We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    480
    309
    93
    62
See reviews for
215
416
107
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

DO NOT GET ROOM WITH THE TINY BATHROOM! We are both not big but could not sit on the toilet properly. You either had to straddle it or sit SIDEWAYS.
Hotel too full to get moved until next night. It is worth it to pay more for larger facilities.
Room was kept very clean. This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and had had no problems before..
Wonderful location. Cora restaurant attached to the hotel is great open 6-3. Had to wait to get in but wait was not too long and food excellent. Plus there was another new hotel restaurant opened in hotel itself was ok but we only had pizza. Open 11-11 except Sunday. Parking is now $15.00 per day, in/out privileges on Stanley Street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is well situated in downtown Montreal; it is clean and the staff are friendly. But overall I am not impressed. Maybe I am just picky but I have problems with the following: 1) not possible to open windows, so you are stuck with (noisy) recirculated air; 2) no recycling in sight 3) every time I have gone past the restaurant there has been a long line-up of people waiting to get in. This is not my idea of eating out so I haven't even tried to go there.

There are a lot of young people hanging around outside - not sure why but they don't seem to be tourists. They don't seem friendly either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is clean, the staff are friendly, and it is very close to all of the shopping and restaurants. It is perfect for a one or two night stay (the rooms are a little small). The price was excellent compared to other places in the same area. I loved how the rooms had hardwood flooring. The restaurant attached to the hotel seems nice - we didn't eat/drink there but it had a fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keatherl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of a road trip because my husband is a Best Western card holder.
No breakfast, so expensive to my mind.
Room - small by North American standards (but huge in comparison to some European hotel rooms I've stayed in!), but one of the larger small rooms (knew it was a small room on booking, but it was only for one night). The bathroom was cosy/cramped depending on your viewpoint - amazed that they got a bath with shower, a toilet and a sink in there.
The bed was comfortable and the room clean, with hard surface flooring (I prefer this to carpets).
Lobby/reception impersonal and staff cool and (semi) professional (no acknowledgement of guests waiting at Reception desk when staff on the 'phone - not just me).
Wouldn't stay again nor really recommend this to a friend. Nothing wrong, but nothing special either.
Tip : the undercover parking is cheaper and about 2 minutes walk from the hotel - pre pay at hotel to get a discount. The outside ground parking is more expensive (why? it is looks like a bomb site and has no security fence around it) but is opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWplusEuropa, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear sdsw12,

We thank you for taking some time out of your schedule to write us a review. We try our best in offereing the best customer service for all our guests. We will use guest reviews such as yours to see where we may improuve our customer service and correct ourselves.

We hope that you understand that the parking lots in the downtown areas are independently owned and has no affiliations with the hotels in the same area. Even tho it is a 2 minutes walk back to the hotel, we usually suggest the interior parking for the best convenience, value and most importantly the safety for the guests belongings.

In hopes that you would give us a chance to better welcome you in the future, please accept our kindest regards.

Simon P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in Montreal for the first time. We chose Best Western as we have always stayed at one whenever we travel. We picked the BW Hotel Europa due to it's location.
First I must say that our stay at this hotel was enjoyable. The location was perfect. The room, was a nice size, very clean, hardwood floors, comfortable bed. The bathroom however was a little smaller than expected but it was clean (most important!). The staff at the front desk was courteous and friendly. If there was one negative, the windows faced an internal courtyard so there was absolutely no view except for the rooms on the opposite side. But since we spent such little time in the room anyway, this was easily overlooked.
But....and this is the public awareness part. On the 2nd night of our stay, our car window was smashed and someone went through the inside of our car. Fortunately since I do not keep anything valuable in the car, nothing was stolen. We found our car this way on the morning that we were leaving for our trip home. We had parked in a public parking lot across from the hotel. This parking lot charged $25 per night and it had a Best Western sign clearly displayed, which is why we chose to park there. Long nightmare short, we made it back to Toronto with a broken taped up window. However, please be aware, neither the hotel or Best Western corporate will step up to assist you in anyway. You are on your own to absorb all costs. Despite contacting the hotel and Best Western corporate, they distanced themselves from any accountability. We were told by a local that cars with out of town plates are targeted in this area. So please be aware of this if you chose this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 304 faces an internal courtyard/roof. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conkersdvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWplusEuropa, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Conkersdvb,

Thank you for taking some time out of your schedule to write us a review. We are sorry to learn about the incident for your car. It is with regret that we can not assume any responsability as the parking is independently owned by a different owner and has no affiliation with the hotel. However, we do feel that it is at least our duty to assist you in this matter. We would like to welcome you back with us on your next visit to Montreal. Please call us on your next reservation and we will work something.

In hopes of welcoming you back with us, please accept our kindest regards,

Simon P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

You couldn't be better situated, this hotel is in the heart of downtown Montreal within walking distance to everything.

I made the reservation online for a queen room and added a special request for a room in a quiet part of the hotel away from the elevators. When I checked in, I was warmly greeted by the receptionist who observed my request and situated me on the fifth floor. It was quiet.

The hotel information stated the queen room had a small fridge and microwave. I had a small fridge but no microwave although, I expect if this is important, the staff would be willing to accommodate you.

My room was spotlessly clean, with hardwood flooring rather than carpet and it's nice to see hotels making the transition from carpets which can trap smells and make keeping them clean quite a challenge for housekeeping.

The bed was comfortable and clean. There was a large, actually very large flat-screen TV on the wall. The room was small and this has been noted by other travelers however, it wasn't an issue for me as I was traveling alone, but two people would be a squeeze. There is no additional seating area aside from the chair at the work desk. Bathroom clean, although the shower curtain looked like the previous occupant had let a cat climb up it. Air con, was efficient and not noisy. The photos on the Best Western Website are fairly accurate but of course, the angles do not give a good perspective of the room size.

It seems as though the hotel is kind of mid-renovation because although some parts of my room had obviously been updated, (floors, desk, furniture) there was some inconsistency as the wallpaper in the room looked dated and the bathroom tiles similarly seemed to have missed Mr. Renovator.

There is a restaurant in the building, it does not belong to the hotel, however, they do offer room service which may be appealing to many people. Breakfast may be eaten at Chez Cora also in the building. But, this Chez Cora seemed to be a bit off the day I visited, food greasy and not cooked to perfection. But, those things can easily change depending on who's cooking that day and in this area, there are many excellent places to eat breakfast.

There is no bar, so don't arrange to meet friends for cocktails, the lobby is OK, there is a small store in the lobby which sells ridiculously expensive items you could buy nearby for a fraction of the price.

There is an ice machine and soft drink dispenser. Staff consistently pleasant and accommodating.

Think of this as somewhere clean, affordable and central to stay rather than somewhere to lounge around in and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Decide which facilities would be important for you and compromise as necessary. Eg, space versus pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachPebbleQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#68 of 164 in Montreal
627 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#46 of 164 in Montreal
1,616 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Property: Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing