We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in the heart of downtown”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was rented by 5 friends for our annual girl's trip. We stayed 4 nights.

What we liked:
> Prime Location- close to 2 metro stations, in downtown and walking distance to old town
>Chic & classy decor
>Comfortable bed
>Free WiFi
>2 free water bottles daily

What we didn't like:
>Not enough counter space or hooks to hang towels in bathroom
>Staff not the friendliest, perhaps they were too busy to be friendly
>Initially gave us the wrong room, creating an embarassing scenario. When we opened the door, an elderly lady in her undergarments was shocked! And so were we!

Overall though, we had a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    420
    78
    35
    24
See reviews for
242
711
60
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel stay was friendly and accommodating. Very clean rooms and quite comfortable. Will stay here again when visiting Montreal. Right in the heart of downtown. Near public transportation, McGill and Mont Royal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlain, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel in Montreal. we arrived at 4PM to check in and waited until 4:35 to check in. We were told that late checkout didn't leave enough time to get the room ready for us on time. Rather than just stand in the lobby we left and returned at about 6PM to check in. I told my wife we would never stay there again unless the room was spectacular. As it turns out the room was spectacular so we probably will return. I would suggest that they not have late checkout unless the traveler's circumstances required it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul3874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were walking distance from the beautiful downtown in Montreal and the must do Mont Royal overlook. The staff was amazing! Super helpful, booking restaurants and spas, recommending the hottest spots, and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gweston9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, very modern and clean. Large shower was great. The room is very well designed and nice to look at. Good location, just north of St. Catherines, near Simons department store. I had the best sleep I have had in a hotel in years. Front desk staff were very professional. Hotel restaurant/bistro was nice but a tad pricey, very cool menu and decor. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. I will definitely stay there again next time I am in Montreal. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Broxxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived as a group of 50 and queued on the pavement, because the reception area is too small for more that 10 guests arriving or departing at once. We waited 2 hours for our room to be cleaned from previous occupants only to find splatters of facieses on the toilet seat (this was cleaned off the next day during the normal cleaning). Our luggage was lost in the hotel and was later found an hour later delivered to the wrong room. The management appeared less than effective and out of their depth for such an influx. The room itself was quite spacious and comfortable. The hotel is very convenient for the main shopping area and other major parts of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe9069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mostafa B, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Joe9069,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your arrival to the hotel on September 28th, 2013 with the group of 50 rooms 101 guests.

We at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations. As a testament to strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that there will be no recurrence.

When the first bus arrived earlier the guests got disembarked the bus straight away, they seemed to not know in advance that our employees would be embarking onto the bus to give all the information about our hotels and services. As you mentioned lobby is not big enough to hold that many guests. Not knowing in advance which guests would be on the first bus arriving was a bit of a problem, I understand that it would be hard to know that information too far in advance since it was first come first serve for the guests embarking onto the bus in advance.

With some last minute room changes to try to accommodate guests there was some baggage mix up since certain rooms had been changed. Also with about 1/3 of the luggage tags having fallen off in the bus, it made the valet’s job much more difficult to identify the luggage. That`s why it took them much longer to bring the luggages up to the rooms on time.

Although these are the reasons you have experienced an unacceptable stay, please understand that I fully agree that they are not excusable.

I assure you that we are on the right track and continue to learn about our guests needs.
We are absolutely dedicated in assuring that all our staff be trained with the philosophy of personalized service. We are almost there but still need to work on dotting the “i” and crossing the “t”. I am confident that my team will succeed and that on your next visit you will be impressed with our hospitality.

Once again, please accept our apologies for this, and I hope you will understand our predicament and will return to Le St-Martin. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance,

Best Regards,

El Mostafa Boudraa
Directeur d`hébergement – Room Division Manager

elmostafa.boudraa@lestmartin.com
Téléphone – Phone 514 843 3000 ex. 3403
Télécopieur – Fax 514 843 3099
Sans frais – Toll free 877 843 3003
Le St-Martin Hôtel Particulier Centre-ville, 980, boul. de Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, Québec H3A 1M5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spent two nights and it was a wonderful location. I walked to the hotel from the train station. Lots of neat things around the property. Staff was fairly accommodating. Rooms were clean. I had a nice fireplace that encouraged me to relax after a long business day. Big cozy couch in the lobby was too good to be true. Shopping near by was good also. A little on the pricey side but enjoyable just the same. I was there on a Sunday, Monday and there was little or no lines for the elevators or front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing