We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
kingston,on
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Location and Price”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My daughter and I took an overnight trip to Montreal and stayed at the Best Western Europa. Over thirty years ago I had worked in downtown Montreal and decided to stay in the area I was somewhat familiar with and knew that we could easily walk to the attractions that we were interested in seeing. We also decided to stay somewhere reasonably priced and spend our money on shopping and restaurants. We paid $134 including tax with the CAA rate for a large room with 2 double beds. The location was excellent, right in the heart of Montreal, less than ½ block to fabulous shopping on St Catherine St, less than a five minute walk to the nightlife and restaurants on Crescent St, and a scenic ½ hour walk to Notre Dame Basilica and the charming sites of Old Montreal. The Bell Centre is a block away. The hotel is a small, fairly quiet hotel, and check in/out were simple. We loved the comfortable beds and pillows, in fact we purchased four new pillows at the front desk when we checked out. We liked the fact that there is no carpeting in the room, I think it’s some kind of laminate or vinyl, but it seemed much cleaner than having carpet. The room had everything we needed including a small fridge. After spending a few hours exploring St Joseph's Oratory and Mount Royal earlier in the day, we parked our car in the lot directly across from the Best Western. We arrived at the lot after 4pm and paid $30 for parking until approximately 5pm the next day. If we had left by noon the next day, the cost would have been $20. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel called Cora’s. We didn’t eat there but have eaten at several other Cora’s and always enjoy the food. They serve a wonderful breakfast, usually accompanied by lots of fresh fruit. There is another restaurant inside the hotel, Resto Pub Serge Henri. We also didn’t eat there but when we looked at the menu the next morning, it looked very reasonably priced and there was a good selection of food. We both agreed that if we came back to Montreal we wouldn’t hesitate to stay again and would recommend the Best Western Europa to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced, clean, central hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pencilcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    503
    318
    101
    65
See reviews for
230
444
112
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, personally I did not like the wooden floor, but other than that it was a reasonable room, clean toilets. Very easy and quick check in and out. The best thing about the hotel is not the accommodation rather the location. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from Rue St Catherine, this is the main street of Montreal, lots of restaurants and shopping, malls close by all within walking distance. It was a 15 minute walk to McGill University and a 25 minute walk to Old Montreal. Also it was a 10 minute walk from the train/bus station. Certainly recommend it to a family looking only for a place to sleep within walking distance of food and things to see. Good service with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuHammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It did not get off to the best of starts. When we arrived at reception we asked where we should park as there was two car parks with BW signs near by and was informed they did not have any parking facilities and it was up to us where we parked, not particularly helpful! It was also difficult to get a WiFi connection in our room but it was OK in the reception area.
However, overall the hotel was good value for one in such a good central location. The room was spacious and well furnished with all the usual room facilities you expected in a good hotel. The bed was comfortable and the hardwood floor gave a clean fresh feeling to the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Georges, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. For business purpose, the room size is correct. And even for a couple who wants a room at a good price and not far from the downtown to visit, it's perfect. The bathroom was clean. I highly recommend it and I will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this facility. The room was clean and spacious. Staff was very helpful. On premises restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The downtown location was excellent. Would return again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldecker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights prior to a cruise. Hotel room was small, well furnished and a comfortable bed. Bath was very tiny but all the amenities and felt very European. Very clean and neat. Staff very helpful. PC in lobby for guest use was a nice touch. No breakfast but was within 2 block walk of several cafes and bistros with reasonably priced breakfasts. Half block from Rue St. Catherine with major shopping and fun stores. 2 blocks from lively night life on Rue Crescent with a variety of clubs, restaurants, music spots, etc. Fun to walk around, felt very safe.

An easy 25-30 minute walk to "Old Montreal" ( we are retired and didn't have a problem).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curiousgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel, good location as it is right downtown, clean, Staff helpfull and friendly, room was clean and tidy but quite small, normal ammenities for a Hotel of this class. Very suprised no breakfast was offered, most Best Westerns now offer a reasonable full breakfast. There is a breakfast and Lunch place on site but pricey, nothing under $10.( Chez Cora ).

Stay away from the restaurant on the Mezzamine, ( Resto Pub Chez Henri ) poor value and cold atmosphere, paid $7.95 ea. for two very small glasses of wine, pizza was less than memorable, pasta good but served without any bread. For $50 not good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuswap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#70 of 165 in Montreal
659 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#40 of 165 in Montreal
1,664 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Property: Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing