We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE and LOCATION!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de l'Argoat
Ranked #31 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE and LOCATION!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent 3 nites in Montreal and did not want to drive so I spent a lot of time researching hotel - I did GOOD!! Location is a couple blocks from 2 metro stations, one being a MAIN intersection and of course bus lines. We bought 3 day metro passes and they were very useful! Hotel room is VERY adequate, beds are comfy, private bath, quite nice continental breakfast. The staff was VERY helpful, Alain was like having a private concierge service - great suggestions especially as we had a couple rainy days which limited our options. Compared to costs of other hotels in the area, this was excellent for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    207
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
96
210
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Highly recommend this great, quaint spot in the Latin Quarter. Super friendly staff, great price, and clean. Bathroom was super tiny though but all rooms are different. The room was very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superfundue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our visit to Montreal, and staying at the Chateau de l'Argoat was a big reason for that. I had researched many Montreal hotels on TripAdvisor (learning that you must be careful about price vs. Location as many seem to be youth hostels) and on paper, the Chateau de l'Argoat seemed perfect and thankfully it was. Our room (22) faced the street and the traffic noise was not bothersome.
The room, like the rest of the hotel is graciously appointed, featuring an extremely comfortable bed and nice artwork, much more of which lines the walls of the hotel. The dresser and closet are a little small but really just the right size - we stayed for six nights and likely had more clothes than the average long weekend traveler. The bathroom is nicely decorated in black and white, and as other reviewers have noted, the tub is smaller than one might be used to, but this is made up for by the excellent water pressure, artisinal soaps and towels that, while unscented, don't have that stale hotel linen smell.
You must not miss the petit-dejeuner breakfast. We tried everything available and each
muffin, bagel, toast and especially the pain au chocolat, was served warm and fresh and was extremely tasty. Not to be missed.
Every member of the staff were friendly, helpful and eager to see us have a good visit. They graciously tolerated my attempts to communicate in French but, for those who speak no French, they all were very conversant in English . The desk staff were extremely knowledgeable about the city and their recommendations for daily trips (even requests to do things off the regular tourist's path) were readily accommodated.
Lastly, the Argoat is near everything, whether a five-ten-fifteen minute walk or an easy ride from the metro station across the street. I recommend getting a several-day pass as nearly everything in Montreal, if not easily reached by foot, is right near a metro station.
Leave the car behind (hopefully you noticed in the other reviews that the hotel has free parking).
I highly recommend staying at le Chateau de l'Argoat if you will be in Montreal. And remember even if you don't speak French, a bright bonjour, merci and excusez-moi go a long way.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobinku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed there with our small army (husband, 4 Year-old daughter, 19 month-old son and 100lb black lab!) for two days as we were participating in a Concordia concert and visiting family and friends. We rented the suite, which was a proper two bedrooms, rather than a bedroom and a living room.

The main bedroom had a 4-poster queen bed and a sofa bed (I actually don't know what the sofa bed looks like closed, since they set it up for us upon our arrival and we never looked back. Then there is a long hallway with a toilet room and a bathroom (with jet tub and separate shower). On the other side of the hallway was the second bedroom with a queen-sized bed and little room for much else than the closet.

You don't stay here for the views. You stay here for the fantastic architecture, hardwood floors, amazing location (south end of the Plateau, steps from shopping, restaurants, festivals and Sherbrooke metro if you want to go to any of the attractions), and the SERVICE. Now my standards are high to begin with... they blew everything out of the water, for me and my mini-clan. Took my baby bottles and washed them, gave me a hand when they saw mine were too full, provided a bowl for the dog while we were still unloading, had us eat in a separate room so the dog could stay with us and we didn't cause too much raucous.

Now my husband, who is a lover of room -service, was disappointed that there was no in-house restaurant and that the breakfast was mediocre day one. He also wished the art in the room was nicer and that there was coffee in the room (which I highly recommend the hotel thinks about doing... low cost, HIGH satisfaction). Regarding breakfast, just don't get the croissant or chocolate croissant... they are disappointing and not at all by Montreal standards. Their bagels, on the other hand, are the real thing (Fairmount bagels... my personal favourite).

Other really great things are the fact that parking and breakfast are included in the room rate, regardless of occupants (which could save you upwards of $50/day for one person in other area hotels). We'll definitely come back in the future and when my parent's place is not an option...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasfou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and daughter (2 1/2) this past weekend. We had a nice room - large bathroom, and separate room with bed and crib (per our request) for our daughter which worked out well so we could talk/watch TV after she went to bed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. As others mention, great location and loved having the metro stop across the street (but use the entrance on rue berri, the entrance across the street is a little sketchy) - was so nice coming back to hotel to hop off and have a very short walk to the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ecp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently stayed here with our young daughter who needed a crib. The staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. The room was excellent with plenty of space and well maintained.

I would say the biggest plus to this hotel is the location, easy to walk throughout the Plateau and the Metro stop that is right across the street is huge. We come to Montreal every few years or so and this was our first stay in Chateau; I think we've found or go to hotel for our future trips!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heffe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here while visiting a friend in Montreal. The hotel is right by a subway which is handy but also close enough to a lot of the main streets that you can just walk. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were lovely and spacious and the beds very comfortable, we had a room with a whirlpool bath which was cool. Breakfast was included and you had the typical options which were all lovely. Really good value for money and thoroughly enjoyed visit and stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leeann1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 164 in Montreal
253 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
409 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#19 of 164 in Montreal
543 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
568 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#28 of 164 in Montreal
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de l'Argoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Argoat

Property: Chateau de l'Argoat
Address: 524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#7 Green Hotel in Montreal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#25 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau de l'Argoat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de l'Argoat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Argoat Hotel Montreal
Chateau De l Argoat Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing