We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just WOW......”
Review of Kazu

Kazu
Ranked #55 of 5,859 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We turned up n a recommendation and arrived to a queue outside the door,we were going to walk off but were advised by other guest to stay, so glad we did!We followed the waitress in and were sat at the counter which was probably the best place to eat and watch the amazing cooking action going on!!!
The food was amazing,we shared a couple of starters (Beef Carpaccio,Calcium Salmon and the Yaki Gyoza)and then had the Veggie Bowl and the Beef Kalbi.Everything was just standout as really well prepared good food,presentation was stunning and as i said sitting at the counter watching the team work was impressive.
Try the home made Ice Cream the Wasabi flavour is a taste tickler and his home made Cheesecake definitely worth it too.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dombosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 380 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2016

I've been here multiple times and the food is super delicious and comes at an awesome value. Really reminiscent of the food I had in Japan. You can't go wrong with the pork or tuna bowl. Unfortunately, the restaurant has really long lineups and the inside is very cramped.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cy514
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

I have had lunch at this restaurant many times and have not once been disappointed. The restaurant itself is tiny and if you are not in line by 11:45 for their 12pm opening, there is a good possibility that you'll have to wait for the 2nd round of seating. They can hold an estimated 10 people at the bar (overlooking the small but very efficiently laid out kitchen) and another 20 or 25 people at tables.
I particularly enjoy their pork cheek appetizer and their ramen is the best I've ever had. My friend enjoys their eggplant appetizer and loves the salmon bowl and 48-hour pork dish. Already looking forward to my next lunch there.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KaitM847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016

I heard a lot of hype had the ramen noodle soup to go very mediocre ... maybe I need to try something else

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank josephcorbin911111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

However, once you are in, you are in for a treat. The restaurant is very small, almost as many seats at the bar as at tables. It is licensed. There is "take out". The food is not typically Japanese, but it is really tasty. The staff are all Japanese, and are really helpful. However, they are used to "repeat customers" who come in and know exactly what they want. I had Pork cheek which, was very tasty, even though it did not taste much of pork cheek. It came with pie ces of wheat tortilla. Then I had a bowl which included a delicious fresh salad, a beef rib and an egg. Totally outstanding.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tedster074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazu also viewed

 

Been to Kazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.