We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous spot in Montreal”
Review of Shezelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shezelles
Ranked #31 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for a week as part of our honeymoon trip to North America - and we loved it! A gorgeous building in a cool part of town; our room was great (loved the jacuzzi!) with possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The breakfasts are delicious, with croissants and pastries a match for any I've had in France, and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. Five stars - highly recommended

Room Tip: The suite room is great value if you want a little luxury - save the extra money you spend by cookin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Shezelles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

The perfect stay for a small family (we were 4, coming from Italy to visit Monteal and Quebec). The location is perfect, fantastic hospitality and greatly friendly the owners Lucie and Lyne, who made all the possible (and more!) to satiface our needs and requests. Prices are lower than the average in Montreal and the narrow and nice street where the B&B is located (although very centric and easy to reach by metro and public transport) offers the opportunity of a quiet and silent rest after heavy days as tourists in Montreal (cycle, kayak, shopping ;-). A place to be suggested to all our frends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piero D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just got back from a great weekend get away in Montreal. Shezelle's is in a convenient place in the Plateau near stores, restaurants and metro. Inside is very cozy, breakfast was great (Thank you Rachelle!) and the company there was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahbelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in the studio downstairs at Shézelles over Memorial Day weekend 2012, with our 1-year-old and our 3-year-old. We really enjoyed being able to come and go as we pleased, bathe the kids, and make breakfast, bottles and snacks in the kitchenette. We even found convenient parking at the nearby elementary school. The location can't be beat: it's the best of the Plateau within easy walking distance, but without the noise and bustle of being right on Rue Saint-Denis or Avenue Mont-Royal. The hostesses were nothing but accomodating and helpful. It was a really nice time for the family, and our 3-year-old looked forward to getting back "home" and even called the studio "the bed house" (la maison du lit). We would definitely try to book at Shézelles again when we return to Montréal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have to agree with a similar poster, and have mixed feelings about this place. My husband and I were there in early July. Great neighborhood, great breakfasts, pleasant little outdoor terrace.

But our (small) room at the front of the house had no air. It was a very hot few days, the window barely opened. Ceiling fan did not help much. I also must say I found the proprietor somewhat prickly. Interesting lady, but not especially friendly, seemed in a bad mood throughout our stay. Maybe it was the heat? We will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marleymillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I had such an incredible time at this b&b!!! -- the hosts are wonderful and very helpful, plus the breakfasts were so tasty. Our room was on the top, top floor in this cool penthouse suite with a private balcony. you're right in the middle of the plateau where all the best restaurants, clubs, and shops are located within minutes of walking. We're recommending it to all of our friends! I don't see how anyone could complain about this place -- Montreal has such a fun and relaxed vibe to it and Shezelles embodies this spirit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We arrived without a booking and were lucky to find one room available! Lyne and Lucy have been lovely and warmly welcomed us "home". The whole house, including the rooms, are very nicely decorated. It is very sunny, spatious and clean. The wood as a material gives a very warm feeling. The nice little balcony over the backyard definitely adds to the homy and quiet sensation. The breakfast was served at 9pm and oh my God! Delicious, with vegetarian friendly and organic quality food. Everyone was gathered around the large wooden table while Lyne served breakfast and ate with us. So this is not a "hotel" or "big guesthouse" with anonymous staff and service : this is a home, with real people inside.
This is a really good value. You are at the heart of the Plateau and ridiculously close to the metro station. So I would indeed recommend to book prior to arrival and don't hesitate to write them to make arrangements as to when you arrive and how.

Thank you again Lyne and Lucie for this last good memory of Montréal :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarrieAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#86 of 165 in Montreal
125 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Lentracte Home
Lentracte Home
#23 of 99 in Montreal
21 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
leQube Apartments
leQube Apartments
#8 of 99 in Montreal
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#16 of 146 in Montreal
385 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Bienvenue B&B
Bienvenue B&B
#51 of 146 in Montreal
34 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#27 of 146 in Montreal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shezelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shezelles

Address: 4272 Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $96 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shezelles 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Shezelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing