We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed August 11, 2013

On arrival the receptionist told us only parking was across the road from hotel, car park if you call it that was a bit of ground that a rude local takes your $25 and was told by receptionist it may not be safe so bring everything inside. The lobby looked ok , but once u got into the rickety lifts it was a different story. The corridors to the rooms were shabby dated and the carpet was a trip hazard due to creases and smelly. The room was bit dated but ok ,but compact . Outside the hotel you are quite a distance from things to see apart from Clothes shopping. Wouldn't recommend going out after dark as the hotel is down side street and didn't feel safe. Didn't think Montreal was as nice as Quebec or Ottawa
Wouldn't recommend staying here unless you just want a small room to lay your head .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Huge room but the washroom was very small and cramped. Very quiet. Comfortable bed. Excellent downtown location near shopping, entertainment and the Metro (subway). Good help from the front desk staff except for parking. The night clerk referred us to the open parking lot across the street for $20 a day. Due to previous reviews on TripAdvisor, we found another in-door parkade for only $16 a day but with live human 24 hour monitoring and access. It was less than a block away. Not sure why the front desk staff don't refer to any parking lots other than the one across the street but that certainly doesn't reflect well on the hotel. The hotel was great and quiet and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a single King-size bed from a single Queen-size. Not sure why but the bed was ve...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my two sisters for one night. We were attending a concert at the Belle Center. We really only needed the hotel to sleep in. The location is great, one block from the Belle Center and one block from Saint Catherine's street. Room was average, but it was sufficient for one night (except there was no curtain on the window). No issues checking in. There is free wi-fi. No continental breakfast as there is a restaurant there so they obviously want you to use that. No parking garage but there is parking right across the street, $25 a day, had no issues getting in or out. Overall average hotel but great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Let me start off by saying that we got a great deal on this hotel from Hotwire, so I'm basing the review on the amount that I paid.

We spent four nights in this hotel and everything was great! The rooms are definitely the smallest I've ever seen, but at the same time they had everything you need, and aren't cramped. For two people they were perfect. The bed and pillows were also great! There is a large flat screen on the wall, and there's a working mini fridge in every room! The bathroom was clean, but also on the small side. My biggest complaint was that the shower pressure was pretty weak.

Our friends had an upgraded room with two beds, a spacious bathroom and separate desk/office area. Again, considering the price difference, the standard room was great.

The location can't be beat. Right in the middle of nearly everything, I was very pleased with this location.

The staff were friendly and helpful (very fluent in english too).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile



I Stayed in this hotel a few years ago because of it's convenient location for downtown shopping and dining.
It has since been renovated and I was very pleased with the changes. The rooms seem cleaner now that they have replaced the carpeting with laminate flooring.

That said, the bathtub in our room was weird, i would describe it as "spongy" the floor of the tub was not solid and you could feel yourself sinking a bit while standing in it!

Regardless, the Room was clean and quiet and I will continue to return here for weekend getaways.

We paid to park in the garage across the street (Stanley parking). There are no elevators in there, so consider that before lugging your bags up or down several levels.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is fairly inexpensive and so convenient to everything I wanted to see/do in Montreal. The room was clean with hardwood floors and comfortably sized rooms. Just blocks from the art museum, shopping and local bars. 20 minute walk to old town, four blocks from subway (easy access to Olympic Park, etc.), 1/2 mile from Montreal Central Train Station. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Room was clean and quiet. The bathroom is small, but that didn't phase me. I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to others.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Sharondipitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I found the Hotel Europa is a good compromise between paying stupid bucks and getting a place where you can comfortably do business or leisure.

The GYM and toproof terrace are perfect for exercise, WiFi works very well, you are just 2 minutes from the stop of the 747 bus to the airport and from the underground and right in the city centre with a taxi stop just a minute away.

There are restaurants of all kinds everywhere. For I drink I recommend Brutopia brewery which is two streets away following St. Catherine's ave.

Room Tip: 6th floor... you have the GYM and the toproof terrace at hand
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogallego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
673 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#37 of 165 in Montreal
1,695 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $131 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing