We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Previous Montreal travelers may be surprised that the hotel stands in the place where the famous Ben's Delli used to be. C'est la vie. Tempus fugit. I stayed there 2 nights just before Christmas in a "suite", which was a room with floor to ceiling windows, nice, but certainly not a suite. It had a fireplace, which I did not light. The clothes closet was miniscule. I barely fit my stuff into it.
The bar downstairs charged me $15 for a small glass of wine. They claim to have an outdoor saltwater pool. In fact it is a short noodle of a lap pool on a balcony that is opened only in the early morning and in the evening. When I was leaving I learned, they will open it upon request.
Nevertheless, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, staff pleasant. I may come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    338
    58
    30
    19
See reviews for
176
570
43
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel for a good price. The gym is rather small, but there is so much to do in Montreal that you shouldnt be in the gym anyhow. Nice hotel and the pool was spectacular! Just warm enough for a winter dip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esherm63
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Can't say that we enjoyed our stay in Montreal as when we were there, they were hit with a major snow storm. Spent two days in the city and driving out we felt like we had hardly seen any of it. The St. Martin is a nice hotel with front desk staff that is not customer oriented. I felt poorly treated on numerous occasions by two of the male front desk staff. Perhaps because I am an American? Who knows, but I have had better customer service experiences at McDonald's quite frankly. The room was nice, but we had to contact the front desk twice because of problems with the TV remote.

The Bistro Cafe was expensive, the food quality was fairly good though. I would recommend this hotel, just don't expect much from the stuffy front desk attendants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esherm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was top notch on décor, amenities and comfort. They offer an espresso maker, water bottles, and wi-fi for free. The place looks very nice, the location is good, and the room itself is cosy and comfortable. However, its operations are such a mess that it turns a likely good experience into a bad one. The impression is that someone spent a lot of money to build it, but not enough to manage it.

Maintenance: The shower drain did not work properly, and we had to shower on a pool of water. We complained about this for 3 nights in a row, to no avail. (Another reviewer below complains about the exact same thing.) Should I also have mentioned the noisy minibar?

Front Desk: The most bureaucratic check-in I've experienced in a long time. It involves pins, initials, signatures, policies, waivers, warnings, deposits... Perhaps I should have brought a lawyer? My guess is that at some point in time something went wrong with one guest, and it was decided to make all future guests suffer to avoid the potential liability.

Room Service: We received a letter stating that "to serve us better", room service would not be available on December 24th. How does that serve me better? I have worked on the hotel industry for over a decade, and I have never seen any room service simply "shut down". Maybe offer a restricted menu, if necessary? On the following day we received a similar letter, about the dry cleaning not being available "to serve us better".

Pool: The pool itself is nice, albeit very small. The issue was that there were no towels on the premises, which was very odd. So everyone leaving the pool had to go freezing/dripping back to their rooms through corridors and elevators. Even when we were inquiring about the pool hours, no one at front desk thought of mentioning "oh, by the way, bring your own towels to the pool".

Housekeeping: My room was near the hot spot for congregating housekeepers, where they enjoyed lengthy and loud conversations, this happening every day of my stay. Maybe related to that, the room was never cleaned before 4 in the afternoon. To be fair, one day a housekeeper tried to enter our room at 9 a.m. sharp, but we asked her to come back later.

It's unusual for me to write bad reviews (check my record), and I don't really enjoy it. I tried not to go into much detail or complain about every small issue, but the service flaws were so numerous that it was impossible to overlook. I would definitely not go back or recommend this hotel in Montréal, there are plenty of other much better choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstroJunq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you experience with us with TripAdvisor community.

If I am happy you found the location and quality of the accomodation to be top notch, but am saddened to read we left you with the perception that we are badly managed.
We always try to offer the best experience to our guest via a personalized service that hopes to make every guest feel special.

It is clear, after reading your comments, that we were not able to deliver on our promise during your stay and for this I apolozise on behalf of everyone at Le St-Martin Montreal.

Regarding the shower drain issue, I am surprised and dissapointed that you mentionned the problem to our staff and nothing was done about it. Similar issues have indeed arised in the past, and we actually have a very easy & simple solution.
Rest assured we will follow-up internally as to why no actions were taken.

Our check-in process indeed needed improvements, and I proud to say that we have just established new (and much simpler) procedures to that effect.
Should you be willing to retry Le St-Martin experience, I am certain you will appeciate the difference.

I was also happy to see you are fellow hotelier. It is always a pleasure to get feed back from people of the industry.
I am sorry if the shutdown of room service became an inconvenience to you on New Year's Eve. Keep in mind we are a boutique style luxury hotel, and not large brand name hotel and that our restaurant l'Aromate (one of the most popular fine dinning options in the city right now) is a concession.
That beig said, you are perfectly right in stating the shut down was badly communicated. Rest assured such a mistake will not happen again.

Thanks again for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor,

Frederic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal with my partner over the weekend, and I must say it was a dynamic experience. The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is located in the heart of downtown near various restaurants and great stores. The receptionist was very warm, welcoming and helpful. I had originally booked the Classic King but when we arrived at the hotel, we decided to upgrade to the Verriere Suite. We were upgraded for a minimal fee and I don't regret it! The room was very nice and clean. It had a fireplace and the bathroom contained a hot tub and a stand up shower. My guy and I slept comfortably in the king size bed in the room and we had a wonderful view as well. I have no complaints about this hotel and they will definitely see me again when I visit Montreal. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to someone else! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmp5091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the St-Martin Hotel in November. It was a great central location to enjoy the sights and experiences of Montreal. It is located within reasonable walking distance to old Montreal, the Rue St-Denis, Rue St-Catherine and Mount Royal Parc. In fact, if I had realized how close to Mount Royal Parc we were located I would have brought my outdoor running gear instead of using the small, but well equipped gym at the hotel. We didn't try the outdoor pool as it was a little nippy outside, but it looked inviting. The service was prompt and friendly delivered in English or French. The room was very comfortable with microwave and coffee machine. During the evening hotel staff came by to make sure we had enough complimentary bottled water, coffee and usually offered us a snack from the cart. The beds were extremely comfortable and the black out curtains allowed for a comfortable sleep in if wanted. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGreen3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Or, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This nice hotel is well located downtown Montreal. The service is fast, and very good. Tou can leave your car at the entrance, and they're preatty fast to get it when you nedd it back. The romms are very comfortable and you must need the key to acces the elevetor to go to your room. The restaurant beside it is OK, the breakfast aren't expensive.

It's a very good hotel...but I prefer Le Germain wich is at walking distance of that one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor .
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your time, and found that Le St-Martin meet your expectations both in terms of rooms and service.

I also understand you still prefer Le Germain, which is certainly a beautiful option.
That being said, I certainly believe we have more to offer since we are the brand new property, with a more central location and offer a more hip/modern guest experience!
Did you have the chance to take a look at our outdoor heated pool? Its a unique feature in the city!

Hopefuly we get the chance to host you again in the future, and have become a loyal guest of Le St-Martin Hotels!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#9 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing