We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Everything about my stay was wonderful. I loved my corner king suite with huge washroom and panoramic views. I also enjoyed having the option of an in room mini bar which was fully equipped. The slippers provided did not fit my feet and were cheep looking/feeling. I liked the security feature of how the elevator had a key pass which only allowed me to my floor, front lobby and ice machine floor. Amazing stay and would book again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get the panoramic windows with king bed, fireplace, huge washroom with separate sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We`re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would come back again!

Yes it`s quite convenient to have the ice machine on a floor of its own to avoid much noise. Thanks so bringing up the slipper issue, I`ll bring it up to upper management to see if we can have them changed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next trip with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our first experience at this hotel was everything we hoped for. A very comfortable well appointed room, perfect downtown location and pleasant and helpful staff. Close to restaurants, shopping and the subway. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a corner room with a fireplace, and a wonderful bathtub and lots of floor to cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butternut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We are always glad to read about more than enjoyable stays with us! We`re happy you liked the rooms and the location of our hotel, and we hope you come back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We checked in to St Martin for 3 nights over the Ontario civic long weekend and couldn't have been more happier.

Valet and check in were super fast and convenient. Upon walking into the hotel the finishes and look of the lobby are stunning.

Staying with a friend we had a room with 2 queens. Size of the room was excellent, and the beds, pillows etc all very comfortable.

Location was perfect; we used Bixes a lot and the location of the hotel was on a bike laned street which was great. Metro across the street; also convenient. Close to pubs/clubs on Crescent which was great for us too.

We only paid 180/night through Hotwire; prob some of the cheapest for its quality I've seen in Montreal.

Could not have been happier with our stay! Will be coming back!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TimmyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Timmy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel. So glad to read that you really enjoyed staying with us and that you liked the rooms, location, etc.

Montreal has become much more biker friendly with that newly built bike path along de Maisonneuve, we`re glad that you and your friends were able to take advantage of it!

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Beth Milmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Le Saint Martin Centre-Ville for a few nights in August 2014, and I must say we were not very impressed. Due to a booking snafu (I admit, on our behalf), we couldn't get a Grand Lux room for the four consecutive nights of our stay, and so they "upgraded" us to the Verrière room for only $20 extra per night. I say "upgrade" because I do not see why this room is tiered above the Grand Lux. While the overall room and bathroom are spacious, the layout is odd with a deadspace nook in the far corner, and the blackout drapes only cover two of the eight windows. According to their website, the room is also smaller in square footage than the Grand Lux. Additionally, the hotel does not offer a coffee service in the lobby in the morning. Your only options are to either use the instant coffee machine in the room or sit at a table in the bistro attached to the hotel, where coffee costs $5.

At 7 one morning, we were woken up by a loud humming noise. I looked down on the street, thinking it was clamor caused by early morning construction, but did not see any trucks or workers. The humming was particularly loud in our room as the noise vibrated through the metal casings of all eight windows facing the street. We called down to the front desk, and their initial response was literally, "We're sorry. There is nothing we can do. Construction occurs throughout the city, and we have no other rooms available in the hotel." I asked to speak with the manager, who said that the noise was being generated from crews working on water pipes beneath the street. She offered to comp us for the $20/night upgrade charge, but seemed very unapologetic. Granted the hotel doesn't have control of the city's construction schedule, a bit more compassion was needed and certainly not provided on that morning.

We also had some bad experiences with the housekeeping staff. One evening upon our return to the room, we found a partially eaten can of Pringles on the counter. The next evening, our extra blanket was left in an unfolded mess on the bed and all of the soap and floor mats had been removed from the bathroom. Again, the staff was unapologetic when we called to complain.

If you're looking for a 4-star hotel in Montreal Centre-Ville, I would skip Le Saint Martin and instead try Le Germain, which is right around the corner and much more hospitable.

Room Tip: If you have your heart set on this hotel, do not upgrade to the Verrière room. Save your money and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gee-Ess-Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We`re sorry to read about your less than enjoyable stay with us.

Yes our Verierre room is quite a popular upgrade choice amongst our guests, I`m sorry to read that the construction on Metcalfe street disturbed your stay in that room because of the panoramic windows. That type of construction happens very rarely and unfortunately we are never advised as to when it will happen.

My apologies that you thought the complimentary coffees in the room was instant, it is in fact keurig coffee.

We`re quite surprised to read that there was an open box of Pringles found in your room, I’ve personally never heard of this happening but we will bring it up to our mini bar department to make sure this issue never happens again.

We would like to apologize again for your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We, family of four, recently stayed at this hotel and loved it. It is close to everything, a short walk to old montreal and a metro line near by. The rooms are well spaced and have been recently renovated well with large bathrooms.
There is a bath tub in the rooms which was very helpful but no bath/shower gel supplied by the hotel - this is my only gripe!
The bistro restaurant in the hotel did not have a children's menu - although the wait staff were happy to organise smaller meal sizes for the children.

The pool is great, not a large pool and not over chlorinated.
We will be definately staying here again next visit to montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesssmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with the trip advisor community.

We`re so happy to read about your most enjoyable stay. Our location is a great feat that many of our guests love!

Thank you for the feedback on the shower gel, it`s important for us to find out information on what our guests would like to have to make their stay even more enjoyable.

We look forward to your next trip to Montreal!

Beth Milmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

First, let me say that I am a sucker for a bubble bath. so I always ask for a room with a tub and this is probably the best one I've ever had the pleasure of using. And if you are a shower person, the glassed in shower is perfect.

I also love being pampered with a big breakfast when traveling and usually, hotel restaurants are ... less than spectacular. Not so Bistro L'Aromate! Perfectly poached eggs, delicious roasted potatoes, bacon, and if that's not enough, yogurt with berries & granola. I couldn't finish it all. It's days later and I'm still savoring the breakfast.

They have CAA rates that also include free parking with valet service.

Room Tip: Ask for King size bed and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Ruth,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We always appreciate nice comments about our hotel qualities. We`re glad you were able to use the bathtub in the room, the soaker tub`s are very popular with our guests.

We`re also happy to read about how much you enjoyed the restaurant, please do not hesitate to share your comments with them directly on trip advisor too.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Montreal!

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at Le St-Martin this summer. The external appearance of the hotel is not a good indication of the inside as the rooms are quite lovely - nicely decorated and very clean. As some other reviewers have already mentioned, the lighting in the rooms(especially in the bathroom) is dim.

The outdoor pool although small is a nice touch. There were only a few people at the pool when we used it so it was perfect but had there been more, it would've been hard to swim.

Apparently there is a turn down service in the evenings where complimentary snacks are left in the rooms however in the 3 nights we stayed at the hotel, we never experienced this.

What would've made this hotel so much better would've been the service. With the exception of a few employees, most of the staff were less than polite. Many times there wasn't even a greeting when an employee was approached for assistance. You really were left with the impression that you were interrupting their day. There was one man at the front counter in particular who never acknowledged any guests or smiled the entire time we were there. Having said that, there were 3 other employees(during different time frames) a the front counter who were very friendly and helpful.

This hotel has the potential to be a really good one but that will require consistent, friendly and helpful service from all staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avidtraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We always appreciate positive and negative comments as they help us grow to be better each day. That being said, I would like to apologize for the less than perfect service you received with us. We do try our best to always have consistently great service and we will definitely bring up this issue with our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,724 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,460 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,724 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $171 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing