We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fav place year round”

Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.85*
and up
Montreal Food Truck Tour by Bike
Ranked #17 of 393 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No longer used as a means of transportation, this canal now serves as a recreation area with hiking and biking trails.
Quebec
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fav place year round”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great area: Lachine canal, recreational path, the Atwater market, parks, boat rentals, beer at St.Ambroise - lots of things to do and experience. Bring your dog!

The area used to be an industrial zone but now it is converted to a recreational and residential area, a little green oasis in the city. May be not as pleasant in winter as snow is not removed from the paths but during other seasons it's a nice place to spend a weekend. Get a nice view on downtown from the southern shore of the canal around Corticelli lofts. Read posts about the industrial path of the canal and see conversions of industrial buildings into residential lofts. Rent a canoe, pedalo, or a small electric boat to go along the canal. Take the path all the way to the east to the Old Port or to the Park Rene-Levesque, a little jewel all the way to the west.

Just one warning: when walking along the path beware of cyclists: they show complete disregard of the rules (like the speed limit and walking a bike in busy areas and bridges) and often verbally insult other users of the path for "being on their way". The path does not belong to bikes. It's also shared by roller-bladers, runners, and simply walkers, often families, mothers with strollers. In some places the path splits in two, separating faster users, but in some places it is shared, and that's when unpleasant and I would say stressful encounters with cyclists occur.
The city should really do something about this before someone's hit by a bike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Xroust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    201
    41
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for nature lovers, runners and bikers”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went to the Canal several times in summer and autumn (till mid-october) to run or cycle, starting from the Atwater Market and going towards Lachine (opposite of Old Port). It's a 10 km long area, very quiet, well-kept, with beautiful landscapes, perfect for running, biking or just relax, that ends to a nice small park (Rene' Levesque) surrounded by the waters. On the opposite site of the Atwater Market, on the canal, there is a small rent/repair bike shop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank graions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Start Cycling Here”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Montreal is a fabulous bicycling city, and the Lachine Canal is the perfect place to get comfortable on the bicycle. Although the description says it is for "recreation," I saw a lot of bike commuters heading to and from work as well. And the Atwater Market is a great destination to park your Bixi Bike and get something to eat.

My only wish is that there were more wayfinding signs pointing me to nearby neighborhood destinations. Who knew I was so close to Joe Beef?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HamTech87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Industrial History felt”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I live close to the Lachine Canal so this is not a tourist opinion... I love biking or walking along the canal and feel the history linked to it since its opening about 150 years ago. It is now in a revival phase where old industrial buildings are now turned into apartments, among others, the shores are cleaner and nicer, the biking path is very nice and leads directly to Old Montreal and downtown in a very nice way. Atwater Market along the way, it is just one of those things that make living in a city enjoyable!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk or bike ride.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We walked from the Vieux du Habitation to the Market. It was great exercise and I had a good time taking pictures of the canal and the locks. I felt safe on this walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunsetovergulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine also viewed

 

Been to Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing