We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS PLACE IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved this place and will be staying here again when we come to visit Montreal. We are AAA members so that saved us $29. on parking. We stayed in a room that had a fireplace and a huge tub which was fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Montreal. Can't wait to come back and stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregdavis3921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    410
    73
    32
    22
See reviews for
229
687
55
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great experience. Arrived very late but greeted warmly. The room was very nicely decorated, and had the nice turn-down touches. Location was great for walking around/exploring. Unfortunately it rained the entire time we were in Montreal, but we really didn't mind having a bottle of wine in the room and watching a little French TV :). Couple of bachelor/bachelorette parties looked like they were staying there, but didn't hear a thing. Staff was helpful on dinner recommendations, with directions, umbrellas, etc. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

In two weeks I've been two times there for a total of 9 nights. I've had two different rooms, one with a large bathroom. Both of the rooms have had a nice (faked) fireplace. Service personnel has been very kind and reliable. The only two thing to be criticized is the very little gym (don't go on the trendmill if you are tall!!! you will hit your head) and the in my opinion too expensive breakfast (only à la carte).

Otherwise highly recommendable! Next time I will be in Montréal I will go there again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pros
The hotel was clean, quiet, and secure (needed a room card to access an elevator).
The room 1505 was very nice with two comfortable queen beds. The location was good as well.
Check out was more efficient.

Cons
The receptionist at check in was unfriendly, and demanded us to pay for parking valet again,
but the problem was resolved when we showed her a copy of our payment. Parking was confusing. You either park somewhere or allow the valet which we chose (later we unpleasantly discovered that our cellphone charger was replaced with a broken one.) Pool area is small. Not a great view from our room. Ventilation was loud.

Overall, we will not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mostafa B, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Mrs Tatyana A

Thank you very much for choosing Le St-Martin Montreal and sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the confusion about the parking charge and your cellphone charger that was broken in your car.

We are truly sorry that we were not able to show you the quality of service and standards that we strive to uphold to all of our guests.

Regarding the front desk at the check in there is no raison for our employees to give bad service. Rest assured we will follow up internally and make certain such out of place comments to do not happen again.

Finally, we are saddened that you did not enjoy your experience at le St-Martin to its fullest,

Thank you for staying at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier and hopefully we have the chance to host you again, and change your perception of our hospitality.

Best regards

Mostafa Boudraa

Rooms Division Manager
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room was well appointed, beautiful sheets and comfortable mattress. There was two bottles of water every day and two coffees for a Keurig coffee maker. The pool was small but made up for it with character, there was a cute bridge over the pool and a waterfall, plus you are swimming basically amongst skyscrapers. An interesting architectual feature was the window wall in the bathroom. You could shower and watch tv in the next room. You could also use the "facilities" and watch tv, which could be a plus or minus.
The downside....Be very careful that you only drink the bottled water left out and the two coffees labled as free. It was rather confusing as to what was mini bar and what was not as some items were out and on display as if they were free. In addition, although you got free coffee, there was no cream/creamer/sugar in the room. There was coffee available in the lobby. The lobby itself was small and clausterphobic during the check in/check out rush. The gym was no bigger than most small galley kitchens. Your room key was only good for your floor so you could not meet anyone at their room unless they were on the same floor (keep this in mind for group reservations). Also you had to swipe your key to push the elevator button for your floor, this led to some "mission impossible" antics as people (not only me) frantically were swiping their keys before the elevator got to their floor...imagine the excitement this caused with an elevator full of people all on different floors!

Room Tip: Be wary of rooms close to the hallway music speakers. Some speakers seem to be right outside doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHL1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here during a weekend visit to Montreal. They offer complimentary coffee and water in the room. The room itself was spacious for 2 and decorated with taste. My only issue was the inefficiency of the front desk staff in getting our luggage upstairs. I had to call twice and wait for 25 minutes to get our bags delivered. Eventually I had to go down and fetch them myself since i found it quicker to do so. The front desk staff did not handle this situation well although the rest of the time was quite pleasant. We had to take the metro or the cab to most attractions so if you are looking to stay within walking distance, this is not the place you are looking for. We loved the vibe of the old quarter of montreal, so will likely stay there if we visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here Sept. 6 - 10th and couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. Our last visit to Montreal was in October 2002 and we decided what better way to spend our 10th wedding anniversary than in the city where he proposed. I choose this hotel based on the location, convenient access to the Metro and other traveler reviews. Check in was easy and quick. There were parking spaces along Metcalfe where we could pull right up and handed the keys to the valet, who brought the bags up to the room. Grand Lux Room was clean, the bed was soooo comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous. My husband couldn't stop raving about the shower and the pedestal tub was a perfect way to relax with a glass of wine after being out all day and before going out again for the evening. Front desk staff were all very helpful. There was a particular shop I wanted to find on Rue St. Hubert and I knew which Metro to take, but wasn't quite sure of the stop. Michelle pulled it up on Google maps and printed it out for me with the address. Unfortunately, Google maps was an approximate location and we ended up walking quite further on Rue St. Hubert than anticipated - not your fault Michelle :-). But, we got to see another side of Montreal we normally wouldn't have and found that long row of shops and eateries on the 6200s block. We did find the shop I was looking for and my new fur coat!

On the drive home, the only thing we could both agree on that was a "complaint" (if you can call it that) was that the a/c unit was a little loud when it came on, especially at night it was more noticable, but that's unavoidable.

We would absolutely stay here again and I hope another 10 years doesn't go by before we do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing