We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Duo.D - CLOSED

Bistro Duo.D
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Description: Authentique bistro de quartier. Ambiance conviviale. Des produits vrais et fais maison. Votre meilleur ami epicurien et sa femme vous recoivent chez eux pour une bonne bouffe.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

After four days of eating and drinking my way thro Montreal I ventured into this wonderful tiny gem! After experiencing a bit of English disdain in many other places I was welcomed by a wonderful lady. A completely French menu that was very foreign to me she took the time to explain each item. I will difinatley be back! The duck filet was unique and very flavourful. Choc mousse unlike anything else I have ever had. Highly recommend this experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thefoodmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    50
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My partner and I went here after seeing the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We made a reservation about an hour in advanced and had no problem finding the place in a nice residential neighborhood. We got the Foie Gras Au Torchon (duck liver), Tartare De Boeuf (finely chopped raw beef) and the Confit De Canard (leg of duck) which were both excellent. The waitress was super nice and didn't mind explaining the french cuisine to us. I would definitely recommend this place for couples looking for a nice date spot, but also groups looking for a relaxing atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Visit to Old Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Trip Advisor led me to reserve at Bistro Duo.D, and well in advance, and we couldn't have been more delighted with our gastronomic experience there. We were two couples spending a wonderful weekend in Old Montreal, all of which we enjoyed, but our Saturday dinner at Bistro Duo.D was the highlight for sure. Bistro Duo.D more than lived up to its reviews - excellent meal (we all had the outstanding duck confit), beautifully prepared by Philippe and served with friendly attentiveness by Catherine. We asked for a wine suggestion and were thrilled with her recommendation. The atmosphere was warm and casual, and because the restaurant was not too full, easy to have conversation. For anyone turned away without a reservation when tables appear to be empty, we learned that the proprietors stagger the timing of reservations to ensure an easy flow in food preparation and service. We admired and appreciated their choice to do so.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a place to eat tonight tonight to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We found this place from Tripadvidor and agree with the comments. The food was wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place has amazing food and a really nice ambiance. It has a good variety of French dishes worth trying. The service was very good and the prices were reasonable. Try it and you won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Duo.D also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing