We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly romantic”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The St-Martin was an amazing hotel to stay in. It is perfectly located to anything that you may meed whether it be entertainment(movies, bars&lounges etc) or food where a large number of diverse restaurants are located. The hotel has a gym(a little small but still convenient) in addition to a WONDERFUL outdoor heated pool. The pool itself is quite small but has that enchanting/isolated feel to it. You are able to enjoy a relaxing swim and relax to mellow music. The staff were friendly enough. We had to call for a heating issue in the room and within a few minutes someone arrived at the door to fix the problem. The room was absolutely gorgeous and spacious enough for 2 people. The wall facing our bed was full of glass windows and shutters that enabled to look at outside and make it feel even more luxurious. The room is well equipped with a flatscreen tv(+ complimentary wifi). My favourite part of the room was the bathroom: breathtaking! There is a huge whirlpool tub that fits two people comfortably and a flatscreen tv facing the tub a well. Something out of "MTV cribs" . The only downfall of the tv was that it only seemed to play one channel which was the "french news" . The room was CLEAN (big emphasis on clean) and modern looking which suited our needs perfectly.
I do believe that the breakfast menu is quite a bit pricy however, it is the same in every hotel I have stayed in(when not complimentary) and there is a variety of choices offered. (We did not eat breakfast here)
All in all, it was an amazing stay(it was also y 21st birthday). I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially to couples who want a romantic getaway. I had a livingsocial voucher and paid 150$ for the room which was definitely a great deal!
Would I pay 285$(standard price of the room) , maybe not. As I have stayed at other hotels who offer almost or even more for less. I'd definitely give it a 9/10

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    421
    78
    35
    24
See reviews for
243
711
60
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that the front desk staff during our three night stay were warm and friendly throughout. No issues there whatsoever, and we felt very welcome indeed. Even the poor guy who was all alone on a Saturday night kept his composure and delivered top notch service. The gentleman who checked us in on Thursday, March 7 was wonderful. I wish I could remember his name--Kudos to him for his customer service skills.

We did have the opportunity to use the pool a few times, which we loved, especially after we noticed the timers for the jets, which turns it into a virtual hot tub. Yes, the pool is small, but its a beautifully designed jewel and it feels very luxurious indeed to be able to swim outside in winter.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and should be given an interior design award--stunning. My one gripe is the lack of a true wall between the bed and the bathroom (there are only sliding shutters). This is a design feature I have seen in other boutique hotels, and I wonder at its origins. I can see it working if at least the toilet was closed off, but as is, its a bit of a mood killer if you are seeking a romantic weekend. Maybe I am just not a modern girl, but I believe that some things need to be kept private.
One other small complaint about the room--the blackout curtains in our room did not close, which let in the morning light. Not fun if you are trying to sleep in. I should point out that these are very small issues, and not ones that can be changed easily, so they are not dealbreakers by any means.

In room amenities are lovely. Great toiletries and good Keurig coffee. There is a coffee machine in the lobby which delivers complimentary espresso / cafe au lait etc. Unlike most machines of this type, this coffee is actually hot and very good.

The location cannot be beat--being just north of St. Catherine, you are close to the metro and the best shopping in Canada, but far enough away that you can't hear the party animals that roam the street at night.

We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool, ask for a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi, Québec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is really an excellent hotel. Great location! Close to great shopping. Quiet even though our window was on the main street, " de Maisonneuve ". Outdoor pool! Everything was perfect. The room was clean and confortable. Free Nespresso style café. The bed was amazingly soft and warm with a choice of pillows. I would have liked a smaller pillow ... Complimentary snack. The staff very helpful. We had lunch at the Arromate, the food and wine was great. The next day we had breakfast and if you like Egg Benedict, well you will not be disappointed. The best we've had.

Room Tip: There is a discount and the parking is included if you have a CAA or AAA card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbyrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le St-Martin, and for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community!
Its always a pleasure reading such positive feedback on our services as we are delighted you enjoyed your stay amongst us, especially that you took fll advantage of our awesome location, and the quality of our rooms.

You also did mention that you would have preferred smaller pillows, and in that regard, I am very exited to let you know that we are currently working on a "Pillow Menu" for all our guests.
Yes, you read it right! Soon we will offer a choice of pillows upon reservation and during your stay.

Alot of hotels talk about personalized service, we make sure it actually happens!

Looking forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In this ever evolving society we live in, the pace is fast and interaction is stern and detached. When you walk through the doors of Le St. Martin, things slow down and smiles are contageously handed out ! From the valet that greets you to the checkout, the people are wonderfully helpful. Going out of their way, is natural to them. The hotel is a thing of beauty where you feel the warmth of your own home and the extravagance of a palace. The balance is genius. L'Arromate, the restaurant there, is to die for. The food looks like a work of art and tastes like a masterpiece. Even there with the husle and bustle of a busy business the waiters make you feel like you are the only one in the restaurant. This hotel is a gem and their staff are sparkling diamonds. Cross their gates and treat yourself to Shangri La !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I went there for a short getaway for my birthday on Feb 18. We stayed in the room with the verriere( lots of windows) and we loved the decor and the view. Room was very clean. Staff were all so polite and attentive. We were offered complimentary snack before dinner....loved the attention.
The hotel is a short walk to lots of shoping on St Catherine including Place Montreal Trust .
we had dinner at their restaurant l'Aromate . All was very fresh and tasty...very nice contemporary dinning room and great service.
we will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zezettePlantagenetON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor and taking the time to share your Le St-Martin experience.

As you can imagine, I am delighted you were able to appreciate and enjoy your stay via different aspects of our hospitality.
The Verriere rooms (which I understand you stayed in) are also my favorite, as the wall to wall windows they offer are rather unique in Montreal.

I am also delighted to see you took the time point out how great was your experience at our restaurant l'Aromate. It is really a local hopspot here in the downtown core!!

Thanks again for choosing Le St-Martin, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Nice location, clean hotel. Very new and clean with crisp decor. Comfortable mattress. We chose this hotel because of proximity to St, James spa and Cafe Ferreira and Cinema on St. Catherine St. We basically wanted to park our car and walk everywhere for dinner, breakfast, etc, We were not disappointed. Breakfast/room service was pretty good.

Room Tip: Always ask to be away from elevators and ice machine. The rest depends on cleanliness and updates d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

hubby is a picky traveler and this hotel is amazing it is iin the middle of everything! great ambiance and location...service is great too!

We had so much fun roaming around since it is just a walking distance to eaton center, underground mall, mc gill university and soon...

I couldn't comment in their restaurant since we didn't eat there...food outside is cheap and great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing