We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT a hotel anymore!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Montfort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Montfort
Ranked #117 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT a hotel anymore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

I last stayed at the Montfort five years ago and it excellent and economical so I now that I'm planning another visit to MTL, I decided to try it again. Only problem is, they are no longer a hotel but an apartment building according to the gentleman who answered the phone. Time to update your information Trip Advisor! Jan 2009.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Larryliscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

I lived at Le Montfort for five months from April to August 1999 while studying in Montreal. A great place and a fantastic home away from home. The appartment was very roomy, the staff friendly and helpful, and the view from my 14th floor-terrace (and from the rooftop terrace) over Montreal and the St. Laurent are unbelieavble. I'd always come back!

Stayed April 1999
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2004

My Wife and I have stayed there for vacations for almost 20+ years and we noticed the changes over the years and for the most they were changes for the better. One area they could improve on is the elevator system, which is terrible. During the day the house cleaning staff use the main elevators and tie it up from guests trying to get to or from their rooms. Additionally the front desk staff don't always answer the telephone in a quick fashion probably due to low or non existant staff being at the counters. However the location is perfect for any visitor to Montreal and its a few blocks away from almost any where you would like to go. Two metros within walking distance. Main streets of Ste. Catherine & Sherbrooke a short walk away. Two shopping centers and easy access to the main highway system in Canada.

Staff is very friendly, place is very clean and yeah at times there are a noisy element especially during the summer months. Pool is wonderful, sauna and weight room and well as game room available, under ground secure parking with easy access a plus. Fine eating and dinning across the street at Chez Ennios as well as your local fare of McDonals and Wendys as well as Post Office and hospitals within walking dstance. All and all a great place to stay. Highly recommend this hotel. But be prepared as I said to wait for an elevator, especially if your room is on a floor higher than Floor 8..! You couls always use the stairs...

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2004

We stayed at the Le Montfort for 3 days in late May. We had a suite with kitchen facilities, for a reasonable price (Expedia).

Advantages: comfortable beds, good kitchen facilities (anyone staying for a week or more could save a bundle on food costs, although the can opener in our suite was blunt so I bought one to take with us), conveniently located between 2 subway stops. Atwater to the west has a mall and a cinema/entertainment complex, convenience stores every hundred paces or so.

Disadvantages: somewhat overheated for the season, but there were windows to open. Unfortunately this let in the noise from the main street traffic below, including sirens at 3 am.

Staff: neither pleasant nor rude. Overall they were helpful, although it took a while to have 2 lightbulbs replaced when we moved in.

Recommend for families or couples on an extended stay of 3 days or more.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener,Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2004

We almost didn't stay here because of Jan.2004 review. We did and it worked out beautifully.Great location,the kids enjoyed the nearby cool stores,close to downtown, art museum,McGill.Clean rooms,handy kitchenette and separate living room from bedrooms suited different sleeping patterns. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank sharmc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2004

This place is horrible!! Their prices are too high and the staff was very rude..Their rooms are nothing like what they look like on their website. The place is a dump.I would never stay there again.I stayed for one night and changed hotels the next day. I paid the same price for a four star hotel just down the street.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bravebal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2003

We stayed during Grand Prix Weekend. Maid service everyday during our stay. Rooms were super clean and close proximity to a subway (about 2 blocks away).Everything was within walking distance (shopping, restaurants). Staff was fantastic. Will definitely stay there again.
Parking is off site but within walking distance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Canuck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#68 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#63 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#87 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montfort

Property: Le Montfort
Address: 1975 De Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Montreal, Quebec, this apartment building is less than 3 blocks from subway access and a 15-minute walk from Mount Royal Park. It features a gym and sauna. The studio apartments at Le Montfort are equipped with flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. They are furnished with a dining area and a kitchen complete with microwave, toaster and refrigerator. Guests at this Montreal apartment building receive complimentary access to the indoor pool and top floor terrace featuring a panoramic view of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Montfort Montreal
Le Montfort Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing