We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice french restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Duo.D - CLOSED

Bistro Duo.D
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Description: Authentique bistro de quartier. Ambiance conviviale. Des produits vrais et fais maison. Votre meilleur ami epicurien et sa femme vous recoivent chez eux pour une bonne bouffe.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice french restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My friends took me here for my birthday dinner. The food was pretty good and interesting. Worth a try. Must try to foe gras.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chakrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    50
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You do not rank within top 5 in Montreal unless you are awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

To get to this place we had to went through an ugly block or two, however the first impression when we entered the restaurant was great. The vibe was very similar to what we have experienced in Europe; I could not shake off the feeling of similarity with what I have seen in Spain. The service was great, despite a bit of a language barrier. After all of this the expectations were set very high, yet the kitchen did not disappoint!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Wine, Traditional French Service and Flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very intimate and if you can get a seat, well worth the evening stay. All tables seem to be pre-reserved. Bring good friends because you will stay for hours lingering over traditional style courses. Even though menu is a la carte, little courses appeared intermingled between our orders. Owner is very friendly. Smoked Salmon appetizer to die for. Duck was moist, melt in your mouth. Creme brulee and "Lost Bread" apple pudding a great finish. Street parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lastborn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real achievement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

for a husband and wife team to almost double handed make this such a memorable experience. Classic French dishes on a small, exciting menu that really delivers. Great, friendly service, ambiance and location. Completely deserves its high ranking - a great family evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyj202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived a little early due to the weather and discovered we were the only people there but there were no concerns about seating us. The owners are very friendly and we had a great time practicing our French with the host. We got a great little table by the window. Started with the onion soup and the smoked salmon. The soup was very good, well balanced without being too over the top. Also had the steal frites which was cooked perfectly. The menu is relatively small but that allows the husband and wife team to focus on the quality, plus they do it all, there isn't a staff of employees. It's a small space but the tables are not on top of one another so,it feels bigger than it is. We enjoyed the overall feel of the restaurant in that you could be dressed up or more casual and it worked either way, very warm and inviting. We had the chocolate mousse for dessert, which had chocolate cake crumbles on top with the mousse below, soooo good. I think we talked about that for the rest of the trip. Despite the snow, we were able to park on the street which was free.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Duo.D also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing