We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, most unique meals I've had!”
Review of Kazu

Kazu
Ranked #112 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best, most unique meals I've had!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's worth the line-up.

After convincing some of the more skittish friends in our group of six of this, we waited out the 45-minutes in the tiny space between the two doors. When we were finally seated for lunch, we found ourselves crowded around a small round table by the window.

So long as you aren't claustrophobic, though, the food will make anything else worth it. I had the shrimp burger, which was one of the best meals I've ever eaten. Every component was carefully executed, from the patty itself to the warm bun to the Japanese-inspired sauce to the fried dough pieces sprinkled over the plate.

Most of the rest of the group had ramen, which they said was good, but not the best they'd had (bear in mind they've all been to China and had the "real stuff" there, though...)

A definite "yes."

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkseshinskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    90
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yes!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Dont be turned off by the small room and the crowd - the service is quick and the food is Amazing. I never imagined a shrimp burger and I am glad I saw this listed in a previous review. It was delicious. Cash only so bring your wallet

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a fabulous little gem”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We are lining up outside the restaurant on a Sunday afternoon and a gentleman stops, looks at me and says "What's so good about this place, that people are always lining up?" I answer as concisely as I can, "It's the quality, freshness and the price". Who knows? maybe he'll read this one day, because I had much more to say.
First of all when you walk in, it is like you have actually been transported to Japan. The atmosphere is not forced, it is just naturally imbued with it's own culture. Not many entrepreneurs can manage this simplicity. The waitresses - busy, the cooks - busy, but all smiling and attentive to the clientele. The menus, simple, handwritten and endearing. I feel such warmth and belonging, as sit at the counter (these are the best seats in the house if you ask me.) I order the salmon and tuna bowl. I wont even bother trying to describe the beauty of this dish - just go and eat it; fresh, tasty, crunchy. Tears of blissful joy fill my eyes just imagining it at this moment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's good. I loved it!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food is very good. It's so packed that servers won't take attention to you. Of course it's very loud! I love their burger in Japanese style. Definitely come back when I'm not busy and not too hungry since I have to wait for the line up :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really Cramped - Okay food: Interesting Variety to Choose From”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After the wait (20 minutes plus), the place was packed - too many tables and chairs for a place so small. I would hate to be in the place if in an emergency you needed to get out! As other's had said - once you do get seated the service is quick (almost too quick); trying to figure out the menu and the postings of specials is almost overwhelming and the wait staff tries to get you to order quickly so they can turn over the table..... Sake good. Grilled octopus arm good but over priced, salmon belly excellent, pork cheek pate nicely done, chopped seafood bowl was nicely seasoned, chicken and rice bibimbap okay but ordinary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazu also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing