room was small, the hallways reeked with an overpowering smell of disinfectant, and we never did figure out how to adjust the temperature in the minifridge. It was plugged it but remained at room temperature, with no temperature control visible on the front, sides, back, or bottom of the unit. Big mystery, but no big deal.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request an inside room, away from the street. Like any city location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLover57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor community regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Hotel Europa.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you sharing your comments with us, and look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Does not look like it from the outside but great hotel! Entirely renovated recently. Large, nicely decorated and crisp clean room. Great service, great food, choice of two restaurants.
Will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank smarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Hotel Europa, were our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our renovated rooms and let me inform you that we are also in the process of renovating the outside in few phases.

I will share your king comments with the two restaurants associates who are always thrill to learn from feedback of all our valued guests such as yourself.

We look forward in welcoming soon.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

hotel is excellent, but be ware there is no parking especially for a suv. there is a parking lot across the street that is operated by some eastern origin. they are very ignorant and try to scam you as soon as you arrive. they would not let me park and check in. they wanted cash right away. when I checked in the parking was 5 dollars cheaper. when I went back to park the guy took my Lincoln and speed through parking lot with it to park and said if not off his lot by 12 next day it will be towed. We will never return to this hotel. after telling hotel staff they said they will pay for our breakfast at cora's in the morning,(the hotel restaurant) We gave coupon to restaurant after breakfast, was told coupon was only for scrambled eggs. we had to pay!!! Not a good experience especially when you don't speak French....... We went to Celtic's game.

Room Tip: THERE IS NO PARKING!!!!!!!!!!!! anything larger than a Hyundai,,,,good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Hotel Europa.

We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself.

I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments and I can assure that the proper actions have been taken. We truly apologize for not informing on the different parking options.

It is our goal to consistently exceed our guest expectations and we are sorry to hear that this was not accomplished during your stay.

It would be our pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was gladly surprise by the hotel, it is great value for the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean, service is very good. The location is excellent.
I will stay there again in my next visit to Montreal.

I will like to congratulate the General Manager for the excellent job they are doing .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience about your stay at the Best Western Hotel Europa. I remember talking to you in our lobby area and you giving me feedback about your stay.

On behalf of our entire team and myself I would like to thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The purpose of this trip was to attend the opera gala of “Lakmé” to commemorate the 50 years of Place D’Arts. It was a 24 hour trip to the city of Montréal. Hence this hotel was first selected on the basis of easy access to public transit. Easy to access from airport if using the “stm 747 shuttle buses” - on René-Lévesque Blvd, stay between the corners of Peel Street and rue Drummond, it would be approximately a five to ten minutes walk. The hotel is very close to Peel metro station.

Staff are pleasant, from the front of house to the chamber services, caretakers are nice and professional. The room assigned was clean, neatly kept and with nice furniture. The bathrooms were clean and sanitized. This hotel is very convenient if you are a pragmatic traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Hotel Europa, were our vision is To Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

We are delighted to hear your acknowledgement towards our associates, from the Front Desk to our Housekeeping department.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#69 of 165 in Montreal
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing